We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buisness hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Met a good hotel centrally located with good and clean rooms due to busy shedule could not explore the hotel but overall a good experience with good breakfast
Nice friendly staff and nice service too will stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rohit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

the hotel is 15 minuts walk from main bazar, close to bangla sahib sik tample, and close to connaught place , good price for 5 star hotel , the stuff was helpfull and very nice.the local restaurants are expansive so we ate outside at the main bazar , the breakfast buffet was great !

Room Tip: the hotel is near bangla sahib sik tample , and 15 minutes walk from Main bazar , and close to conna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a clean, functional hotel. The staff are efficient, the room is cool and clean, the bed is good and the bathroom works. The coffee shop serves its purpose and the Indian restaurant is excellent, the taxis from the hotel are reasonable.

Room Tip: We had a room right down the corridor away from the escalator - I think being near the escalator may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelleDerbyshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is a good and clean hotel but the staff are very cool and not friendly especially front desk.But the hotel location are very good and central and the breakfast are ok but not very good but cleanness of the hotel is very good and acceptable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank fara046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa is a nice generic business hotel in New Delhi. However do not book directly on the hotel's website, their price does not include taxes and charges, we have to pay an additional 50% on top of the booked rate, just for the room! This is disappointing as we were are used to a more inclusive pricing process in Europe.

We stayed for four nights at the start of our trio to India, then again for one night at the end of our trip, a week or so later.

We used their collection service from the airport which was great, although expensive at around GBP 20.

The reception staff are ok but not great, they don't appear to be very good with English and often pass you to another member of staff or talk to others when they are dealing with you. However on our second visit they were very welcoming. Ask for the Wi-Fi password on check in to avoid going back down. The Wi-Fi is annoying as it is a bit slow and only really for one device, so if you are using more than one you will need to ask for a second password.

The rooms are clean and to a good standard. On our first stay we were upgraded to a Club Room at the rear of the hotel, but as they are all double glazed sound should not be an issue. There is not much storage space in the rooms, no drawers for clothes and the wardrobe, whilst large only had 8 hangers. We did not have clothes cleaned here, but compared to other hotels we stayed in the prices were expensive. Free daily newspaper was a nice touch.

Food was good the breakfast options are quite varied, European, Indian and Chinese. We ate at the Indian restaurant and the European cafe in the evening which were again very good. The Japanese restaurant is reported to be good but it is very expensive so we did not eat there. Disappointingly the tables in the restaurant are not cleaned properly. In the sunlight you can see that they are only wiped over with dry cloth, not sprayed with cleaner and wiped down.

The hotel does change money but this was not available to us when we wanted to change money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, the road in front is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JontyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our first visit to India we booked at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, it is very clean, service awesome, restaurants are the best! we recommend to visit the Indian Restaurant at the hotel, this is most delicious Indian food, you can met with the chef as well, nice experience to eat a very spicy food. Breakfast buffet great!. Definitely you can enjoy in this Hotel. Craft House is the most reliable store to shop very finest and certify pashmina, sandal wood and more Indian's stuff a very good price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Booked thru Internet after investing great deal of time on trip advisor. My recommendation is that please do not over read the tripadvisor else you will not be able to make a clear selection.

For me, Convenience and comfort of family was more important than Price tag so wanted to balance somehow.

this was going to be longest hotel in India (my home country) so had to be good.

Metropolitan just did that. Though I may not entirely agree with 5STAR rating but it is had everything that we needed.

Mr. Ashok Lal at main restaurant was like Alladin's Jin. Everytime we were looking for something, he appeared from nowhere. he took personal interest in ensuring that we got what we wanted.

Another BIG BIG BIG and pleasant surprise was at the Breakfast Menu. My family brougt lot of ready to eat stuff as we thought we will end up eating continental stuff in a star rated hotel. BUT?? IDLY, DOSA, PURI BHAJI, PAROTHA, ETC, ETC. My God, breakfast for 9 days became a treat in itself. PLUS MASALA CHAI completed it with iceing on a cake.

On the Problem side,

1. Booking website mentioned a separate sitting area. This was not available for 90% of the rooms in the hotel.
2. Bathroom with glass walls. Now this may sound good and romantic for couples and solo travellers, its akward for families. Shutting all lights to take shower is not possible. Possibly they should put curtains against shower wall so it allows required privacy under shower.
3. Travel Desk: Travel desk appear as if its part of the hotel. however its an independent company operating with this hotel and hotel bears no direct responsibilities of their services. We dont have major complains other than higher fares for all the services we used. The drivers provided were professional and good. The cars were good though surprisingly without any music system. not even a radio????

I recommend this hotel to every family who want to be in safe place, get good service, who enjoy Indian cusine & want to be stay in the Centre of the City.

Thanks Metropolitan Team and hope you will pay attention to some of my points.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JigarJShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,975 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#63 of 715 in New Delhi
3,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 715 in New Delhi
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#29 of 715 in New Delhi
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#40 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing