We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 5 star luxury hotel in New delhi”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best 5 star luxury hotel in New delhi”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay with The imperial, we checked in on Feb 14 "Valentines day" with my wife. We recently got married, I spent great moments of luxury. Moreover they decorated our room with orchid flowers, IN mid night they sent a cake and bunch of roses and a bottle of wine. Great service!!

Room Tip: go for luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Manu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent service. I am glad that you had a luxurious and memorable stay experience.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,004
    548
    187
    83
    42
See reviews for
412
1,083
215
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a super hotel- a real treat to stay in. The hotel has lovely rooms with large bathrooms and very pleasant gardens to retreat from the bay Delhi streets. I can't praise the staff enough for their wonderful service and constant smiles and eagerness to help.
The hotel has five restaurants- all of which serve delicious food ranging from Indian, Italian, French, English and best of all Thai. Great breakfasts and afternoon teas completed the perfect package.
The hotel has a good small gym and lovely pool and the business centre was also very efficient. I was staying on business but would definitely come back to this hotel for a leisure break also.

The airport pick up and return was spot on with timing and reduced any worry about travel through Delhi for a female on her own.

Thank you Imperial!

Room Tip: Single women can ask to be placed in a section of the hotel for females only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Stringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent food, service, staff & ambience. I am glad that you enjoyed the gym, pool & business centre along with the room & dining facilities.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Truly one of my favorite hotels in the whole world.
Stunningly beautiful colonial building and grounds with incredible staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Amazing food in several different restaurants- an oasis of calm serene beauty with a lovely pool and a spa that has to be one of the most beautiful in the world and although is world class luxury is unmistakably Indian.
Ive stayed here several times and I cannot praise it enough-added bonus is that this immaculate hotel smells of jasmine throughout!
Love and adore it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cprincessLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent food, service, staff & ambience. I am also glad that you enjoyed the pool & spa and the lovely fragrance of jasmine all around.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Imperial Hotel must be one of the bests hotels in New Delhi, not simply because it is stylish, elegant and undeniably classic but also because of the wonderful atmosphere that pervades the hotel.
It stands tall and white against a driveway of palms and behind large iron gates which keeps the rest of New Delhi out - an imposing structure but it belies the warmth and ease within.

The Imperial Hotel, as the name suggests, has a long history with not only Indian royalty but also British royalty and photographs, memorabilia and artwork line the halls and corridors.
One could spend all day simply visiting each floor and viewing all the offerings hanging on the walls or behind glass cabinets.

Arriving very late in the evening from Ajmer by train after 10 hectic days of touring Rajasthan, we were tired. The staff who welcome guests to the hotel are friendly, warm and inviting as they welcome you to the Imperial Hotel.
The newly renovated luxury rooms and heritage rooms are beautifully appointed and the bed is a lie sleeping on a cloud.
Butler service means you have someone to assist with any request and the staff are very amiable and polite. It's was a surprise to hear them remember my name as I walked the expansive corridors while exploring the hotel.
This a beautiful hotel in a great location if you only have limited time in New Delhi - Tibetan Market is a short walk where gifts like textiles, jewellery, brass ornaments, clothes, souvenirs and much more is readily available.

The well known The Spice Route restaurant is located in The Imperial Hotel and is also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Luxury Rooms are beautiful but if can afford it, the Heritage rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HasantiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent service, staff & ambience.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family & I visited just for Sunday Brunch in the 1911 bar. It's beauty full, staff, service, surroundings all fabulous. We were made to feel so special.
Lots of choice of food,I did not like everything but it was nice to try small portions of food you may not order normally just to see what they taste like. My son loved the pasta station where the chef made the dish fresh to order. Talk about 10 dinners!!! my son certain ally got his money's worth hear with his own private Italian chef. Mum & I found loads of different food we enjoyed, lamb, chicken you name it, it was there.
Sunday brunch might not be for everyone, but a visit to this classical / heritage hotel is a must & there's lots of different places to eat and order from the menu.
It was a lovely special day. Thank you to everyone at the Imperial. Next time I'm in New Delhi I'll be visiting again.

Room Tip: Did not sleep over just went for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent food, service, staff & ambience.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As the first stop on our first trip to India, The Imperial more than met our expectations. It helped us get a feel for the British part of India's history while meeting our accommodation, eating and shopping needs. The former was achieved through the decor, prints, paintings, sculpture and other objects on display throughout the hotel while the room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the restaurants very good and the bookshop had an interesting selection on Indian history, art and current affairs.
We stayed 5 nights and got to know a few of the nooks and crannies of this compact hotel, one of its attractions. The Grand Heritage room on the first floor had a view of the lawn but we did have to request a move from a ground floor room with a blocked shower drain and curtained windows which looked onto a stairwell and stacked furniture. It was achieved without fuss and quickly, so full marks to the staff.
The 1911 Restaurant was our favourite eating spot as you had the choice of eating inside in a big airy space, on the verandah or outside under umbrellas. Its breakfast spread was huge and good while the lunches were fine too. The other restaurants were all good but we preferred an external view. The gardens are worth exploring - while compact, they were colourful, well maintained and a welcome respite from our intense sightseeing regime.

Room Tip: Go for first or second floor room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent food, service, staff & ambience. I am glad that you enjoyed sitting at the verandah and appreciated the view of the garden.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö,Sweden
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After 10 days in India and the night before we were going home, we determined to stay here.
The road to the hotel is lined with big gorgeous palm trees.
Separate security before the entrance.
We noticed immediately that we did not quite fit in here. The people were well dressed and we came in jeans and shirt :)

It was among the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed in but well worth the money.
Many celebrities have stayed here over the years.
Everything is very professionally done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the generous praise and we are glad that you loved your stay at The Imperial. I would like to assure you that all our honorable guests are most welcome to be comfortable in the clothes they like. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing