We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

On a recent tour or Rajasthan we began our travels in New Delhi and checked into the Imperial Hotel recommended by our travel consultant with Cox and Kings. It is one of the original colonial buildings in the city and has a very attractive interior. We stayed in one of the Heritage rooms which was large and very comfortable. There are two bars and several restaurants, including a South East Asian Restaurant which is apparently one of the best in New Delhi. The food was very good but the prices really are quite extortionate. The waiting staff will try to get you to order the tasting menus but these are a lot more expensive than just ordering dishes from the menu and we found there was just too much for us even though we have healthy appetites! Wine and spirits are also very highly priced. There is an outdoor swimming pool which is pleasant enough but it is quite hard to relax there because of the noise of the New Delhi traffic and we found there was quite a lot of smog when we were there. The staff were all very polite and helpful. One oddity we noticed was that on paying the bills a "Delhi tax" had been added. We asked our guide about this and she said she had never heard of it. We suspect it was just a ruse to push up the service charge. We probably should have questioned it but never actually did. Perhaps if anyone else finds out they could let us know! All in all we would recommend the hotel to friends but do beware the pricing. One last comment - my husband and another couple that we met later on our travels all succumbed to "Delhi belly" whilst staying there. I was fortunate and escaped it. However, we would recommend that anyone travelling to India takes a travellers diarrhoea management kit with them (available from MASTA travel clinics) which includes two doses of antibiotics and were definitely a necessity in this instance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seacucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,248 of 3,040 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

This is the third time that we have stayed at The Imperial and, because of its excellent service, we make a point of staying there every time we go to Delhi. The service is second to none, the rooms are wonderful and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and eficiient and the food is excellent.
Three years ago we arrived and they had over booked the hotel. They told us to wait and while we did they gave us drinks and then put us in their biggest suit for the night! It was incredible. I asked for a little fruit and was given a large plate and they also put an enormous bowl full on the duining room table too!
It may cost a little more, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We have stayed one week. Very nice, clean facilities. Nice pool. Several restaurants to choose from. Some tips:

- Hotel is in a convenient location, but there is no "good location" in Delhi, in the sense you can go out for a walk etc.

- Food could be an issue if you are not into spicy dishes. Even with four restaurants, and with some tolerance to hot food, your choices are very limited. Avoid the salads etc., my wife had food poisoning even though we had absolutely nothing outside the hotel.

- There are about half a dozen places to see in Delhi, then you are done. We allocated too many days not knowing that.

- Take the triangle tour: Delhi - Agra (Taj Mahal) - Jaipur. Each leg takes about 4-5 hours driving. You can book a car and guide from the hotel (or outside) for the whole thing. Do this is 2 or 3 days. I hired an outside car&driver for 2 full days, to Agra and back, for $350 (or 14,000 Rp) plus tip (you've got to tip everyone here).

- You need to hirea car to go anywhere in Delhi. Hotel cars are about $20/hour, or $100/day. You can get a car from outside for $60/day, usualy even better than hotel cars (they are all white Toyota SUV's), but there is no clear way how to find these people. Ask your hotel driver or consierge if they can get a car for hire from outside. I have hired Devender (Dave) cell number [--] and J.S Katoch cell number [--]. Both are good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The word "splendid" can be overused, but it only begins to do justice to this remarkably wonderful hotel. I was there in February at the end of a ten day visit to India and it was a superb experience from check in to check out. As a veteran of travel in India, I can safely say that not only is this the best hotel in India, but surely among the finest hotels in the world. At check in I mentioned this was my first visit to Delhi in many years and was immediately upgraded to a large and beautifully furnished suite. The service throughout was polished and unobtrusive. The public rooms are large, beautifully furnished, and spotlessly clean. Crowded tour groups will not be found here. Dinner at the Italian restaurant was perfect in every respect. If you want to bask in an ideal of India in the Raj of the 1930's, this is the place for you. I would return to Delhi just to stay at the Imperial.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This was a mixed business and leisure trip. The hotel has a fantastic ambience celebrating the days of the British Raj, but with an emphasis on the Indian participants - lots of wonderful pictures and photographs of maharajahs as well as Europeans. The public rooms and corridors are superbly finished.

The rooms are comfortable in an old fashioned way. Ours had a large sitting room and a smaller bedroom. The bathroom was slightly dowdy but perfectly OK.

The restaurants are excellent although not cheap. Service is attentive.

This is not really a business hotel (one of its attractions) and my only complaint is that internet access is not free - it should be at these room prices .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandSSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

nice comfortable stay, good room and clean environment

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpreet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Always a favorite, if no longer great value, this is a jewel of India. The Raj era kitsch can seem a little overbearing, but it is pretty spectcular and the execellent service and beautiful aesthetics more than compensate. You have to watch your time in restaurants and bars as the tariffs are all very high. But the coffee shop has the best dal in India and the Italian restaurant is one of Asia's finest. A truly great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielglak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 727 in New Delhi
2,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 727 in New Delhi
2,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 727 in New Delhi
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 727 in New Delhi
2,850 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 727 in New Delhi
2,140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £229 - £561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing