We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but I'm not impressed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but I'm not impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

This hotel looks very good and service is very nice. I have never saw so many people hired to do something in a hotel. You have a feeling that there is 3 persons at every moment ready to do something for you. But I guess that's similar to other places in India.

We had one issue with a guy from reception desk. He told us that we can check out until 9 PM and that we will pay 50% of the room rate. When we checked out at 8.30 PM another guy told us that our company rate requires to leave rooms until 8 PM otherwise we have to pay fool rate. We complained of course but they were not ready to find a solution. Of course we didn't know the name of the guy ho told us 9PM when we arrived at 4AM few days before.
At the end they gave us airport transfer for free which is still a lot cheaper then one night in this expensive hotel.
Food is nice. Rooms are big. A little bit old but clean.
In total, it's nice experience but hotel should have redecoration soon or decrease prices a little bit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EstebanBelgrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,280
    472
    90
    39
    16
See reviews for
243
381
184
919
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
639 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Taj Mahal of Delhi is centrally located.
The reception is excellent and the staff is very kind. The rooms are functional, though maybe the furniture is a bit 'dated.
The lobby and other common areas are spacious, clean and comfortable, ideal for relaxing or do some small business meeting.
Wide choice of restaurants and great food.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigrotto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhatinda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Taj is one of best 5 star hotels in delhi, rooms are very exquisite and service is also good, restaurant has silver crockery which is too heavy but looks very royal.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mohit_2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

i attend a seminar in hotel followed by dinner party ....location wise hotel is very good...foor quality and service was excellent....hotel is beautifully made and worht living...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ankitagarwal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Taj is a very good hotel and I like services and cleanleness.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlokAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

I really loved this hotel. The level of service and friendliness of the staff was about the best I've ever experienced anywhere. Room was very comfortable, brightly lit, nice bathroom amenities and very good insulation. The food in the main restaurant and room service was outstanding. I had an aryuvedic treatment in the spa, which was great. It's in a... like to visit again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANKS4UALWAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

This is a beautiful hotel, with great staff and amenities. However, it is very expensive for drinks and food - and there is little option close by the hotel unless you taxi and/or know the area. I love the fact they have a pillow menu though! Surprisingly, after 3 nights in Dehli, we found there was no western style shopping to be had.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We have noted your comments on pricing of food & beverage which you felt expensive. However, we will certainly share the same with our Corporate team for a review.

I wonder if you were told about Khan Market, one of the good shopping areas for foreigners as well as locals, which is 7 minutes walk from the hotel. In case you plan to return we will be happy to offer you shopping options.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Digvijay Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#24 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing