We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has the opportunity to be the best in every category”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Has the opportunity to be the best in every category”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at the Taj for three days in February of 2014. This is an extremely well maintained Hotel. I would say one of a kind. Pretty much everything about the Taj is very good. The food was amazing, the afternoon Tea was awesome and the evening Cocktail sessions were equally good.
The only thing in my view that prevents thisgoing from good to being a GREAT hotel for service is their stubbornness to charge every guest a fee for using the internet. Really ?? Even after you have paid in excess of $300 per room ?
Other than this oddity, I found everything else to be good.

Room Tip: Avail the Breakfast buffet, High Tea in the afternoon and the evening cokctails !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhaskarKoukuntla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team.

We have also taken note of your feedback with respect to wifi.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Maanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    601
    132
    38
    35
See reviews for
341
536
197
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Like a step into the highest quality, finest service, most elegant oasis imaginable. Everything was perfect. I was upgraded to Club floor because the Japanese head of state was staying there. The Club lounge for morning coffee was sublime

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback with us.

I am greatly delighted to read your feedback which is most encouraging. I have communicated the same to one and all in the team and thank you once again for the same.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in the Taj for three nights at the start of a family trip with 2 young children (age 6 and 3). We stayed in inter-connecting club rooms which were lovely. Extremely comfortable, with wonderful beds and lovely bathrooms. The service was amazing and the staff were brilliant with the children (esp as this is more a business hotel), bringing them chocolates and brownies with their names on. Food was excellent with good options for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StAtravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for sparing your time and giving us your valuable feedback.

We have noted your kind feedback with respect to your experience with your family at the Taj Palace and your appreciation for the rooms, the service etc. are highly appreciated.

These comments are highly encouraging and have been communicated to all the concerned. All this truly makes the effort worth it.

We at Taj Palace are making every effort to ensure that though we are a large hotel, we operate it like a small personalized operation. Your mail seems to validate this and makes us very happy.

Thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with excellent bathrooms, toiletries and the most comfortable beds. The restaurant is buffet style with lots of choice and the staff are well trained and very courteous. It is situated in the Diplomatic area making it a quiet haven away from the hustle and bustle of New Delhi

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMC009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Many thanks for your comments in the Trip Advisor. I am happy to read that you had found our hotel to be up to your satisfaction and your kind feedback with respect to the bathrooms, toiletries, beds, restaurant and the staff is well appreciated. Needless to say, this encouraging feedback has been communicated to our team.

We thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I'ved stayed at this hotel three times while on business in Delhi, and each time was impressed by the quality of service and the standard of food. I had a Taj Club Room where wifi was free and fast, and the decor impeccable, together with orchids on my pillow at night and a note card with poetry. I fell in love with India during my stay and the Inhian n food at the hotel had a lot to do with it. India is intoxicating, and Delhi can be quite overwhelming but with a good driver and air conditioning it is bearable. I felt very pampered in this hotel, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for sparing your time and giving us your valuable feedback.

Thank you for your kind feedback with respect to your experience at the Taj Palace and I am delighted to note that you felt pampered in our hotel.

These comments are highly encouraging and have been communicated to all the concerned. All this truly makes the effort worth it. We at Taj Palace are making every effort to ensure that though we are a large hotel, we operate it like a small personalized operation. Your mail seems to validate this and makes us very happy.

Thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent valentines here and they really made the night memorable. They upgraded our room to a junior suite, the hotel is quite old and the rooms are not fabulously renovated but they are comfortable, clean and decently luxurious. We were greeted with a bunch of roses and a cake which was very kind of the hotel.

The spa here is not a Jiva spa, as most Taj hotels have it so that was one let down but the Blue Bar is a great place to get a drink after dinner. The restaurants here are nice, especially Orient Express if you have a special occasion.

This hotel is close to the airport and to the centre of town, though not too close to major South Delhi neighbourhoods.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustBug001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We have noted your feedback with regard to your stay at our hotel. I am delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us on Valentine’s Day. We also thank you for your kind compliments for the Blue Bar and Orient Express – our European restaurant.

We have also noted your comments with regard to the Spa and are pleased to let you know that the Spa is slated to be renovated this summer.

We thank you for your king patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here while on business in Delhi. The location is relatively close to the airport, though kind of far from many of the city attractions and from the offices where we were meeting. This would be a great location, though, if you are working at one of the nearby embassies.

The service here is top-notch... some of the best I've ever had. We stayed on the Taj Club level (top three floors)... definitely try to wind up there, if you can. You get in-room check in and a private check-out desk, access to the club lounge 24/7 with tea, coffee, and soft drinks all the time, high tea every afternoon, and cocktail hour every evening (I do wish cocktail hour started a little earlier). The club lounge provides a great place to hold small meetings, work, read, or just unwind.

We also had airport pick-up and drop-off included in our rate; absolutely top-notch service there too... and classy cars (range rovers and jaguars). Upon arrival, we were greeted and taken straight to our rooms; very easy check-in.

The rooms themselves were great; very updated, classy yet modern feeling. We had hazy city views (wish it was clearer in February). The bathrooms with the giant glass separating the tub from the room were excellent... so fun.

I used the spa and workout area and greatly appreciated the hours (work-out room is 24/7), the high level of service there, and the equipment. Spa and workout area are complimentary for all guests. They have separate spa facilities (hot tub, steam room, etc) for men and women. I was able to relax and rejuvenate in the spa facilities one morning. The spa here is good, though I've definitely seen nicer (e.g., West Chosun in Seoul!). Also, their pool is unheated, so much too cold to go for a dip there in January and February... though I imagine it would be lovely in June or July.

Every morning I had breakfast downstairs; great breakfast selection. Many western and haute-cuisine choices as well as a number of Indian dishes. Also had nice waffle/pancake and egg stations. One evening we had drinks at the bar; was very pricey and not the best white russian I've had... so not certain I can recommend that part (also, they didn't have any port on their bar menu!). (They also have breakfast in the club lounge, but the selection is smaller; though it's quieter there.)

The taxi stand outside is great (they'll call the taxi for you at the entrance). The taxi drivers who park there are all very professional, speak English reasonably well, are happy to wait for you wherever you are going (no extra charge), and they all use their meters! They'll also tour you around the city to any attractions you want to see. Delhi is pretty big though... so the meter runs up fairly quickly (though the taxi cost is nothing compared with one night in this hotel).

Room Tip: Taj Club Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_Maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We have noted your feedback with regard to your stay at Taj Palace, New Delhi!
We thank you for your detailed feedback with regard to your appreciation for the Taj Club rooms, the bathrooms, the Taj Club lounge, breakfast at our Coffee Shop, the facilities and service at the Spa and the taxi service at the hotel.

Taj Palace is ideally located for those seeking a calm, serene and green surroundings as we are surrounded by reserve forest cover on two sides and Embassies on the other. In addition, we are only fifteen minutes from the international airport, ten minutes from the Ministries, Presidential Palace and within Lutyens Delhi (city’s heritage quarter.)

I also have noted your comments with regard to our Blue Bar being pricey. Please allow me to assure you that the restaurant prices of Taj Palace are perhaps the most reasonable in comparison to similar hotels in New Delhi. May I also take this opportunity to inform you that we also have a highly successful value meal option specifically designed for single diners which is the Bento Box option which also has wine or beer as an inclusion.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#11 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing