We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent,no complaints”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent,no complaints”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights. Our rooms were clean, comfortable beds, excellent showers with great water pressue and plenty of hot water. The rooms looked as if they had been recently renovated. Plenty of bottled water was provided as were those free chocolates that I like to receive when on vacation in a nice hotel. The obvious security was reassuring. We ate lunch at the main hotel restaurant and had excellent Indian food. In fact, the local residents would also come to have lunch there. We ate dinner twice at a nearby restaurant, Gulatti, which was clean, inexpensive and had oustanding food. The hotel shop was outrageously expensive for imperfect local crafts. The pashmina shawls are less expensive outside of India. Finally, this is very much a business hotel where the majority of guests are business people. We chose to stay here based on positive Tripadvisor reviews. We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We have noted your comments on the hotel shop which you felt was expensive. However, we will certainly take it further with our Corporate team.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    491
    99
    42
    18
See reviews for
256
396
191
955
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The hotel meets the standard of a five star hotel. The service is excellent, everybody is very friendly and willing to help (sometimes it felt a bit much). The rooms are large with good amenities but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acostin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I booked three nights based on tripadvisor reviews. The hotel was a refuge providing rest and relaxation after long days sightseeing in and around Delhi. The location was central but quiet. The reception and lobby were well appointed, the on-site restaurants offered varied and tasty cuisine, and the room was very comfortable. Service was excellent - the staff went to great lengths to anticipate my needs. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdr026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed at the Taj for a couple of nights as part of an Conference delegation. What struck me was the impeccable service standards in this hotel: an Institution by itself really. The breakfast at Machan was pleasant and had a huge spread. We had lunch at the Varq: the Indian restaurant. It is worth visiting at least once. The kebabs were quite scrumptious!!!! There was no shortcoming really as everything was picture perfect: the only hitch was that the table side control panel for lighting "hung" for sometimes but was restored immediately on complaining.

I would love to repeat my stay again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ap
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I had a great experience staying in this prestigious hotel. The rooms and the hotel architecture is excellent . The food is great. It is worth its price. The hotel has a great variety amities.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rao_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had a one night stay here... The Taj Mahal hotel is one of the most costliest 5 star hotel in delhi...

The interiors of the room were very well done..However the room was not as great as what I was expecting from a Taj hotel...Somehow I felt that it was not worth the money I was paying..There are other 5 star options in delhi which provide similar options at comparatively less price...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sindbad_the_sail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We have noted your comments on the ambience & décor of the rooms which you felt not upto the mark. However, we will certainly take it further with our Corporate team.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed here for three days on 14th floor. The rooms were comfortable and nicely kept. The decor of the hotel is inspired by mogul times I think. The location is pretty central, however quite far from the airport. But the airport itself is ot of the city, so its ok. For me the staff makes or breaks the hotel. And here the staff was superfriendly. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone for a personal/business trip.

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing