We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Ranked #60 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Jewel of Delhi”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Met is an real jewel and amazing place to stay in Delhi. The location of this hotel is excellent right in Connaught place yet away from the busy crowded area. Check-in was quick and efficient, but I was not happy with the room they gave me as the windows faced a tall building right opposite and the room was a bit too dark and gloomy. I requested a pool facing room and was given one as promised within an hour as rooms were being cleaned (I was apprehensive requesting and changing rooms due to a previous bad experience at another hotel but this was very hassle free and efficient). I would have liked to be shown around the room by the staff, although most hotel rooms resemble each other but each hotel can be unique and I hate spending time looking for stuff like remote, extension numbers, etc). The room was clean, well done up and comfortable. Not much for a view of the pool, but there is a building construction going on right opposite (not in the hotel), but you can only hear a faint hum drum and clang if you listen real hard. This room could be avoided if you are a light sleeper or want complete silence. There were some noises and repairing inside the hotel but those could only be heard in the passageway leading to the elevator and not in the room. The bathroom is kind of weird with the frosted glass separating the room and shower being completely transparent and could be embarrassing sharing this room with someone other than your better half. It would be nice if the hotel could provide a screen or shower curtain here. Attention is paid to small details. If you forget to pack in a tooth brush or comb or even a shaving kit, its all laid out and you dont even have to ask. Disliked the safe in the room, very small and primitive looking. Rooms were cleaned nicely but turn down service was provided only once during our stay. The breakfast was elaborate and had a variety keeping in mind all of their guests, Indian and foreign. Service during breakfast was a little slow and food was not being replinished quickly enough. There were a lot of conferences and parties here almost daily but none of the other guests were disturbed or hassled at all. No noises in my room from screaming guests, no loud music or general loitering by the conference or party guests. The travel desk was quite helpful, charged reasonable rates and arranged for cars quickly. Check out was efficient too and the hotel arranged for a complimentary airport drop so I left this place with a decision to stay at the Met whenever in Delhi.

Room Tip: Avoid pool facing rooms if you are a light sleeper or want complete silence as there is construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teejayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post your review about us. We are excited to note your appreciation. Regarding your concern about bathroom frosted glass, we would like to share that in Double occupancy rooms we have non transparent black glasses in bathrooms so during your next visit you can ask for that room

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    660
    230
    66
    34
See reviews for
303
398
141
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Choroni
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We really liked this hotel, especially after the long trip that we had just fished around India…In our trip we found some interesting hotels, so when we finally returned to Delhi it was really refreshing to be in a nice, clean and comfortable place for a change. Service was great and the employees couldn’t have been more helpful!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaMori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your visit was so enjoyable! Knowing that we provided a comfortable environment with an excellent product and great service that exceeded your expectations is the best “thank you” our staff could ask for, we appreciate your recognition

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKng Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

the room is big, bed is comfortable but sofa is small . the hotel is decoration done than last visit in May, 2011. bath tub is very very comfortable. all things is bathroom is nice to use. but no hair conditioner. staffs is fast action. breakfast is nice but no salad. Spa and facial is good at valuable price. Location is excellent very near to commerical and shopping place. next to hotel there is some geocery store to buy water and drink . very conventient , neat and tidy place to stay. price is a bit high. but will come again.

Room Tip: room is quiet, bath tub is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiePieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your visit was so enjoyable! Knowing that we provided a comfortable environment with an excellent product and great service that exceeded your expectations is the best “thank you” our staff could ask for, we appreciate your recognition

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Found the staff at this hotel to be most friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and fully functional. In particular we were most happy with the staff and meals at Zing restaurant on the premises. We had most of our meals here (including complimentary breakfast and dinner) and we found that the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. I would definitely stay at this place again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your visit was so enjoyable! Knowing that we provided a comfortable environment with an excellent product and great service that exceeded your expectations is the best “thank you” our staff could ask for, we appreciate your recognition

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I booked as it was a 5 Star Luxury Spa near the business area. It was not like any 5 Star I have stayed in, filthy outdoor pool – more used as a pigeon bath / toilet. Workmen on a construction site I over looked, working until late at night. Food was OK, just about.

Just all felt second rate, not good value for money. Not a very nice location with people living and begging on the street outside.

Room Tip: don't overlook the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time for posting your review

We regret to note that we couldnt satisfy you during your stay with us. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and we will surely do the needful in areas of concern

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The friendliness and helpfulness of The Met's staff make up for any shortcomings of the hotel. They just go out of their way to make you feel welcome and always have a disarming smile. My room looked beautiful on the surface but the workmanship in the hotel is a bit shoddy and there was still a large lump of grouting cement in my shower, which the cleaners had missed. The place is showing it's age a bit but they have made an effort with the revamped design.

Food at Chutney is very good and the Japanese restaurant was good too, although both rather lack in atmosphere. The breakfasts are good although if you order a proper coffee it can take a while.

My main gripe was the flock of feral pigeons living perched on the back of the hotel that regularly drink and bathe in the swimming pool, even when you're swimming. Something should be done about them.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lifts which make an irritating noise when the doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robpatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your visit was so enjoyable! Knowing that we provided a comfortable environment with an excellent product and great service that exceeded your expectations is the best “thank you” our staff could ask for, we appreciate your recognition. Regarding your concern about pigeons, the matter has been taken care of.

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel was exactly as expected (from Trip Advisor reviews). We had upgraded to Club and had the benefit of our own lounge, internet availablity and snacks - well worth the extra (small) amount. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post your review about us. We are excited to note your appreciation

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#50 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#73 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Property: The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#39 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing