We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight in Delhi”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arriving at The Imperial after a long flight is like drinking some water after a long time in the desert. The welcome and the follow-up service was exceptional. The facilities were excellent and the quality of the breakfast was very good. I liked the mixture of Indian and European food. I only regret that I did not stay long enough to sample all the food. You certainly get what you pay for at this hotel, and more.

Room Tip: If you are female and single, there is a special section of rooms for ladies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to note that you had a delightful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation will be a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 3,068 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I have enjoyed thoroughly Every moment of my stay. Excellent food and service. Their speciality restaurant is too good. Enjoyed every moment. Luxurious rooms with best amenities.thank you for my memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to note that you had a delightful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation will be a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Staying at The Imperial made all difference while visiting Delhi for the first. The city can be very intimidated in the beginning and you feel the hotel as safe harbor. The employees are very helpful and kind, the rooms are neat and clean and every little detail as linen bag for the laundry, the sunscreen when you arrive at the pool, the amazing breakfast....perfect.
The location is also good to walk around and you can go for souvenir and small shop or go out for lunch or dinner.
The only remark I have is about the guide provided in Agra. I booked a day trip with the concierge and the guide was complementary. Well, happens that he was only concerned to show the picture spots and to get you to a marble factory and shop, for obvious purpose: makes you spend money! So just try to arrange a better guide yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to note that you had a delightful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation will be a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Imperial experience in the heart of capital with great colonial style of architectural design, fine rooms with decor, soothing live music with dining experience, elegant bar with British style, lush green surroundings etc. an overall great time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to note that you had a delightful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation will be a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Relaxing, Quiet, large, very large and Huge bedrooms, good range of restaurants including the Spice root !! Very good service too. It is clean, clear and all personnel is welcoming and helpfull. It is my second home, always happy to be back there after a day of hard work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33arno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to note your appreciation for the property & services and your delightful stay every time.

We value your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here twice in the last month: once in a regular room and another in one of the art deco suites. This is not at all the normal kind of place I look to stay: my preference is usually something more modern and minimal. But the Imperial is just such a wonderful hotel, you feel like you're staying in a museum about the history of Britain in India. Thousands of pieces of artwork line the walls. The rooms are so comfortable. The service is impeccable. The pool and the spa are unsurpassed. You will never be greeted by so many people the course of a day. This place just has the art of making guests comfortable down to a science.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artmanintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a perfect stay experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Not for the imperial splendour or the large rooms; but visit this hotel for the humility and respect of the staff, the unusually informative artwork and wall decorations, and the marvellous breakfast buffet in the 1911 Restaurant overlooking well-trimmed gardens. The buffet has an outstanding selection of fresh foods, with excellent fruits and other healthy items. The service is impeccable. Add to these features, the professionalism of the frontdesk and concierge staff, and the variety of places to eat and relax. My compliments to the owners and managers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a perfect stay experience for you. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home.

Thank you

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,994 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 736 in New Delhi
2,979 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 736 in New Delhi
2,882 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 736 in New Delhi
2,161 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £212 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing