We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip to Delhi”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My trip to Delhi”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A very good hotel, great service and meals. Thoughtful touches in the rooms as well. They have a private car service that picks you up from the airport or takes you around the city for sightseeing or shopping. The drivers are excellent resourceful and know about the city. Full buffet breakfast with everything you could want! Local food is showcased as well

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the facilities and services of our hotel and particularly the Travel Desk services. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    622
    136
    40
    37
See reviews for
356
548
206
1,332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you want to experience the "grandeur" of India luxury hotels, Taj Palace is to be recommended. It's huge, spatious, elegant; rooms have been modernised, so hou're not stuck with old glory. Service excellent, as you can expect from such a prestigious place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A part of the Taj Luxury hotels, this hotel truly lives up to its name. As you enter, you will feel the warmth which comes from the interiors as well as the staff. The interiors are to say 'old world' and add to the aura of the Hotel.

Is located in the diplomatic area of the city and has easy access from Airport (approx 15 mins drive) and only 15-20 mins drive from the center of the city.

Rooms are spacious and include all the modern amenities including DVD player & iPod docking station. TV channel listing is one of the best across any hotel.

THE POOL - now that's what you call a pool. it's a no frill (no designs/fancy stuff) pool, is big enough for half the hotel to occupy it and the best part - is deep enough (10 ft and deepest point), which is not what you find at other hotels). The only word of caution is that i will not recommend this for Kids and non-swimmers as the shallowest point is 4 ft and no lifeguard present.

There are a multiple dining options in the hotel - Masala Art (indian), Orient Express (Oriental), Cafe Fontana (Round the clock dining) & Blue Bar (night club). We tried the blue bar, which is a great way to spend a night at the hotel - great music (dance/EDM) and drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regulus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing with us your feedback. We thank you for your kind feedback with regard to the location of the hotel, rooms and amenities, the pool and our various restaurants.

It is really heartening to get this feedback about our hotel which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to your continued patronage of the Taj Palace Hotel.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Imagine stepping into your room, and seeing a large view of dense trees and a nice pool through the window of your room ...that's Taj Palace Hotel in Delhi. I enjoyed the stay through the professional service of the people at this hotel and the comfort was indeed "Taj" style !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manojk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback with regard to your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that your stay with us was up to your satisfaction and that you particularly liked the view of your room and found the service to be professional. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in. Being a Taj hotel obviously the service is very good. The hotel is very well located (very close to Dhaula Kuan). It was a great variety of food (many restaurants). The hotel itself is very beautiful and has an old world charm to it. You almost feel like its a real palace. Absolutely loved the experience of staying at The Taj Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonikabhasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Ms. Bhasin,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting our hotel and restaurants. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I travel to Delhi regularly on business, and have stayed in a number of five-star hotels there. Found myself at the Taj Palace for a conference recently, and I have to say I think it is the best of all.

Full disclosure: I stayed on a renovated floor. Apparently not all floors are renovated yet, and I can imagine that the experience in an older room might not be so wonderful.

But the experience I had was fantastic. Starting with the welcome from the hotel representative, on through every member of the staff I had contact with, the service orientation, welcoming attitude, and politeness were superb. Even by 5-star standards, they were superb. My room was the most functional and comfortable business accommodation I’ve enjoyed – it was sparkling clean and furnished with all the latest equipment, including an iPad player and an HDMI-equipped TV and DVD player. The wifi system works well without hassles (for house guests, at least) throughout the entire hotel (including guest room, conference facilities and restaurant). They very sagely offer two options – free, with bandwidth sufficient to get email, etc. and premium, which costs but delivers enough bandwidth, they say, to download movies, etc. (I didn’t try the premium, so can’t comment on it….but the free option was great!) BTW, this room was on an ordinary floor, NOT the club floor.

The next comment will lead people to conclude I’m an engineer, but I’m not: Somebody put a lot of attention into the new climate control system -- it worked wonderfully, and put ME in control of how much aircon the system delivered (and the vents were aimed so when I sat at the desk working I wasn’t showered with freezing cold air.) It was functional AND comfortable. Loved it.

I ate several meals in the hotel’s café restaurant – the breakfast buffets were copious and featured both western and Indian options. Taste of the food was excellent.

For a couple of trips to places around New Delhi, I used the yellow-and-black metered taxis called by the hotel. I hope the hotel can take credit for screening the cabs -- both of the ones I used were in reasonably good shape with working a/c and drivers who understood working English, were well groomed and polite (this has not always been the case with taxis I’ve picked up at other hotels.)

On my last day, I had several hours to kill before flight time, so I availed myself of the gym and spa. That was great, too. The gym was well-appointed, with a dozen cardio machines in good shape. The spa was comfortable and the staff – again – was friendly and welcoming.

The only slight minus was that the renovation of the elevators during my stay meant two of the four cars were not functioning, so there were some 2-3 minute waits for elevators. But the renovations won’t last forever, and when they’re done, the service will be that much better.

Pretty much everything else was great. Honestly, I would love to stay at the Taj Palace again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a renovated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in the Taj Palace for four days recently and it was a wonderful experience starting from the traditional reception at the door. You don't have to stand at the reception for the check in, it's done in the room itself. The interiors and the ambience in the hotel is great. The room was good with all the amenities. The hotel has great lawns for evening walk/leisure. The negative was the lift service, terrribly slow due to some renovation going on.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvsH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind feedback with regard to your experience during your recent stay with us at Taj Palace. We have noted your kind words regarding the traditional welcome at the reception, the in room check in, the interiors and the ambience of the hotel. While we thank you for the same, we have communicated the same to all the concerned associates.

We have also noted your comments with regard to the elevator. Although we have taken adequate care by placing a note in the room informing our guests of two elevators having been taken under modernization programme, it seems that this may have slipped your attention. Since, only two elevators are under operation, there may be an occasion when they take slightly more than normal time to report. However, this situation is very temporary in nature and our brand new state-of-the-art elevators will be recommissioned on 15th October, 2013. We are confident that you would find the situation to be vastly different thereafter. We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Thank you for your understanding in advance.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,765 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,632 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
2,664 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing