We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed in”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have stayed in”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was one of the best hotels that we have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome and important, even though we were not staying in an expensive suite. We were given a great room with a pool view, which I would recommend requesting. The room was a good size and came with a small couch and coffee table for relaxing. The bathroom was very large, with both a stand-up shower cubicle and a separate bath with shower. There were plenty of towels and great toiletries.

The bed was comfortable and there was a great selection of English-language channels on the television, as well as a DVD player and complimentary DVD rental service.

We used the pool on both of the days we were staying there, and received complimentary chilled mineral water while we were sunbathing. It was also possible to order drinks as there was a waiter service, and we were also given complimentary fruit kebabs.

One of the best things about this hotel is the bars and restaurants. On our first night we went first of all to Ricks bar, where we had martinis. The staff were most helpful and booked a table in the Chinese restaurant for us, and also gave us complimentary cocktails to try! The food in House of Ming is the best Chinese food we have ever tasted…it was simply incredible, and there we ordered food and were also given some complimentary dishes to try which were beautiful.

On our final evening we ordered room service, which did not disappoint. My husband ordered a curry and it was lovely and came with complimentary poppadoms, and then when we had finished they returned with complimentary Indian desserts.

We really enjoyed Delhi, but would return just to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    491
    99
    42
    18
See reviews for
256
396
191
954
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
274 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Definitely my first choice when in New Delhi, a bit pricey, perfect service, comfortable clean rooms, very good varity of food for breakfast, spacious gym, affordable internet access, and good location. Beware of the touts with the 3-wheelers outside of the hotel who always (!) will tell you that Khan market is closed, on the other hand even though I never took their service I have a lot of fun with them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Very flexible management. We had 9 in our group. We called Friday at 3pm looking for a place to stay that night. During this season they had a discount on the rooms. Warning: Luxury tax in India dictates that the tax be applied to published room rate, not the rate you actually pay. Anyway, the manager gave our whole group a very late check out the following day so we could all have fresh showers before being on a plane for 16 hours.

Room service was good. Great selection and variety of food available. Decent prices considering a 5-star hotel. Didn't particularly like my meal. But plenty of food. Dining in the restaurants was very good. Food quality was good. Again, prices what you would expect for a 5-star hotel.

Rooms were well equipped. Bathrooms were very nice. Beds super comfortable. Not Indian style mattresses.

We ordered a short tour of Delhi. The car was excellent and the driver was professional. The tour operator was good and I'd use him again. Another misunderstanding in the car charge. I had to pay an extra 500 Rs for going over the mileage limit - even though that was never explained to me and the tour was only 3 hours instead of 4.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usatrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karnal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

it was an average experience...but have traffic in the locality ...

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goru_pruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Location:
Taj Mahal Hotel is situated at one of the best localities in New Delhi. It is very close to the Diplomatic centre of Delhi. Khan Market is the best Place to shop Near by. Also there are 3 to 4, five star hotels giving you a plenty of options to dine and wine. Close to the city center conought place. Location: 5 star

Hotel:
Hotel is supposed to be one of the best, it has 4-5 Restaurants, you have a real multi cuisine option. Varq, (The Restaurant) the specialty of Chef Hemant Oberoi is a signature restaurant here. Also the hotel has everything that a 5 star hotel should have gym, pool, Jiva Spa.....so on. The lobby is simply amazing. The hotel has its own armada of luxury cars. The infrastrucutre of this hotel though a little old is upto the mark. You would not need to go our anywhere to find anything, you'll get everything at the hotel.

Room:
The standard room that i stayed in is actually pretty descent and spacious. 350 sqft to be precise. The rooms are subtle and elegant with a lot of functionality. You can even custom design you bed with the choice of Cushions, linens etc provided by the hotel. The bath is fairly OK. All standard rooms are equipped with fax machines, a great utility for a business traveler. All in all great satisfying experience.

Service:
This is what i would like to talk about, they make you feel as a Head of the state, Check in procedure is really fast, in fact you are first taken directly to your room and then all the other procedures are completed. Excellent staff, really helpful and smiling makes you feel warm and comfortable. In room dining is a treat, they set your table in an utmost delightful manner. There was a small problem i faced during my stay was when the evening turn down service was not done. On complaining the same was done in minutes, the hotel even took the pains in finding out why such an error had happened 5 days later the front office manager called me at my residence apologizing for the same and promising of it not happening again. This shows the sheer dedication and commitment of the staff members. Excellent business services are available at the hotel. The concierge too is efficient and quick.

All in all I would give the hotel a big ***** for excellent service quality. This is truly the Best Taj property. Taj lives upto its reputation, TAJ MAHAL is a truly luxurious experience.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aashil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I travel to Delhi for business quite often. The place where I always stay is Taj Mahal Delhi. The rooms are beautiful & luxurious. Why i feel this hotel is great because of the service level. The guy near the lift remembers you name & floor. Greets you every time with a big smile. Their bar is really good. The club floor is really exciting.
The only drawback of this hotel is the food. The swimming pool area is really nice & peaceful.

  • Liked — Service & pool scene
  • Disliked — Food Food Food
  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mihirsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

it started with the lights in teh room not working...but thats ok as that can happen and they reacted quickly to move me out in 5 minutes....the fun began when i ordered the dinner and they sent warm white wine...yups.... and they could not udnerstand what i was complaining about... after which they figured and sent me the wrong wine although to be fair it was chilled now !!!
the less said about the FARCE of security checks the better
but all said since it is a Taj property i will try them one more time as maybe it was just me..... though this goes to show again that the shangrila is the only safe bet in terms of consistent service

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeevMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing