We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed at the Taj for a couple of nights as part of an Conference delegation. What struck me was the impeccable service standards in this hotel: an Institution by itself really. The breakfast at Machan was pleasant and had a huge spread. We had lunch at the Varq: the Indian restaurant. It is worth visiting at least once. The kebabs were quite scrumptious!!!! There was no shortcoming really as everything was picture perfect: the only hitch was that the table side control panel for lighting "hung" for sometimes but was restored immediately on complaining.

I would love to repeat my stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

I had a great experience staying in this prestigious hotel. The rooms and the hotel architecture is excellent . The food is great. It is worth its price. The hotel has a great variety amities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rao_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had a one night stay here... The Taj Mahal hotel is one of the most costliest 5 star hotel in delhi...

The interiors of the room were very well done..However the room was not as great as what I was expecting from a Taj hotel...Somehow I felt that it was not worth the money I was paying..There are other 5 star options in delhi which provide similar options at comparatively less price...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sindbad_the_sail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2010

We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We have noted your comments on the ambience & décor of the rooms which you felt not upto the mark. However, we will certainly take it further with our Corporate team.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed here for three days on 14th floor. The rooms were comfortable and nicely kept. The decor of the hotel is inspired by mogul times I think. The location is pretty central, however quite far from the airport. But the airport itself is ot of the city, so its ok. For me the staff makes or breaks the hotel. And here the staff was superfriendly. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone for a personal/business trip.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

this was my first stay in a luxury hotel in Delhi and i just loved it, i was with family and stayed for 2 days! the hotel has a pub in the lobby which is usually full.. its walking distance from the famous Khan Market which is not to be missed, if you can afford it . this is the place!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anujdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Taj Mahal, New Delhi is the best hotel in the world. Its world class elegence, comfort and hospitality. The look of the lobby is so elegend and sophiticated. The staff is one of the best in the world. Right from the door man to the general manager everyone knows me by name and knows all my needs. This makes my stay very comfortable. Lately I noticed that its room service is not what it used to be. But still it is the best i have ever experienced. The rooms have excellent views of the city. Some of the new rooms have great bathrooms with glass chambers for showers and glass windows overlooking the city.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2010

We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We visited India in February, 2010 from USA. Being in USA for the past 40 years, my children, who are adults now and my wife and I are very particular about the cleanliness, especially the bath rooms and the decor of the entire hotel and the variety of food being served. With all this in mind, we took a chance to book into The Taj, and much beyond our expectations, we were surprised that Taj had outdone our requirements. It was very clean, the service, both at the Reception, at the Restaurant and the Room Service were exceptionally professional, courteous, well-dressed. We have no qualms about staying at the Taj, whenever we visit India from USA next time.

Please convey our thanks and congratulations to the management of Taj.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chananthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,032 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,055 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 777 in New Delhi
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £160 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing