We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegence and Hospitality at its best”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegence and Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Taj Mahal, New Delhi is the best hotel in the world. Its world class elegence, comfort and hospitality. The look of the lobby is so elegend and sophiticated. The staff is one of the best in the world. Right from the door man to the general manager everyone knows me by name and knows all my needs. This makes my stay very comfortable. Lately I noticed that its room service is not what it used to be. But still it is the best i have ever experienced. The rooms have excellent views of the city. Some of the new rooms have great bathrooms with glass chambers for showers and glass windows overlooking the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    504
    100
    45
    18
See reviews for
261
403
196
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We visited India in February, 2010 from USA. Being in USA for the past 40 years, my children, who are adults now and my wife and I are very particular about the cleanliness, especially the bath rooms and the decor of the entire hotel and the variety of food being served. With all this in mind, we took a chance to book into The Taj, and much beyond our expectations, we were surprised that Taj had outdone our requirements. It was very clean, the service, both at the Reception, at the Restaurant and the Room Service were exceptionally professional, courteous, well-dressed. We have no qualms about staying at the Taj, whenever we visit India from USA next time.

Please convey our thanks and congratulations to the management of Taj.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chananthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2010
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Sure it's at an awesome location, it's a Taj flagship property in the heart of Delhi, it has great restaurants and it has some nice amenities. But what really exalts this hotel to a completely different league is its service and people.
This hotel sets the bar for service so high, that staying at any other top tier hotel afterwards takes a painful adjustment process. The best part is that the Taj service doesn't feel forced and obsequious (as it does at some other properties that try to replicate the model of this mother ship), but rather seems to come from the heart. Unfortunate that one can't rate higher than five stars on "Service"!

If you get the time, do remember to try out it's friendly modern gym and scenic outdoor swimming pool, in addition to other amenities.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Great place to stay in the centre of Delhi! Rooms are very good and they maintain a high level of cleaniness in all areas. Breakfast is superb with lots of choice and live counters. A perfect place to start from and retire when on a hectic business trip or liesure. Really could'ny fault anything here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

i decided to check this hotel in 2009 as solo visiter
A good choice for business travel - being on expenses helps a bit with the price tag. Not overly expensive, but of course it depends on the room you book. Service and ammenities are very good, and dining choices are good, in particular the "House of Ming" Chinese restaurant. A good base for sightseeing, with car services available.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed at the Taj Mahal in mid June 2010.

Outstanding hotel with 5 star service in every respect. If in Delhi I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

The Taj Mahal, New Delhi, is a fine hotel, but I had just arrived from the Taj Mahal Palace and Towers and hence I could not help feeling slightly disappointed.

The front desk staff were very gracious and attentive. I was presented with red roses to acknowledge my birthday. We stayed in room 108 with a view of the garden. Due to the fact that we were not on Club Level we did not have such luxury items such as Molton Brown products or a Butler. However, everyone went out of their way to provide exceptional service. I did want to use the Spa, but only gave them 2 hours notice, hence, they were unable to accommodate me. Therefore, please take this into consideration and book ahead.

The hotel was everything that you would expect, however, I felt that it did lack 'warmth'. It is an excellent option for a business hotel. However, for leisure, I might consider trying another one in Delhi, just to be in a position to make a comparison.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,741 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,695 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 716 in New Delhi
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing