We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have visited!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Ranked #7 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

There are a couple of hotels worldwide that stick in my mind and this hotel is one of them. Truly amazing from the minute we arrived. Customer service truly impeccable Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were exquisitely furnished with every possible amenity. Huge king beds and very comfortable
A few different restaurants. We dined at the Vietnamese restaurant which was excellent
Beautiful outdoor swimming pool temperature controlled. Nice touch also to receive the India Times each day in its own presentation hessian holder.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnySouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,904 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

we stayed here on more than one occaision during a recent tour around the Golden Triangle. A very luxurious hotel. All staff are very helpful and friendly. Lovely pool area and gardens. Good selection of restaurants. However, it is very expensive for drinks! Be warned. There is a lovely area off the foyer serving speciality teas and coffees. However, for 2 pots of tea we paid the equivalent of £12! That would be excessive even in the UK.
Bar drinks can also be expensive, although there is usually a Happy Hour with 2 4 1 on most drinks. The Indian wines can also be a good buy. We tried the white Sula which was very good. If you just want a basic tea or coffee and mix with the locals, try turning left out of the hotel entrance and cross the road at the bottom of the slope where there is a coffee bar - bit like an Indian version of a Costa, where a lot of the young locals congregate. About £1.20 a cup of coffee and the company of a vibran crowd.
Our meals were included as part of our trip. We ate in the Vietnamese restaurant, the buffet restaurant and the Indian restaurant. All excellent. The buffet breakfast in the morning offered so much choice, you could spend all morning eating. One morning I noticed a joint of lamb amongst the offerings! The weather was so good, it was lovely to sit outside and eat breakfast.
Rooms are a good size, with very comfortable beds and i-pod docking stations. the shower can be a little awkward to work out, so best to ask the porter when he drops off your bags if you are not sure.
Being allergic to feathers, I had to request a bedding change. This was facilitated in record time and in a pleasant manner. In the evening, slippers are placed by the bed and when you turn out all the room lights, as soon as your feet touch the floor a low level light comes on so that you could see your way to the bathroom, without disturbing a partner. Brilliant idea!
Staff were very pleasant and nothing too much trouble. Free bottles of water are offered poolside.
One thing I did not really like was the need to have a member of staff situated in each of the cloakrooms by reception who's job it was to hand you a towel on a platter to wipe your hands with. This did seem to take things a bit too far!
There is a significant level of security at this hotel. However, the staff could certainly teach the security staff at airports in the UK a lesson in good manners! They are almost apologetic at slowing your entry to the hotel and very polite and considerate.
Overall, loved the place and would certainly go back if staying in New Delhi.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fantastic hotel , stayed on3 occasions and enjoyed an upgrade on two ..by chance.welcome good, rooms Devine even if you need a degree to operate the wonderful shower.
Service absolutely spot on , the pool area is great and one is supplied with water and towels immediately , I was even offered sun lotion , and after 30 minutes complimentary fresh fruit .Breakfast buffet is to say the least extensive and delicious.frankly its one of the most opulent hotels I have ever stayed in , the reason for the 4* and not 5 is the charge for internet access, a common theme in Indian hotels and an absolute disgrace

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank sweenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Can't say more about the service at the Taj Palace: the hotel concierge spent a day chasing the airlines for my lost luggage and updating me on its arrival. The Taj Palace certainly did more to assure me than, the airlines that was at fault, even bothered to! The hotel's commitment to making every guest feel at ease certainly made my first trip to India a memorable one. Everything that you would expect from a 5-star hotel, you will find here up to the last luxurious detail!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGPTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels with great service, awesome rooms and fantastic amenities. This is my second time back to Delhi on business and both times, I have chosen to stay at Taj Palace. Really lovely and cannot praise the wonderful attitude of the staff from the moment you get off the car till the moment you leave. Looking forward to have many more stays at this truly world-class hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pak-Tjun_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

excellent place to stay ..Located at the heart of the city, the hotel provides excellent amenities and great food options..The food quality here is very different from rest of the top hotels.
It is one of the best hotels in the terms of food quality, comfort and service.
staff is humble and very well trained..The hotel is very well managed keeping in mind the necessities of the customers.just opposite the hotel is an amazing cafe coffee day , which serves delicious coffee and other beverages.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugandh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in March as part of the Golden Triangle trip with great Rail Journeys. The whole Taj experience was fantastic, from the moment we walked through the door. We where greeted with garlands of flowers, a tika and a very refreshing drink, porterage was excellent, bags in our rooms with 5 minutes. Rooms fabulous at all standards, food excellent and facilities superb. Would highly recommend this particular Taj Hotel.

Room Tip: As a tour we came and went from the hotel so effectively stay there 3 times each time a different r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 727 in New Delhi
2,953 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 727 in New Delhi
2,940 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 727 in New Delhi
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 727 in New Delhi
2,850 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 727 in New Delhi
4,086 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#44 of 727 in New Delhi
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi

Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India (Formerly Taj Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £139 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi, is spread out over six acres of lush gardens in the heart of India’s capital city. It is an oasis of calm while still being right in the middle of the city’s action. Not surprisingly, then that our 403 rooms and suites have played gracious host to princes, heads of state, corporate czars and high-powered conferences and the grandest of weddings for close to four decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing