We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel deserving of its name” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hotel deserving of its name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

It's called the Taj Palace and it lived up to its name. The staff are very professional and lovely. The service is fantastic in keeping with Taj traditions. I prefer Taj hotels because of the above reasons and the Palace exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was fantastic. The room was comfortable and very well put together. We had an event at the Taj and everything went very smoothly. The food was great. My room was on the Club floor and I could check out there. I found it very helpful.

Room Tip: A room on the Taj Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your excellent feedback in the Trip Advisor.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for patronizing the Taj Group of hotels and Taj Palace in particular. It is indeed great to read that you found our staff very professional and the service to be fantastic. I have also noted your compliments for the breakfast, room and the food and great to know that you found Taj Palace exceeded your expectations. Thank you for all these words and please be rest assured that the same has been communicated to all in the team.

Please do come back to stay with us again, we will love to see you again and help you create some unforgettable memories of the Taj Palace experience.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,751
    591
    129
    36
    35
See reviews for
325
518
195
1,256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the Taj Palace on our recent tour of India. The service at the hotel was excellent, the room was roomy and spacious and the meals at the hotel were first class. On arrival at the hotel we were offered a cold drink while the formalities of booking in were done which was welcome after a long flight from Australia.Security was tight which was reassuring. I would recommend this hotel.The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhodesiabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your feedback complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back wherein we can get an opportunity to delight you once again with our true Taj hospitality which we are well known for.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The Taj has indeed lived upto it's name . My guests had Stayed in the taj and were truly treated to great and hospitable service . It was actually their anniversary . I requested Vasant the duty manager to arrange a cake . He was polite enough to go the extra mile and the guest was very very happy . That's an example of taj service .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a12b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind comments on the Trip Advisor. It is great to know that your guests had a amazing experience during their stay at Taj Palace to celebrate their anniversary. We are glad to know that we were able to live up to our standards and expectations of our guests.

Your kind words for Vasant have been noted and communicated to him.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your guests and look forward to welcoming you too at Taj Palace, New Delhi.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pre-cruise hotels are often soulless places, with a function of simply accommodating guests in preparation for their cruise experience. However, the Taj was exceptional. My wife and I stayed at the Taj Place in Delhi as a part of our pre-cruise Golden Triangle tour organised by SITA and Cruise 1st. It was a wonderful experience....in contrast to the hotels we moved to from there!

Although only staying two nights in Delhi itself and being very well occupied during the days, we explored and benefitted from many features of the hotel. Their reception logistics and greeting facilities were delightful and efficient with bags arriving without fuss following a rapid allocation to a beautiful room. The room lighting system remained a mystery it has to be said but other than that, everything was beyond our expectations. As such, we decided to splash out on a meal at the Orient Express speciality restaurant, which I shall review separately...it was truly a memorable meal and a great occasion. The breakfast buffet was amongst the best I have experienced in a hotel and lunch/dinner were also extremely good indeed and reasonably priced for what we had and where we were.

The grounds of the hotel are excellent, with an attractive and well maintained swimming pool, a cleverly constructed putting green and modern outdoor furniture servicing the pool areas and outdoor dining. Evening entertainment included an engaging male pianist and female singer, both of whom were good performers, most pleasant individuals and contributed well to the ambiance.

We found all staff most obliging and well trained, including those in the restaurant, the cleaners and grounds staff, reception staff and pool attendants. I'm sure the room rates are steep...however, for once, we certainly could see where the money was being spent...this is VERY good hotel and I would recommend it unreservedly. Thank you SITA and thank you Cruise 1st.

Room Tip: Facing the pool and gardens enables good sunset scenes from your windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your detailed feedback with respect to your two days stay at Taj Palace, New Delhi as part of your Pre-cruise tour. We have noted that you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us and were able to explore the various features of the hotel. I am glad to know that you had a memorable experience at the Orient Express, you found the buffet breakfast to be the best that you had ever experienced and the nice words for the swimming pool and most of all the staff are all well appreciated. Your feedback has been communicated to each one in the team and they are truly motivated.

We have also noted your feedback with regard to the lighting system in the room and the same has been conveyed to the Chief Engineer.

Thank you for patronizing Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits to us in the near future where we can yet again get another chance to delight you with our hospitality and service.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

As you would expect from a Taj hotel, in Taj Palace Delhi luxury and opulence is on show throughout the hotel. Superb friendly and well trained staff ensure your visit is comfortable and goes without a hitch. We stayed on three separate occasions and every room was excellent. The quality of finish to the rooms, bathrooms and the beds and bedding all create a feel of luxury. We had the best Indian meal of our 2 week tour at the hotel’s restaurant Masala Art, and particularly enjoyed the tour of the kitchens, making chapattis and the friendly warm staff there. We both thoroughly enjoyed the best breakfasts at the Taj Palace everything you can think of and more was available, fresh and delicious!
My only criticism is as a smoker, (whilst I completely support smoking away from other guests), I was restricted to a ‘smoking area’ round the back of the building beside what appeared to be the doors to the cleaning store, very unwelcoming, I’m sure another area of the extensive gardens could be offered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanp00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so happy that you tried out your hand at the live Kitchen counter at Masala Art. Masala Art also conducts a curated Spice Tour to Khari Bhouli - Asia’s largest spice market and brings you back to an Indian cookery Masterclass. Perhaps, you could try this out the next time.

I have also noted your comment with regard to the smoking area and we are working out a plan to make it a more agreeable space for smokers.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

One night en route spent here— for the last time to be sure! Completely over-the-top in its gaudy grandiosity, and its well-intentioned but excessive and obsequious help pushing elevator buttons, opening doors, etc. Isolated and remote from any easily & accessible alternatives for dining.

Main gripe: OUTRAGEOUSLY inflated prices for room and even for a simple meal!

Clean & cleverly designed small rooms, with marginally comprehensible lighting controls...

For what was provided, their ridiculously inflated costs have guaranteed them the permanent loss of these two return-visitors this lifetime....

Room Tip: (Go to another hotel.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfdrM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor. I have noted your comments and in the absence of relevant details, have been unable to complete our investigation on the issue of the pricing offered to you as well as the other service concerns that you expressed.

We remain deeply committed to providing excellence in service, attention to detail and warmth and courtesy by every associate (which includes elevator and door assistance).

We remain deeply grateful to you for your kind patronage and hope that we will get the relevant details of your stay to make the necessary corrections, as pointed out in your critique.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Taj Palace hotel in the capital of India makes India proud. A beautiful gem right in the heart of the city.

The rooms are superbly done and have a sense of luxury, style and comfort. The furnishing and ammenities in the room are beautiful and yet very contemporary.

The restaurants are fantastic and the service is extremely efficient. The breakfast spread is vast and the selection is very good and fairly international.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The club floor rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Taj Palace, Delhi.

I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

It is with great pride that I read your feedback. We are indeed very privileged to have such a wonderful location. Taj Palace is ideally located for those seeking a calm, serene and green surroundings as we are surrounded by reserve forest cover on two sides and Embassies on the other. We are the preferred choice for those in search of calm and serene environment in a safe and clean and the greenest part of the city, there is probably no equal to our unique location.

In addition, we are only fifteen minutes from the international airport, ten minutes from the Ministries, Presidential Palace and within Lutyens Delhi (city’s heritage quarter.)

I would also like to thank you for your very kind words for the interiors of our rooms, furnishings and the restaurants and overall the service from our staff which you found to be extremely efficient. I have passed on your feedback to all concerned and they are truly motivated.

We thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to the next opportunity of delighting you with our Taj hospitality, that we are very well known for.

With best regards,

Talinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
ITC Maurya, New Delhi
#11 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing