We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel for tourists or business people.”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel for tourists or business people.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We were starting our tour of India and arrived very late at night but were given very good service and were in bed in no time. Unfortunately we didn't have time to take full advantage of all that the hotel had to offer, but everything we experienced and saw was of the highest standard.
Breakfast and dinner dining was excellent.
The hotel is located in a quiet exclusive part of the diplomatic enclave.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I have noted your comments with regard to our service, breakfast and dinner. I am pleased to know that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    638
    139
    40
    44
See reviews for
377
566
208
1,373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here 3 separate nights whilst on tour - each room was totally different except for the luxury feel! The food and service were great as was the whole place. It is an oasis of calm in a somewhat frenetic city.

Room Tip: Better outlook at the back but all are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

We have noted your kind words with regard to your stay at our hotel on three separate nights and are glad to know that you found the rooms to give you a feel of luxury and the food and service to be great. Also, we have noted that you found the hotel to be an "oasis of calm". I am grateful to you for your kind words and they have been communicated to all in the team.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here three times for one night during a tour. Fabulous welcome when we arrived, group check-in was handled very efficiently. The hotel looks a bit dated from outside, but inside it's very impressive - foyer is just what you'd expect from a traditional New Delhi hotel. The first time we stayed we had a traditional room that was very comfortable looking out over the gardens. Our last stay was on an upper floor and to our surprise was ultra-modern! Not sure if this relates to the price you pay, but if you're fussy either way then ask when you check in!
The Masala Art Indian restaurant is fabulous - the food was excellent and the service outstanding, happy to spend time explaining the menu and make recommendations. Main restaurant is very good too.
As it is in the diplomatic enclave there's no restaurants nearby so if you want to eat out a cab will be needed. Recommended.

Room Tip: Upper floors are more modern - but may be pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proudag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing with us your feedback with regard to your stay at the Taj Palace, New Delhi.

We have noted your kind remarks with regard to the welcome, group check in, the lobby, our ultra- modern club rooms on the upper floor, the Kafe Fontana - our coffee shop and the food and service at Masala Art which you found to be outstanding. Your kind words have been communicated to all concerned. It is indeed such positive feed back that encourages us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

In October, we were supposed to stay at The Claridge Hotel, but upon arrival were told we were going to Taj Palace Hotel. Excellent food, free internet access, and beautiful rooms made us as comfortable as possible. We arrived during Diwali, and the lobby was decorated with marigold and other flower petals. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, which was nice since it was our first stop on our tour of India. I don't think they could have been more hospitable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccap607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your time and giving us your feedback in the Trip Advisor. We have noted your kind comments with regard to the food, rooms, Diwali decoration at the Lobby and the staff.
I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If got a chance to stay then will obviously go. It is one of the amazing time. The brunch is awesome. Pool was pleasant. The service was good and room was spacious.

I can never forget the charm that the people of taj provided me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankit0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace ,New Delhi!

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. Room 270. Room was nice, but a bit small, daily service and housekeeping was good.
Room charge included dinner in the buffet, which was nice but not great. The Vietnamese restaurant on the other hand was excellent and I can highly recommend a visit. Special mention need to go to the staff here who vent out of their way to make us feel welcome and their dedication and service was fantastic. Really exceptional!

Overall its certainly worth a visit when in Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

We have noted that you found the size of your room and the dinner buffet to be less than satisfactory and we apologize for the same. We have communicated your comments to the Executive Chef to take corrective action so as to improve the quality of the buffet.

However, we thank you for your kind words with regard to housekeeping and your experience at Blue Ginger - our Vietnamese restaurant. I have communicated the same to all the concerned staff. It is comments such as these that motivates us to strive even harder to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed there for 1 night, wished my stay would have been longer. Staff was very courteous. 6 of us stayed in the hotel, and all rooms were upgraded to Luxury or Club class and they provided us with late checkout facility. Breakfast has a very good spread and Swimming pool is very nice. We partied Late night in Blue bar which has great indoor and outdoor setting. It's on my preferred list now.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurpreet_chawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for sparing your time in sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind compliments for our staff, breakfast spread, the swimming pool and the seating in the Blue Bar which we greatly appreciate. Your compliments have been conveyed to all the concerned.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,809 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,931 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing