We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staying at the Taj Mahal hotel itself is an experience and especially so when you are staying at one of the prime properties in the National capital. The lobby & the grand staircase is phenomenal. Having said this, the rooms are really not of the real Taj standard. As I have experienced in quite a few Taj properties, the rooms badly need an upgrade especially the interiors & the amenities. Surprised to see the old CRT TVs still making way at one of the finest hotel chains in India.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mukund_dusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Dusad,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We thank you for the valuable feedback and will definitely take corrective actions.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    491
    99
    42
    18
See reviews for
256
396
191
954
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What can I say. When you walk in to the hotel you feel like its a palace - expansive marble floors, painted art on the ceilings, and a lobby full of life. Amazing choice of restaurants and a very peaceful terrace space. Decent pool as well.

But the rooms are a big let down. They really need a modern uplift as they feel dull and dingy. The beds (linen etc) were great though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discostuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words.

I have shared your feedback with the entire team and look forward to your continued patronage of The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I have also taken note of your feedback and it will be shared with the respective team appropriately.

Warm regards
Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a very nice experience at the classy Taj Mansingh where I was staying after many years. From the room to the bathroom every thing had the little touches that mark them as a Taj property. A wooden slat to stand on as you shower to ensure you don't slip, roses in the room along with nail polish remover and a nail file, even the room service staff who advised a half portion as I was dining alone. Very warn service and I was charmed

Room Tip: I always ask for a non smoking room on a higher floor away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust-diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The service was absolutely commendable, I would go as far as saying it's the best service I have experienced during all my stays in several hotels in several countries and over several continents. Rooms were fantastic, pool side view from 11th floor was awe inspiring. If you are used to the finer things in life and don't mind paying extra for impeccable service this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I don't have words to express for all the smallest thing they take care I can't reneber I had any bad day or any bad memory in my more than 25 visit its wonderful I mean I try and fund out one mistakes but I can't I stayed in many star hotels in Delhi as well as many parts of India but this hotel is unbeatable its I feel above all in all the departments thanks a lot for your hospitality

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel has great location, it's close to centre, but is still rather quiet. The room was spacious and clean, and had a nice view (was on 11th floor). The hotel has a nice garden pool, with deep and shallow sides, sunbeds and excellent poolside service. The spa is divided into exclusively male and female sections, with each having proper saunas. The massage (full-body and foot) was great. The staff is highly professional, and is not pushing for tips, unlike in many other hotels in New Delhi. The breakfast choice was abundant, with both local and international meals. Surprisingly, the hotel charges for the use of wi-fi, which is annoying given its 5 stars and room rates.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Szabo,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

I have noted the feeback and shared with the team.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our first hotel stay in India after a long flight, this is the best hotel one should think of when coming to New Delhi.The rooms are fantastic and food was amazing especially their Indian speciality restaurant Vark. The service was impeccable up to date. We were also greeted by beautiful ladies on arrival in an Indian traditional way. We would like to thank everyone in this hotel for making our stay much more enjoyable. We have no hesitation in recommending Taj Mahal Delhi hotel to our friends for their future travel to India.

Room Tip: We stayed at the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenUSA1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing