We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nirula's Hotel(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Host Inn(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Apartment 52(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Bright(New Delhi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah Villa(New Delhi)
View Hotel
Reviews (3,212)
Filter reviews
3,212 results
Traveller rating
2,255
610
206
92
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,255
610
206
92
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice routeheritage roomdaniell's tavernwelcome homebeautiful hotelcolonial stylean oasismarble floorsconnaught placeluxury hotelbreakfast buffetindian restaurantspadelhirajatriumemporium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,385 - 2,390 of 3,212 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2010

On a recent tour or Rajasthan we began our travels in New Delhi and checked into the Imperial Hotel recommended by our travel consultant with Cox and Kings. It is one of the original colonial buildings in the city and has a very attractive interior. We stayed in one of the Heritage rooms which was large and very comfortable. There are two bars and several restaurants, including a South East Asian Restaurant which is apparently one of the best in New Delhi. The food was very good but the prices really are quite extortionate. The waiting staff will try to get you to order the tasting menus but these are a lot more expensive than just ordering dishes from the menu and we found there was just too much for us even though we have healthy appetites! Wine and spirits are also very highly priced. There is an outdoor swimming pool which is pleasant enough but it is quite hard to relax there because of the noise of the New Delhi traffic and we found there was quite a lot of smog when we were there. The staff were all very polite and helpful. One oddity we noticed was that on paying the bills a "Delhi tax" had been added. We asked our guide about this and she said she had never heard of it. We suspect it was just a ruse to push up the service charge. We probably should have questioned it but never actually did. Perhaps if anyone else finds out they could let us know! All in all we would recommend the hotel to friends but do beware the pricing. One last comment - my husband and another couple that we met later on our travels all succumbed to "Delhi belly" whilst staying there. I was fortunate and escaped it. However, we would recommend that anyone travelling to India takes a travellers diarrhoea management kit with them (available from MASTA travel clinics) which includes two doses of antibiotics and were definitely a necessity in this instance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seacucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This is the third time that we have stayed at The Imperial and, because of its excellent service, we make a point of staying there every time we go to Delhi. The service is second to none, the rooms are wonderful and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and eficiient and the food is excellent.
Three years ago we arrived and they had over booked the hotel. They told us to wait and while we did they gave us drinks and then put us in their biggest suit for the night! It was incredible. I asked for a little fruit and was given a large plate and they also put an enormous bowl full on the duining room table too!
It may cost a little more, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We have stayed one week. Very nice, clean facilities. Nice pool. Several restaurants to choose from. Some tips:

- Hotel is in a convenient location, but there is no "good location" in Delhi, in the sense you can go out for a walk etc.

- Food could be an issue if you are not into spicy dishes. Even with four restaurants, and with some tolerance to hot food, your choices are very limited. Avoid the salads etc., my wife had food poisoning even though we had absolutely nothing outside the hotel.

- There are about half a dozen places to see in Delhi, then you are done. We allocated too many days not knowing that.

- Take the triangle tour: Delhi - Agra (Taj Mahal) - Jaipur. Each leg takes about 4-5 hours driving. You can book a car and guide from the hotel (or outside) for the whole thing. Do this is 2 or 3 days. I hired an outside car&driver for 2 full days, to Agra and back, for $350 (or 14,000 Rp) plus tip (you've got to tip everyone here).

- You need to hirea car to go anywhere in Delhi. Hotel cars are about $20/hour, or $100/day. You can get a car from outside for $60/day, usualy even better than hotel cars (they are all white Toyota SUV's), but there is no clear way how to find these people. Ask your hotel driver or consierge if they can get a car for hire from outside. I have hired Devender (Dave) cell number [--] and J.S Katoch cell number [--]. Both are good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The word "splendid" can be overused, but it only begins to do justice to this remarkably wonderful hotel. I was there in February at the end of a ten day visit to India and it was a superb experience from check in to check out. As a veteran of travel in India, I can safely say that not only is this the best hotel in India, but surely among the finest hotels in the world. At check in I mentioned this was my first visit to Delhi in many years and was immediately upgraded to a large and beautifully furnished suite. The service throughout was polished and unobtrusive. The public rooms are large, beautifully furnished, and spotlessly clean. Crowded tour groups will not be found here. Dinner at the Italian restaurant was perfect in every respect. If you want to bask in an ideal of India in the Raj of the 1930's, this is the place for you. I would return to Delhi just to stay at the Imperial.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This was a mixed business and leisure trip. The hotel has a fantastic ambience celebrating the days of the British Raj, but with an emphasis on the Indian participants - lots of wonderful pictures and photographs of maharajahs as well as Europeans. The public rooms and corridors are superbly finished.

The rooms are comfortable in an old fashioned way. Ours had a large sitting room and a smaller bedroom. The bathroom was slightly dowdy but perfectly OK.

The restaurants are excellent although not cheap. Service is attentive.

This is not really a business hotel (one of its attractions) and my only complaint is that internet access is not free - it should be at these room prices .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandSSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews