We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This was a fantastic hotel which oozed decadence. We had stayed in Taj hotels elsewhere in India and had similar experiences but this one topped the lot.
The resturants were varied and wonderful.
My young children were well looked after and catered for.
You were greated with freshly squeezed juice in your room, as you arrived. Belgian chocolates and other luxuries.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    485
    96
    40
    17
See reviews for
252
390
188
939
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

We arrived at 4am after a 13 hour drive due to a cancelled flight. We were quickly & efficiently checked in by extremely well trained & friendly staff. The room was lovely & luxurious. Included breakfast was excellent. The swimming pool was large enough for sensible use & the hotel had every amenity one might expect from a genuine 5 star hotel. The bar was expensive but very good. The only Indian restaurant in the hotel served pretentious nouvelle cuisine type food which was amusing, if expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

My wife and I stayed in Taj Mahal Hotel on the 27th and 28th Nov. We reached the airport around 4 AM in the morning. The airport pickup car was already there and our ride to the hotel was smooth. Immediately upon arrival to the hotel we were greeted by a receptionist outside. Our luggage was taken by the bell boys for security screening and we were told they will be brought straight to our room. Sunita showed us to our room. The in – room check in was one of the smoothest check in I have ever had. The room was nice with very comfortable bed and a brilliant city view- overlooking the India Gate. The flat screen 42 inch TV kept us entertained whenever we needed it. As part of the Taj club lounge access we were treated to complimentary tea/coffee, soft drinks all day. At certain times of the day they had free sandwiches and savories etc and in the evenings a selection of cocktails (all complimentary). Just remember that Taj Club lounge is on the 8th floor. This was something that wasn’t told to us during check in. So if your room includes taj club lounge make sure you ask about it during check in. The hotel’s lobby was very impressive with very nice décor. The swimming pool is huge and is attended at all times by cleaning staff. The hotel staffs are very friendly. From the security guards to the managers people showed genuine interest in us. Breakfast was very good as well and included a wide variety of choices from Indian to continental and fruits and yogurt.
Overall I must say that you get your money’s worth when staying in the Taj Mahal Hotel. Only negative thing that I can point out is that they charge you for using the Wi-Fi, which I believe should be free for guests staying at the hotel. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who loves luxury but is not afraid to spend a little extra to get it. A definitely 5 ***** experience.
PS : Thanks to all the staff for introducing India to my wife.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malaybose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We had 3 nights at the Taj as our starting point in India.It was great. The room was lovely (club level) and very clean. The room was serviced twice a day and fresh fruit and nibbles were always replenished.The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was so refreshing after long days sightseeing! The concierge organised a driver each day to take us sightseeing. This was very inexpensive, and such a great way to get around (about $30AUD for 4 hours).Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I stayed here a few days while sight-seeing in Delhi. As I've come to expect from the Taj chain, this hotel was great. The rooms were large and comfortable; mine included a nice view of the capital. The bed was soft. The bathroom was large, with a separate tub and walk-in shower. There are a couple of fantastic restaurants inside the hotel, including a Chinese placer and a sushi place. The service was impeccable, with people available to help me with all of my needs. Best of all, there is a huge, deep pool in the back of the hotel. It was perfect for swimming and lounging...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPLSKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirsa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

A great hotel with its very good services, and delighted interiors of the room as well as outdoor. Very nice food and its varities are so good. No hotel is as like TAJ. BUt it is costly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bansal200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel several times for varying numbers of nights, using it as a base for short trips from Delhi. The service was friendly without being over familiar - there was a feel of a 'family' hotel. In spite of the size and busy-ness of the hotel, staff quickly learnt my name and routinely addressed me by name from the doormen up. Similarly, staff in the various restaurants and cafes quickly learnt my likes and dislikes.
My room was comfortable, always spotless and the views over New Delhi are fantastic. The calm, friendly but always professional atmosphere provided a welcome escape from the pressures of Delhi in monsoon season.
The main India restaurant, Varq, is worth a visit in its own right. A 'fine dining' restaurant, presenting traditional Indian food with a modern twist, staff are happy to advise on which selections will work well together and will discuss which dishes are hot, mild etc frankly and honestly.
Potentially stressful situations were quickly resolved: laptop failing to interface with wifi - a technician came to my room to sort ot the problem within minutes, car booking overlooked (I had alot of cars, I'm not surprised that one slipped through the net), no problem, cars are available 24 hours a day, I still arrived at the airport in plenty of time for my flight with the minimum of fuss. As the person who is usually dealing with someone else's crisis, it was genuinely refreshing to stay here.
I'm trying to work out how soon I can get back...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing