We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel and good location”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed at Taj Mahal, New Delhi on several occasions during business trips to the city. The hotel is very centrally located near the Khan market Enclave and serves as a good stop for business travellers. In recent times, other hotels such as Shangri La etc have sprung up closer to Connaught circle so Taj may have lost out on the location advantage.

I like this hotel as it is predictable Taj quality - worldclass. I usually got an upgrade due to my Taj innercircle card and my frequent stays at this hotel. The bar is a great place to hang out after work and has Delhi's hip crowd during weekends.

The breakfast at the coffee shop is the usual 5 star spread with a mix of western and Indian dishes. I always find the internet in Taj properties to be prohibitive specially for a business hotel - almost $ 30 - 40 per day with taxes.

The rooms were always tastefully equipped but I hated the push button master control for the drapes, lights etc - why do hotels experiment with these fancy fittings which travellers need to get used to in short stays??!! Switching on the light in the middle for the night using these master controls are such a nuisance.

On weekends, I would walk to Khan Market area for shopping and for some local cafes. Khan market has several lifestyle and book stores.

I would always ask the hotel to arrange my airport transfers as Delhi airport can be unnerving for getting public transport.

Overall a good hotel but pricing steep: approx +200 USD + airport transfers.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2010

We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We have noted your comments on the master control for the drapes & lights which you felt inconvenient for short stays and will certainly share your feedback with our Corporate Project team for a review.

We also acknowledge your feedback on the internet charges and would like to clarify that we have tied up with an outside agency to provide us with the internet service in the hotel hence you may have noticed that the internet is on a chargeable basis. However, this is as per the prevailing rate offered by comparable hotels in the city for the similar services.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Digvijay Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,875 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

I stayed for a night in the Taj Mahal with my wife at the end of a week-long trip to India, having stayed there before on business. We chose a Club Room to get the extra level of service.
When the Taj Mahal Hotel opened in the 1970s it must have been out of this world. Today, though, there are plenty of good five-star hotels in New Delhi, and they make the Taj seem decidedly dated.
The service is the best feature of the Taj; there are plenty of staff members and they are very helpful and accommodating. The rooms small-ish, comfortable and old-fashioned, so if you are a business traveller used to high-end business hotels then you might be disappointed.
There is a very large outdoor swimming pool and a small gym; the changing facilities are rather limited so change in your room if you can.
One of the stand-out features of the Taj is Varq, its high-end Indian restaurant. It serves modern Indian cuisine and we had an absolutely knock-out meal here. Highly recommended.
The Club facilities are adequate. The Club Lounge is small, but the service is terrific. The afternoon High Tea served here is recommended, as are evening cocktails. One particular disappointment is that broadband internet is not included in the Club room rate; as this is an expensive hotel to begin with, having to pay extra for broadband is an annoyance.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We have noted your comments on the ambience & décor of the rooms, pricing of wi-fi and facilities at the Gym which you felt not upto the mark. However, we will certainly take it further with our Corporate team.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Digvijay Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

the hotel was quite nice and staff was freindly.enjoyed the meal at the machan restaurant and adjoining bar ricks was quite a nice place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankit183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Its a excellent hotel in Delhi with excellent service excellent food. Overall a very excellent hotel in Delhi.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MukeshPatna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We treated ourselves to one night at the Taj Mahal at the end of our month in India and it was an amazing experience. The Taj epitomizes a five-star experience in every way - every member of the staff from bellboys to housekeeping to the reception workers dote on you from the moment you walk into the Taj. The rooms are exquisite, with luxurious bedding, beautiful views, and all kinds of five-star amenities. The breakfast buffet was exceptional (we actually sat directly next to Michael Douglas, who was in town scouting locations for his new film), as was the meal we had at Wasabi, the Japanese restaurant run by Morimoto (the Iron Chef).

We spent Saturday night hanging out at Rick's, a very popular bar and restaurant that turns into a nightclub after about 10 PM and the food and drinks there were outstanding as well (though pricey - expect about 400-600 Rs per drink). Use of the spa facilities (sauna, steam room, etc.) is complimentary and I highly recommend taking advantage of this perk. We ordered some champagne and snacks through room service, and they came in with a fully set table that they set up next to our window, which looked out over the hotel gardens and pool. It was absolutely perfect.

We found a discounted rate online using their website and going with the "last-minute deal" they offered, which wound up being around 10000 Rs. Obviously this isn't somewhere you go if you're sticking to a budget, but if you are looking to splurge and treat yourself to some luxury, this is the place to do it - the Taj met and exceeded our expectations in every way! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Luxury in solitary confinement - boring, nothing to see or to engage with. A tranquilizer - makes you leave immediately when you're an active person. On the positive side, it's clean and doesn't stink as you enter the main door.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

It was a bautiful dream .The hotel was cosy , elegant & inredibly quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjunagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,076 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,115 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,310 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 779 in New Delhi
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £171 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing