We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the price”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I used to dine frequently in the coffee shop of the taj and in other restaurants, that's when I cared to join their loyalty program and decided to book a room to stay for one one night and forget all tension and true to its reputation it did not let me down.

had a wonderful time and Ricks the bar is amazing place to just chill and have a few drinks with your mates

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rajssab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,954 - 1,960 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

An absolute must stay in delhi.
Everything is exceptionally brilliant here.
Has the wasabi and other renowned restaurants.
rooms are lovely and client service is very good

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Family74Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

The hotel is practically located, close to Conaught Circle, but with no facilities in the direct vicinity.
My room was upgraded to a mini-suite, which meant a series of small connected rooms on the inside of the hotel, with most windows looking to the hallway (not directly outside).
Apart from 2 flatscreen tv's, which some will see as a luxury, the rooms were a bit outdated with the most uncomfortable chairs one can find.
The gym had 2 modern treadmills and 2 cross trainers, but had no staff present, maybe because the smell was so bad that I left after 10 minutes.
The bar was empty and looked like one of those places where 6 staff come to you to help you, after which no one will remember to bring your order (you must have experienced this before).
Finally, the breakfast area resembled more a youth hostel with (again) these flatscreens with the morning news in hindi. Not great if you want a quit breakfast.
Overall, on all points, the hotel scored very poorly, despite price of over INR 9000 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarcelinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I had visited Delhi long time back and stay at Taj hotel. my experience with the hotel was very good.

Complete value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rohit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Hi my name is sandeep and m frm delhi i hav lived in delhi for since i born i hav good experience of many hotels but the taj was very special for me i hav purchase a mobile with a coupen for prize 3 night and 4 days for living in "Taj Mahal Hotel". In my whole life i hav never seen hotel like this the place, gardning ,areas an lots more things i lived "Taj Mahal Hotel" for 3 night an 4 days with my whole family an my house was locked in those days the staff was very nice with smart dressup with smile. Those days i hav knowledge about how it made its beauty an also the food was exellent an very delicious. The staff of taj treat us like a king.
Overall the "Taj Mahal Hotel" exiperience was realy very nice and i suggest to all people that pls when u came in delhi u must saw the "Taj Mahal Hotel".
Thank You

Stayed: March 2009
Thank DelhiPplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I found the Taj to be excellent in service, but the hotel is just grossly over priced. The food is great, and the pub at Ricks is excellent for us middle aged people. At half the price, I would recommend it strongly. Hopefully the commonwealth game will introduce new supply of hotel rooms and reduce the rents at this hotel too.

Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
Thank Sandeep2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

A Memoriable Experience. The Rooms are very clean. Stayed in one of the Club Rooms.

The Service is remarkable and the Taj is really a Memoriable Experience.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank World_Tabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,076 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,114 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,309 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 779 in New Delhi
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £171 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing