We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #9 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Truly a five start experience, the grounds and building are lovely, the service and staff are outstanding, and perhaps most important and often missed both the international and Indian food are excellent.

Rooms are very comfortable, conference space is great. If I had to quibble, I would say they should provide a dental kit and comb as many other five stars in India do, I am sure you can ask for one but that's not the point, the less requesting you have to do the better. In any event it's a fantastic property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that you had a memorable stay. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    539
    186
    83
    41
See reviews for
411
1,069
214
637
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here twice on business in late April, early May. Everything is great. The car service from the airport is excellent, the airport representative greeting upon arrival helps after 24 hours of travel. The doorman/doorwoman, front desk staff all greeted new with "welcome home sir" on arrival. The lobby was decorated with orchids and browsing all the art on the walls can go on for days if you wish. Housekeeping service is 24 hours and picked up my laundry at 3am.

The breakfast at the hotel is amongst the very best I have experienced anywhere.

It is a classic hotel in an upscale area of delhi and I highly recommend staying here... It is a unique experience not to be missed

Room Tip: try to get a room on the exterior rather than overlooking the bar atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanataguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very big English colonial hotel the staff are very good. Old ambassadors are parked in the hotel. The hotel is in a great location and it is well gated. The food is really good. There are photos from the British raj and temples.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and that you appreciated the building, staff, location and the food.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Good comfortable hotel and helpful staff, We were to have a heritage room but were not given one but we happy with the room given. Better then Raffles in Singapore. We had dinner in the Spice Route and had the degustation menu for southern India which was delicious experience. The waiter explained each course as it was served. All diners were given a guided tour of the restaurant layout.
Our experience at the hotel became overshadowed by the fantastic rooms and service at the hotels we stayed in later on our tour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and that you enjoyed your room and your dining experience at the Spice Route.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We did not stay at the Imperial Hotel but went for afternoon tea and then for an evening meal in the Spice Route restaurant at the hotel. This is one of several eating places within this magnificent building. Beautiful decor, very attentive staff and wonderful food.
From the moment you drive up to the door of the hotel and the car is opened for you by a man in an immaculate white uniform with a red and gold turban and trimmings. The foyer is stunning and all marble with everything spotlessly clean.
I would love to have stayed here and will do so if we go back to Delhi. Well worth a visit even if you can't stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable dining experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to have you stay with us soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Its a very beautiful hotel , The hotel is a masterpiece of architecture. All the Staff are very caring about the guests. The restaurants and the ball room are simply great.The Suit rooms are very spacious and the decorations are very pleasant. This hotel has one of the best collections of ARTs and rafts from different places of India . The breakfast at the restaurant was very good.I enjoyed my stay during my official trip meeting at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drvalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind review of the excellent food, service, staff & ambience. I am glad that you especially enjoyed the breakfast, your comfortable & spacious suit rooms and exploring the vast collection of art that adorns the walls of The Imperial.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Explicit colonial hotel which travels you back in time to 1920's and the ages of big travellers..Do popo inside even for a cup of coffee at its unbeatable lounge cafe of the dreamy Spice Route for an absolute perfect indian dinner...

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank eratraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind remarks about the excellent food, service & ambience. I am glad that you enjoyed dining at the Spice Route.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 707 in New Delhi
2,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
2,598 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 707 in New Delhi
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 707 in New Delhi
3,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 707 in New Delhi
2,532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 707 in New Delhi
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing