We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #9 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at in India. I have to admit, I wasn't expecting such a great service. I booked via Grand Luxury Hotels, and got upgraded to the deco suite. The deco suite was like a home complex in itself. The location is perfect, its right on Janpath, and close to all tourist attractions. The staff is extra helpful and very cordial.

The spa and gym is absolutely fabulous. Generally hotel gyms lack a lot of things. This one, although, not that big, had all the necessary equipment, Cardio, free weights and machines.

The only negative side was WiFi was chargeable. Only 2 hours per day was inclusive. For those who are smokers, smoking rooms are available, however, outside the room and within the hotel, you will have to use the smokers lounge located in the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,003
    545
    187
    83
    42
See reviews for
412
1,081
215
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed at the Imperial at the beginning and end of a trip to Delhi and Rajasthan. It was a perfect place for tired travellers - restful, clean, beautifully appointed rooms, really helpful staff, and good food. We ate at the Spice Route one evening which was nice but not outstandingly memorable, but the breakfast buffet was delicious and incredibly varied (fruit, cereal, continental, pastries, eggs cooked to order, full fry-up, and Indian options). Bar prices were high (£10 for a cocktail) although not outrageous for the setting. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Connaught Place, but mind out for hawkers, taxi touts, and street shoe-shiners with their buckets of "mud" used to create themselves some business. Check-in and check-out were courteous, and as quick as they could be given the amount of paperwork required by the authorities. A final lovely touch was the beautiful cake (from the in-house patisserie) delivered unexpectedly to our room because we'd mentioned it was our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate24_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Nice hotel in a great location. But they have some kind of room sanitizer smell through out the place. It's hard to taste your food over it. To me, it was not a pleasant smell, more like an airport restroom.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinCitiesTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I just stayed at the Imperial in Delhi and was very disappointed given my excitement and anticipation on staying at such a historic property. The hotel itself is beautiful, the food very good, but the service is so bad (with exception of housekeeping which couldn't have been more gracious) that it ruined the stay. I had prepaid for my room 4 months in advance and when I checked in they didn't have this noted so I explained this to them and thought it was straightened out. When I went to check out they tried to bill me again and said they had not received the payment. When I produced a receipt and documentation they said they never received from travel agency and insisted I pay again. The front desk manager was rude and made no effort to straighten out the situation. It still isn't straightened out. Every other hotel in India had a staff that practically fell all over you but the Imperial staff is cold (especially front desk) and makes no effort to accommodate. I left so hassled and stressed over the whole experience and would never go back.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

One of the great hotel I visited in my life . Great service beautiful and warm people. I was in india for three weeks but get hospitality like this something out of this world. Truly world class experience I was there for last 2 days of india visit.
Great restaurant spice root food was fantastic service was extraordinary something you like to have in hotels like this even there italian restaurant is good . Coffee shop is not very good ,rooms are quite and beautiful. I love to comeback in this hotel again for wonderful memories and staff .

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We spent our last leg of our Honeymoon at this lovely hotel very close to the Centre of town, Connought Place. Well appointed rooms , great food and an unforgetable lunch buffet at the coffee shop, Sea Food and a variety of Indian Cusine. We would highly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, a bit expensive but real value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here for three nights for a tradeshow. The decor of the hotel is exquisite, all marble and very luxurious, it's a rare treat for a frequent business traveller.

Door men and bellmen start the experience, front desk are very professional and welcoming. I arrived at three in the morning and ordered an excellent room service meal, and when I had problems getting online they sent a Virtual Butler at 4 am dressed in a suit who resolved it in thirty seconds!

The hotel has fragrant oils and flowers all over the place, giving it an aromatic experience, there are beautiful flower arragnements everywhere and all the staff are fantastic.

Breakfast can be eaten indoors or outdoors and it is probably one of the best I have ever enjoyed.

The staff in the indian restaurant were extremely attentive and indulged me in every wish I had.

I would love to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feyenoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing