We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretentious but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Ranked #6 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our tour had booked us into a different hotel but we were changed to the Taj Palace when the original hotel became unavailable. It is in a respectable if slightly dull diplomatic part of Delhi, with a long view of empty land and roads. Security is taken very seriously- vehicles and luggage are checked at the entrance to the drive. It's a luxurious place, with lots of staff standing about ready to be helpful. Our room was well appointed, with a big and comfortable bed. Although it was a room for two, there was only one easy chair and a sort of pouffe. The bathroom also had glass walls, which seemed a pointless design feature and potentially rather disturbing until we discovered the electric blinds. Meals were fine- we were on the tour menu, so didn't have much choice of food beside the buffet, but the small selection was satisfactory and one evening we had some excellent lamb cutlets. Puddings were attractive and varied. The dining rooms were rather dark and sometimes cold- this was February. Drinks were heavily overpriced. All in all, it was comfortable and looked palatial but I felt it lacked charm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,173 - 2,179 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

I've been a regular at this hotel and it's always been a very good experience. This hotel has one of the biggest facility for hosting conferences and they conduct it also in a very appropriate manner. Sometimes back I'd seen it displayed there that this hotel ranked amongst the top 50 in the world and I would say very deservedly. The property has been recently renovated and it was indeed very refreshing. The staff is very courteous and prompt. The highpoint which I always enjoy is the breakfast which has all the varieties. The pool is very well maintained; only I couldn't use it because of the weather. Would always like to return back here.

Room Tip: The room which I always prefer is the one facing the pool. You also have a view of the road, metro a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjaymehta503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Taj Palace is a wonderful hotel for anyone visiting Delhi. It has superb service, comfortable rooms, and excellent restaurants. What makes this hotel so wonderful to me is the India charm that is captured in the lobby/tea room/lounge. Unlike many high end hotels, the Taj Palace has managed to maintain a peaceful lobby/lounge area in a hotel that is large and full of services. The spa and pool area are beautiful and the staff cannot be more helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We found this hotel very comfortable, good service and the bedroom was spacious with a nice funky twist to it...the bathroom is glass! The best thing of all was their Vietnamese restaurant, the decor was intimate and modern, food was of a high standard. All drinks however we found were a bit pricey, but it is a top class venue, so to be expected. A good start to our trip in India.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Joycetalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had our dinner at Hotel Taj palace on 2oth Feb . Food was great . starters were superb . Interesting part was Hot Tawa chapati prepared by Chef just near your table and served hot . Overall service was good and good ambiance. good for business/family dinner .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchampion062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

It's in the details, this hotel just makes every guest feels special - from being picked up to at the airport, getting through security of the hotel to checking-in. There's a smile in every corner. This was the second time I stayed in Taj Hotels, the first one being Taj Land Ends in Mumbai, I really shouldn't pick but I do feel Taj Land Ends really set their standards sky high. I do find housekeeping in Taj Land Ends in Mumbai a little more intuitive and detailed than Taj Palace ones. Having said that, I will still give a 5 stars to Taj Palace's housekeeping: the fresh flowers and sweet note cards left on the bedsheets(a different one everynight), all my accessories on top of a clean white fresh table mat, chargers and wires rolled up neatly with a velcro - all these just made a full, hectic day of work worthwhile. What surprises me is after a work-out in the gym, you come back to the room with a card saying " Congratulations you worked hard in he gym", a glass of fresh lime juice, honey on the side and the goodness of keeping hydrated and glucose after an exercise!! Flabbergasted!! Gym facilities are modern, clean with gym instructors readily available - and yes - they have yoga mats, yoga mat sprats for yogis and yoginis out there. Special recommendation: Blue Ginger, Vietnamese food there is superb, though a little ex but worth it after having curries every lunch for 7 days!
Thank you all those working in Taj Palace - making my stay completely memorable. What can I say? I do hope I get to come back to Delhi for a business trip again! :)

xx
Travellingsalesgirl

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingsalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

What can you say about a hotel that host Monsieur Hollande President of France one week and David Cameron, the British Prime Minister, the next. It has got to be good and it lived up to its promises. Service and attention to detail was very good and the bedrooms were had everything one could possibly think of. It is situated in New Delhi close to most amenities and in its own grounds, which are extensive. The blue bar is a little too dark for my liking ( You peer through the gloom and still cannot see anybody) but the restauarnt serve the best curry I have ever eaten.
We spent 3 nights in all on a Great Rail Journey trip and I thought it was a fantastic hotel until we arrived at The Taj Jai Mahal palace in Jaipur. But that's another story.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel will not let you down. 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,080 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#12 of 779 in New Delhi
2,216 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 779 in New Delhi
3,125 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#13 of 779 in New Delhi
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi

Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India (Formerly Taj Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £124 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, is spread out over six acres of lush gardens in the heart of India’s capital city. It is an oasis of calm while still being right in the middle of the city’s action. Not surprisingly, then that our 403 rooms and suites have played gracious host to princes, heads of state, corporate czars and high-powered conferences and the grandest of weddings for close to four decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing