We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful imperial delhi”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

It was one of my most wonderful stay seven in Delhi. The hotel and its surroundings were fantastic. The staff was courteous and the room service was excellent. The food was good and the rooms were very well maintained and very clean. The washroom was the best. Crystal clear and modern. Would recommend highly if you want to be treated like a maharaja in Delhi.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,308 - 2,314 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2010

Hotels of the turn of the century or in the early 1900`s must have been like the Delhi-Imperial: aristocratic, exclusive, luxurious and big, offering exquisite services, very much depending on your status.
Large rooms, partly decorated with colonial and indian antiques, a colonial restaurant and brasserie as well as an Italian, an Indian and Asian restaurants leave no wishes open.
The hotel has a large garden area, outdoor pool and several al fresco restaurants and cafes respectively. It is situated in the heart of New Delhi, close to the business and governmental districts.The hotel has also a permanent 'Art Galleries', which houses an art collection as well as antiques that the hotel has acquired over the years.

Flanked by 24 King Palms one feels imperial right from the check-in. Oldfashioned, but beautifully refurbished and very well kept hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hello1Patiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

The first time I went to India I was backpacking with some friends. One common friend of U.S. was from Dehli and inivted us to the engament ceremony of his cousin. I could not believe what I was seing, a hotel with such detail. 5 years latter I go back to India with my boyfriend, we decided to stay at the Imperial. it was wonderful experience. Rooms were big, the beds were super comfortable with the best sheets ever, the service at the front desk it was impecable, had great restaurants (indian, italian). It is good escape from the chas of the city specially when your travelling in a romantic mood.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabyfromNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperialrevert, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Thank you for your wonderfull feedback, and we would look forward to welcome you back at the Imperial, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

sorry for the superlatives but this has got to be the best hotel to stay in delhi...not just for charm of the hotel but even for a business traveller the quality of teh service and the attention to detail for the smallest things ...great service, food et all. the only hitch is not get a road facing room as that can be a little noisy - not much but compared to a garden facing room there is a difference ... easy to recommend thsi hotel for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajeevMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperialrevert, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2010

Greetings from the Imperial!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We have taken note of your concern, and we will take care of the same during your next stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you again to the Imperial!

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Wonderful classic hotel with great service

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I recently stayed here for 9 nights while working in the Delhi area. I was not aware, until I was picked up at the airport of a special single woman traveler program that they have. They sent a woman with the driver to pick me up at the airport, I was in a women solo travelers wing, only women came to your room, on the occasion that a man (some internet issues) needed to come, he was accompanied by a female employee. At first I found it disconcerting that this was necessary, but it really was very comforting in the long run, and a lovely service. Also the woman Nidhi, who first picked me up at the airport was an absolute gem! Every day that she was there, she was incredibly helpful, kind and charming. My experience at the hotel was really heightened by her service! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The Imperial is a beautiful colonial, heritage hotel - but after a 2 week journey at some of the finest Taj properties it didn't quite match up. The hotel is very busy, as it's very conveniently located in Delhi - which is a strength and a drawback. Loved the location, but seemed like it was very crowded all the time. We had 2 Historic rooms during our stay. One had an extremely strong musty smell. The staff explained it as being because of the recent rain - but in hindsight we should have asked for a different room as it was very unpleasant. But, there were 3 of us and we wanted 2 rooms next to each other, so just stayed there. After a couple requests, staff did bring a deodorizer to room, which helped a bit. The room was nice, but not overly special. Good size bathroom, but marble floor was very slippery after a shower as it was hard to keep water from coming out of tub/shower. If we hadn't been spoiled by other luxurious stays in other stops, would probably have enjoyed Imperial more. We tried the Spice Route....which was fine, but not as excellent as we had heard from ratings. Our trip was expertly arranged by Deepa Krishnan of Mumbai/Dehli Magic and we highly recommend her tour of Delhi given by University students. It's an extremely fun way to see the city with "locals' and the boys who took us around were delightful. Definitely a highlight on a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,076 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,113 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,307 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 779 in New Delhi
2,212 reviews
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 779 in New Delhi
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £162 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing