We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 778 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Imperial is not only a great building, the first five star hotel in New Delhi, it has also a great service. The personnel is very attentive and the food service is incredible. The breakfast has a lot of options and everything is fresh. If you are going to Delhi with a good budget the restaurants (five) inside the hotel have a great variety and quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a perfect stay experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 3,138 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Truly a five start experience, the grounds and building are lovely, the service and staff are outstanding, and perhaps most important and often missed both the international and Indian food are excellent.

Rooms are very comfortable, conference space is great. If I had to quibble, I would say they should provide a dental kit and comb as many other five stars in India do, I am sure you can ask for one but that's not the point, the less requesting you have to do the better. In any event it's a fantastic property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that you had a memorable stay. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here twice on business in late April, early May. Everything is great. The car service from the airport is excellent, the airport representative greeting upon arrival helps after 24 hours of travel. The doorman/doorwoman, front desk staff all greeted new with "welcome home sir" on arrival. The lobby was decorated with orchids and browsing all the art on the walls can go on for days if you wish. Housekeeping service is 24 hours and picked up my laundry at 3am.

The breakfast at the hotel is amongst the very best I have experienced anywhere.

It is a classic hotel in an upscale area of delhi and I highly recommend staying here... It is a unique experience not to be missed

Room Tip: try to get a room on the exterior rather than overlooking the bar atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanataguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very big English colonial hotel the staff are very good. Old ambassadors are parked in the hotel. The hotel is in a great location and it is well gated. The food is really good. There are photos from the British raj and temples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and that you appreciated the building, staff, location and the food.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Good comfortable hotel and helpful staff, We were to have a heritage room but were not given one but we happy with the room given. Better then Raffles in Singapore. We had dinner in the Spice Route and had the degustation menu for southern India which was delicious experience. The waiter explained each course as it was served. All diners were given a guided tour of the restaurant layout.
Our experience at the hotel became overshadowed by the fantastic rooms and service at the hotels we stayed in later on our tour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and that you enjoyed your room and your dining experience at the Spice Route.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We did not stay at the Imperial Hotel but went for afternoon tea and then for an evening meal in the Spice Route restaurant at the hotel. This is one of several eating places within this magnificent building. Beautiful decor, very attentive staff and wonderful food.
From the moment you drive up to the door of the hotel and the car is opened for you by a man in an immaculate white uniform with a red and gold turban and trimmings. The foyer is stunning and all marble with everything spotlessly clean.
I would love to have stayed here and will do so if we go back to Delhi. Well worth a visit even if you can't stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable dining experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to have you stay with us soon.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Its a very beautiful hotel , The hotel is a masterpiece of architecture. All the Staff are very caring about the guests. The restaurants and the ball room are simply great.The Suit rooms are very spacious and the decorations are very pleasant. This hotel has one of the best collections of ARTs and rafts from different places of India . The breakfast at the restaurant was very good.I enjoyed my stay during my official trip meeting at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drvalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Imperial. It is a pleasure to have hosted you and to receive your kind review of the excellent food, service, staff & ambience. I am glad that you especially enjoyed the breakfast, your comfortable & spacious suit rooms and exploring the vast collection of art that adorns the walls of The Imperial.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 778 in New Delhi
3,084 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 778 in New Delhi
2,985 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 778 in New Delhi
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 778 in New Delhi
4,325 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 778 in New Delhi
2,218 reviews
The Claridges New Delhi
#39 of 778 in New Delhi
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £160 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial New Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing