We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, good location, faultless good service, good food.”
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, good location, faultless good service, good food.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Excellent service, food , room & Health Club. Very much satisfied. The attitude & the behaviour of the staffs are really fantastic. To me this is the best hotel in India.swimming pool & health club is very good. Breakfast menu choice is really good.

Room Tip: View from both side of the hotel is good but I prefer room with Swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rongonneogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    632
    138
    40
    40
See reviews for
370
558
206
1,350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business, the staff are really attentive and helpful, the food in the restaurants is excellent try the Dal Makhani for a real treat. My room was well presented and upon returning from a 14 hour day in Delhi a bath with rose petals had been run and left for me. I couldn't fault a single thing at this hotel and it will be top of my list when I return in December with my family.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Between the period 2007 till recently in February 2014, I have stayed numerous times at this hotel that became a 'home away from home' during my frequent business trips over the years. Whilst I did try many hotels in Delhi over the period, I settled on Taj Palace to have a special feel to it despite it not being as fancy and modern as other hotels in the Chanakyapuri area. The service and food always lived up to the high standards. Consistency in quality of service has always been impressive. I always used to look forward to viewing the dense 'Delhi Trees' in the reserve forest area whenever I checked into the hotel; this is the view from most of the hotel rooms because of the elevation of the hotel. It is and will always be my favorite hotel in New Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh_Karani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

I have noted your kind compliments for the consistency in our services,the quality of food and the green surroundings . We are the preferred choice for those in search of calm and serene environment in a safe and clean and the greenest part of the city, there is probably no equal to our unique location.

While we thank you for the kind words, please be rest assured that your feedback has reached all of them. For us there is nothing better than getting to know that our guests have felt at home during their stay with us.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

To my shock, after years of visit to Taj group of hotels, I find the second time in a row a terrible customer service from them. Seems Taj Hotels also have got into rat race of growing fast, completely forgetting prime motive of customer experience.

I was today in Hotel Taj Palace in New Delhi to attend A Summit organised by one of the government of India as special invitee. I was made to run around between bell desks and conference room staff for keeping my bag in storage area.

On escalating to duty Manager, Vaneet, at Reception he said it's not a facility for non residents.

On my losing cool of why I was to made to run around then and what about customer service, he to my utter disbelief said that "Customer Service Comes Second."

This is the most shocking and rude behavior I have seen from any five star hotel. I know customer service is not priority for these hotels anymore as they seem to be doing well, however they saying on face to a regular customer, is pretty low.

I will never stay in this hotel. And one more incident with this group hotels, would make me take that decision for any Taj Hotels.

No one is customer service industry should take customers for granted anymore.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Delhichd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

After having read your comments, I was extremely taken aback and rather shocked as Taj Palace is most certainly not known to have and does not have any associate who can be blatant enough to state that ”customer service comes second”. I was therefore compelled to take assistance of our CCTV cameras to ascertain what transpired.

You approached the bell desk at 1216 hrs asking for your baggage to be stored while you attended the conference. Kindly note that at Taj Palace our conference facilities accommodate more than a 1000 people on any given day and taking care of baggage of Non Resident guests to that scale is simply not possible. The responsibility for organizing the baggage hold is left to the Conference Organizers. This is the standard practice and policy. Therefore, my colleagues correctly guided you to the Conference organizers while expressing their inability to store baggage for you. However, upon your insistence, the bell boy agreed to facilitate this as a special case at 1218 hrs.

At this stage you become visibly agitated and at some point became abusive in your language. Thereafter, our Duty Manager interrupted you and advised you to refrain from using unparliamentarily language. This has been validated and ascertained with the help of two of our resident and regular guests who were standing nearby, in the vicinity, during your conversation with the bell desk staff and the Duty Manager.

You also demanded to meet the General Manager of the hotel and I was with another delegation at that moment. Our Accommodations Manager – Mr. Aveek Sengupta spoke to you over the phone explaining the hotel policy and apologized for the inconvenience caused.

At Taj we have ladies and gentlemen who serve ladies and gentlemen and abusive behavior from guests is hardly acceptable.

That there is competition in the service industry is something that we are acutely aware of and that is why our service is second to none. However, this cannot be at the cost of the dignity of our hard working, sincere, polite and humble associates.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My daughter and me had booked the club room in Taj.
Right from the personalised check in to the housekeeping services - it was fantastic. We got complimentary transfers.
Location- Great. Suited us. Pretty area in the middle of the Diplomatic Enclave. Not sure if public transport is available nearby. We had our own car.
Rooms- The club suites facing the pool are fantastic.
Check in- Club members get the facility of a check-in in their rooms along with a welcome drink.
Dining- Breakfast was ample and it was a lavish spread. You would enjoy it. Just wish there was more variety of cheese
Hospitality- Gosh!!! We felt sooo special. There is round the clock valet service in club rooms. I was traveling alone with my daughter and we did feel like a maharani and a princess. From scented rose petals in my bath, flower bouquets for mothers day, gifts for my child and chocolate cake and chocolates on Mothers day - I don't think the hotel and housekeeping staff could have done more to make us feel special or welcome.
Please keep in mind that children under 12 are not allowed in the club lounge. Also, that internet is not included in the club rooms and you are only given limited free access in the lounge. ..
Also, you have to cross the main lobby to get to the pool.
Apart from that- This was a memorable stay and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Please choose club rooms facing the pool side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regard to your stay experience at Taj Palace, New Delhi.

I am delighted to read your kind compliments for our products and service especially the club room, housekeeping services, the breakfast spread etc. and that you felt special and thank you for the same. Your kind words have been communicated to all the concerned.

I have noted your comments with regard to internet charges and the route to be taken to reach the swimming pool. Taj Palace offers a complimentary internet facility for upto 30 minutes at no charge from it’s Business Centre wired connections and also from dedicated fixed stations at the club lounge. Apart from passing through the Lobby, you can also access the pool by taking the elevators to the mezzanine floor and reaching the pool through the Spa. This is for your information please.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed only one day in the Hotel to visit Delhi after 14 days in Kerala (club room)
It was really a pleasure to come back to a civil world with all facilities.
The hotel restaurants, bars, rooms and pool are excellent, The team is very helpful and ready to comply with every request.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for visiting the Taj Palace and I am delighted to know that you had a great experience.

Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent service, super friendly staff (especially Aamir at check - in), great restaurants, good location. The ambassador taxis waiting outside are of great convenience. Had a great time. What more could one ask for? Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sunny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Palace in the near future.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,040 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,761 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Property: Taj Palace Hotel
Address: | Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing