We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONFUSED!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #60 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

At first the value and feel of the hotel is good. The rooms are very modern and nice and the rate is good. I liked the breakfast just fine and felt happy to arrive here in Delhi. However after a while it got strange. My friends and I sat in the pin-drop-quiet lounge at night. It's so stark and quiet in this hotel, in a strange way. Not cozy. My friend and I got jet lag spa sessions and our therapists where giggling through it and then covered us in sesame oil. Which sounds nice but it was actually pretty gross. We smelled terrible the rest of the day and actually cut our sessions short at the spa. At check out I called down to see if it was possible to arrange a small parcel delivery within india. The woman said yes it would be alright. I went down and the man was nearly irate with me regarding the pre arranged package. I was confused and trying very hard to be as polite as possible as I appreciated the help. But the man kept barking at me and then tried to charge me $120 USD for one tiny box to Jodhpur. I asked him what was happening and then he got even more angry and said then 85.00 USD!!! I was so furious with this treatment and his macho attitude towards myself and his female attendants that he was also barking at. I would never go back to this hotel following the front desk mans attitude. I was 100% polite and worked very hard to communicate fairly and calmly. But he seemed to be a rude chauvinist not only to me but to the lovely women working there! Not a great introduction to Delhi. (Stay at the Radisson. I was shocked it was fantastic!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fortheloveofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Travelled to India for the first time with our 2 children (7 and 9 years). We arrived and the staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, even quiet. Breakfast was a highlight for the kids- very friendly staff and a good selection of Indian, Asian, European and even doughnuts! After traveling out of Delhi for a few days, we were delighted to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel twice. On the way to join a tour of India and again on my return. If there was an award for the rudest receptionists award this hotel would win hands down! I thought it was the ungodly hour I arrived 2.30 am on the inward journey so gave them the benefit of the doubt. But no - the return was worse. If the receptionist could have thrown the key card at me I think she would have.Room 622 stinks of smoke , the hairdryer does not work, the shower head is broken. India is an amazing country but sadly my first experience of the people was this awful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 66bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Chose the Met because of the location, the price and the "hip and lounge like" atmosphere that appears on the website. Paid a bit more for a "club room" that included breakfast, internet and access to the club floor. Service was very poor. Chaos in the lobby as tour groups check and out. Slow service. Grabbed a late lunch as Zing. Pizza was below average... crust must have come out of the freezer. Very loud in the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was tasteless. Even the Indian food wasn't so great on the breakfast buffet. Room was stuffy even with the A/C blowing as hard as possible. Room was clean with plenty of space but dated. I think the Met may have been a great place to stay a few years back but now it is like a 3 star in quality and a 2 star in service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwbasnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Last week stayed in Met hotel. Overall experience was very good. It is very close to famous Connaught Place. Centrally located, covenient to travel around and relatively close to Airport also. Room was clean and comfortable. Food too was good especially morning breakfast buffet with continental choices. Relatively cost effective also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yagnesh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Staffs and management team specially Mr Sourav Srivastava were excellent Professionals.
The quality of food was awesome. Transport system works for cab services.
Only improvement suggested will be the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we spent 2 nights at the Met hotel and had a good experience. The staff were very welcoming, the rooms nice and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good with a choice of Indian and continental choices. As we were on a tour the location did not matter to us but we enjoyed the hotel and its services.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zipih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,964 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 715 in New Delhi
3,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 715 in New Delhi
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 715 in New Delhi
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#40 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £78 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing