We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this a very fency hotel”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

this is a very fency hotel the rooms are big and confteble . there are club rooms

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

From first look the hotel could update the rooms and the grounds, but after our first night here I fell in love with the place. Even though the rooms are starting to age, they have everything you need, and then some, like a big tub and all the amenities. The service at the hotel is superb, as well as the buffet breakfast. Also the masala chai is the best I had in India. The lobby is also beautiful. Highly recommended if you want to stay somewhere nice in Delhi. Great location too. My only complaint was that you had to pay for internet and it's pricey, which is too bad for a hotel that caters to business travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saiyingpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This property offered such exceptional service and a standard that is second to none. In itself, staying here was an experience that exceeded my expectations.

Worth the spend to stay and enjoy Delhi here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Taj Club room for a personal butler, dedicated dining room, etc., etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eobBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is good for business or tourism. The rooms are a bit small especially given the price. The food and drinks are great but overpriced

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I made our first visit to India in Feb/March 2012. We stayed at the Taj Mahal New Delhi on our first and last nights and one night in the middle of the escorted tour. For the first two nights we had standard rooms overlooking the pool and garden and the last night we had a view towards the Presidential Palace and overlooking the gardens of Lutyens houses. The rooms were all fairly spacious with good bathroom facilities. The one on the last night looked a little 'tired'. The staff, particularly those on the concierge desk, were welcoming, efficient and made us feel as if we were long term guests. We were able to leave our London heavier clothes with housekeeping after our first night for collection before we went up to colder Shimlas. After our second stay we left some of our souvenir purchases with them - they were waiting for us in our room, with the luggage, when we returned for our last night. Buffet breakfast in the coffee shop was varied and extensive. Tea/coffee and pastries were served promptly at our table. We ate twice in the evening at the coffee shop. The food was not overly 'interesting' but well prepared and served without too long a wait - very convenient. On our last evening we had a drink in the bar. It was a little soulless as there was just one other couple in there but the duty manager spent time with us discussing our trip and sharing experiences of Shimla where he had worked at the hotel where we stayed. Overall a very relaxing place to stay in Delhi - great Indian servicee as one would expect from the Taj stable.

Room Tip: Try to have a room overlooking the pool and garden - very pretty lit at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank numberten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've been in some of the best hotels in India which is for me the best in the world. Not only for the unbelievable properties (some are genuine palaces) but especially for the fantastic service and level of trainning of those employees there. Taj Mahal Palace is one of the smallest properties of Taj Chain and conserves a nice intimacy for individual travellers. From the time I enter there, smelling a nice lemon grass fragrancy to the time you are leaving, I was completely enchanted by this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acymbalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed in suite 1030 for business. Comes with 2 king bedrooms, living area and pantry. Service was fantastic throughout. Staff are very professional and courteous. I thought this large accommodation provided good value for money in this very well appointed hotel. My only criticism is that the bathrooms and pantry looked very dated and tired. As others have commented: in dire need of a facelift. Everything else in this suite radiates elegance and style, original artwork everywhere, antique doors: one finds itself without any doubt in India. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0rtelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 728 in New Delhi
2,964 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 728 in New Delhi
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 728 in New Delhi
2,858 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#36 of 728 in New Delhi
4,092 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 728 in New Delhi
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#77 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#80 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £168 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing