We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, Some improvement needed.”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, Some improvement needed.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed from 21st April to 24th April.
THE GOOD:
1. Excellent staff throughout, from housekeeping to butler service to restaurants/bar. Special thanks to Mr. Dilbar, Mr Dival, Mr. Puran, Night shift butler (forgot name) , club level receptionists.
2. Fantastic club level suite rooms. Thanks for the complimentary wine.
3. Airport pickup in Jaguar!!
4. From arrival at hotel, straight to room and quick in-room check in (only for club level)
5. One of the best turndown service, beautiful bubble-bath, chocolates, good night message with flower, AMAZING!!!
6. Spa is beautiful, although not Jiva brand, marble hot jacuzzi!!
7. Swimming pool is huge(not heated), staff is very caring, bringing water and sun block even before u ask for it.
8. Lavish buffet at Kafe Fontana with many veg options. Club lounge buffet spread was limited as compared to KF.
9. Bose surround sound system, order a movie from given list (pretty extensive list) and butler brings you popcorn and beverage too. Such a wonderful gesture.

THE NOT SO GOOD
1. No free airport drop even for club suites!!
2. No free wifi. C'mon not even for club level rooms???
3. Limited drinks menu at club lounge, no cocktails. Please expand the menu, add cocktails. Whats the use of club lounge otherwise???
4. Security staff is not very friendly, behaved rudely with my business associate. No smiles, no greeting, kind of hostile.
5. Not a Jiva brand Spa.
6. Why not provide the KF buffet spread even at club lounge? We vegetarians would love that.
7. Only club floor rooms are good, other rooms need refurbishment very badly. Stayed one night in suite 157, not for my taste. Old indian furnishings.

Ask for odd numbered rooms, they are pool facing, the view from even numbered rooms is nothing special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ratnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

Thank you for your kind compliments mentioned in the note for all the associates and we ensure that the same have been communicated to each one of them.

I would try to address your concerns point wise pertaining to :

1.Within the current club room packages, a one way transfer is inclusive but we would consider your suggestion of both way transfers for Club Suite guests.

2.The hotel provides 30 minutes access of complimentary internet service at the Business Centre everyday of the guest’s stay. There are two dedicated terminals available at the club lounge for this purpose.

3.Our club lounge lacks a pantry or a proper bar counter, hence creating cocktails is challenging. We will work on it probably with a limited menu.

4.Security staff is not friendly – this has been communicated to the concerned head of department and counter action has been initiated.

5.Currently there is a plan to renovate the Spa floor and create that into a Jiva spa. This will probably happen towards the end of this financial year.

6.As mentioned in point 3 above, the club lounge lacks a proper kitchen or a pantry which is the reason why only a cold breakfast with egg service is feasible and restricts our ability to provide a larger selection like the one at our Coffee Shop.

7.Except for the first and third floors, all other rooms in the hotel are newly refurbished or completely renovated. You are right that room 157 being on the first floor, is not one of the newest suites.

For your future visits, I highly recommend that your office makes your reservation for a Luxury, Taj Club room, Taj Club suite, or one of our Luxury Suites, in order to enable you to enjoy the newest accommodation in the hotel.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    614
    135
    40
    36
See reviews for
348
545
201
1,309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night but wish it was longer, great service, fab modern room, good breakfast, great pool area, and great choice of restaurants.
I would recommend without hesitation as this is a 5 star and some hotels I have reviewed in India show come here and see how it's done namely Agra and Jodhpur.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have been modernised and rooms over looking the pool are wonderful 541
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When you walk into the reception you know that you will love your visit.

The staff are welcoming and attentive, the surroundings luxurious and the bedrooms are very well appointed.

For an experience try a pot of Darjeeling tea for two in the Tea Lounge. The brewing of the tea is timed by egg timers and your tea will be poured by a charming waitress.

All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
377 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I enjoy visiting hotel again and again. It is a very good experience. The hotel provides an excellent hospitality. The room service is good. The suites are very well done. The lounge facility is very nice. The buffet breakfast is good. I recommend this hotel to all the guests.

Room Tip: Rooms and Suites are very quiet and well done
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback with regard to your stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamirpur, India
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is not a Palace only by name but the structure proves to be one. It has been almost 8 months since we stayed there with family and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. Staff is very helpful and service at every point is just fabulous. Comparative slow at times but still fine. Will definitely come back soon :-)

Room Tip: Chose rooms on higher floor to get the best view. Anything above 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavitachauhan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and reviewing Taj Palace on the Trip Advisor.

We have noted your satisfaction with your stay at Taj Palace with your family and thank you very much for the same. We have communicated your kind appreciation to our staff and they are truly encouraged.

Thank you for choosing us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everything in this hotel was so great. For starters, it is located in the nicer part of Delhi. The lobby and the grounds exude luxury and the staff are warm and welcoming. The room was great and complete with small touches that make you smile. The bathroom was really nice too, with a clear glass looking into the bedroom. One of the evenings we came back to our room that had been made up and there was a bubble bath with rose petals in the tub! The breakfast spread is wide and everything is delicious. The chefs are really friendly too. If you want to get anywhere from the hotel, they will offer you an expensive hotel car but you can choose a metered black and yellow taxi - the hotel has a fleet of approved taxis. Only downside is that the wifi keeps going off and you have to log-in again, but other than that, this hotel took my breath away and I will definitely stay here again when visiting Delhi.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden - the view facing the city is not so great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you for spending your valuable time to review Taj Palace.

It is wonderful to note that this hotel took your breath away with you wanting to stay with us again on your next visit to Delhi. Your lovely words for the lobby, the staff, the bathroom, the breakfast spread and the Chefs, the small personal touches in the room etc. are highly appreciated and have been conveyed to all concerned.

We have also noted your feedback with regard to wifi and have conveyed the same to the concerned Head of Department to take necessary corrective action.

We thank you for patronizing our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Taj Palace Hotel on two separate dates as part of our scheduled tour of North India. Although this Hotel chain has a very smart corporate image we still felt that the personal touch of a smaller hotel was present which was demonstrated by all of the very pleasant and courteous staff - especially within the busy restaurant. the breakfast choices were very tasty offering something for everyone.
Our room was tastefully decorated and contained all the items you would need to feel comfy and relaxed.

Room Tip: we were based in rooms 703 and 803 (smoking) offering a great view of the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experiences on the Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind compliments and for your feedback and it is great to know that you felt comfortable and relaxed during your stay with us at Taj Palace. All this truly makes the effort worth it. I have also ensured that your compliments have reached all the concerned staff. We at Taj Palace are making every effort to ensure that though we are a large hotel, we operate it like a small personalized operation. Your feedback seems to validate this and makes us very happy.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#13 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing