We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like 5 stars - hugely disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien New Delhi
Ranked #18 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A very modern hotel, decor perhaps too stark for some tastes. If only their attention to service and detail matched the expense on the look.

Like all high-end Indian hotels, there is security, but when the security staff refuse to provide a table or hold out a hand for mobiles/keys, and then when the scanner doesn't beep, STILL insist on a pat-down, this is way over the top. Unlike sister brand the Westin, where security checks are courteous, these are bordering on molestation. Totally unacceptable, especially when after being warned not to touch me they continued on subsequent returns to the hotel to try to pat me down without warning or permission.

Check-in certainly didn't make me feel like a valued Gold SPG member. There's no concierge so asking advice on trips or tourism requires not only the travel desk (who actually failed to get back to me as promised), but also the business centre where they will Google what you ask for local advice on! I asked to find a bar showing a particular sports game, but despite phone calls to "check" I was then sent to another hotel who, it turned out, weren't showing it, then to another bar who also weren't showing it. So time and taxi fares wasted because they couldn't properly check what I asked. They did arrange a good car trip to Agra for me, but as with everything in India, it pays to haggle over the price.

I found the designer rugs in my room concealed hair and grape stalks, which was disgusting. Combine this with other issues such as vacuuming in lobby at 1.30am which was audible in higher floor bedrooms, and cold food and poor service in the Chinese restaurant, things were adding up to make me very dissatisfied. The manager did accept my complaints and upgraded me to a suite, but this shouldn't be necessary. Modern decor is no use if standards are so poor that guests feel undervalued and let down, not to mention hesitant to even enter the hotel for fear of being physically molested by staff.

Finally, a word of warning about the swimming pool. The professional photo is totally misleading, as you will have to share the pool with pigeons, and swim in their droppings. Again, quite disgusting and astonishing that the hotel staff find this acceptable.

This Meridien is nothing like 5 stars. it's well located for India Gate and Connaught Place, and has a nice but virtually empty lobby bar (free wasabi peas!) the standards set down by management let it down terribly. If you have even moderate standards yourself, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: As high a room as possible to avoid lobby noise from the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,026 - 2,032 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel was booked by the travel Agent Castle and King of New Delhi. The hotel is simply perfect, I was in a room of 17th floor (a club room with access to the lounge). The view of the room was fantastic, from there you can confirm that delhi is a green city.
Also I have a dinner in one of the restaurants of the hotel, the food was great and the service top level.
The lounge in the 20th floor deserve an special mention, I have few drinks there and again the service was top level.
My final mention is for Castle and King of Delhi, this tour operator organise an excellent trip in the golden triangle, this people is very responsible and efficient. They make that me and my wife feels as special guest in India

Room Tip: I think is better to have a room in the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hotel itself is high quality business hotel very much aligned to the business market. Atrium is v impressive, the hotel has clearly been refurbed to a high standard in recent years. Pool area is less impressive. Monsoon restaurant is great but v expensive!!

Room Tip: SPG members are given rooms on the dedicated SPG upper floors! Worth being a member just for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here recently for one night. The place is a bit dated, rooms are as well. But for the price, we compared with all others and we got around $300 a night, my first choice was the Imperial but they were asking around $450-$500. Room service was ok, everything is OK with this place, out of a 5 star hotel of course you expect a bit more. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the extra charge for the internet, just dont understand how a five star hotel can still not have internet as a basic service. Location is very central.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalleyrandNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel have been renovated around 2010 so now the hotel looks trendy, at 1 time it was soo run down that couldn't even think of staying here. The overall, its was a nice and comfortable stay.
Hotel is in downtown area of Connaught Place. Shopping to Janpath , main Connaught Place etc are all walking distance of 15-20 min. If you are in delhi for Business and need to visit Pragati Madan then this is the hotel to stay at as Pragati Madan is only 10 min away.
The rooms are big but the only draw back that thier 1st and 2nd room type have Queen size beds only. Kings size are available in higher room caterogy.
Thier Buffet Breakfast was also up to the international standard.
Will surely stay with them again, if i need to be in downtown area.

Room Tip: If you are single traveller then you can go for Standard or Superior rooms but if you are 2 people t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

During my last visit, I stayed in one of their club rooms - the best I've ever been in. Clean and spacious room, with all the amenities, and a complimentary wine (Red), is just what I would look for after a tiring flight. The hotel has a great bar/pub (Nero's) which is open till 1 in the night, and three restraunt's (that I went to) and a 24-hour cafe that serves not just coffee and food but alcohol as well for those who like to stay drinking till the wee hours of the morning. The buffet breakfast is just wonderful with a variety from all over India - it just makes you want to hog the whole day! Overall, it is a must visit - one hundred percent quality and value!

Room Tip: Check out their club rooms - you will feel you have never been pampered before in your life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganesh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The hotel has value for your money.The environment,decor and the service right from check in to check out was excellent.The food in the restaurant-the buffet and Chinese room was pretty good.The room where i stayed was on the 17th floor and has commanding view in the night.The ambiance is totally world class

Room Tip: The room i was in was on the 17th floor and was excellent.It was on west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank himanshu3153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,978 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#29 of 715 in New Delhi
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
3,006 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
1.1 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien New Delhi

Address: Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £122 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien Delhi
New Delhi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing