We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Experience of the mughal heritage”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

A luxurious hotel, situated in the prime location easily accessible from delhi airport. As you enter the hotel the grand experience of its heritage begins, i was impressed with the well decorated lobby, its high standard of hostitality and amenties offered.
Rooms were well decorated and view of central delhi was beautiful.
Cheerful and efficient staff, dining at Machan was a experience in itself, quick service and great food.
All in all a luxurious stay , expensive though but totally worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokendranath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

Taj Mahal Hotel, situated at Mann Singh Road, New Delhi offers a unique heritage of mughal culture & traditions. Its exclusively designed interiors gives you a traditional feeling of being yourself in palace of your dreams. Taj also offers you a variety of traditional mughal dishes & spa.

Overall,a good place to stay and spend time with family & friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ND_ADVISOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Regards

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We arrange a party here and its good, very nice facility, all staff is so good and cooperative. Like to here once again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samresh1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

it is excellent hotel in the terms of comfort.i went here with my family and had a lot of fun there.it is very expensive and very very famous hotel.i had found agreat fun to stay there.very good services very good rooms and is extremely good in the case of cleaniness

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prabhakar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed in the Taj Mahal Hotel for 3 nights at the start of our stay and 2 nights at the end of our stay. Overall it is a great hotel. The lobby is stunning as are all the amazing artefacts which are sympathetically displayed. We had a few hiccups on our first stay, but at the end of the trip we were put in a renovated room which was absolutely stunning. Had we been in this room from the start we would give them 5 stars. The Restaurant Varq is one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten in. Stunning contemporary Indian cuisine. Amazing decor, fabulous staff and a lovely chef who comes and speaks to you. We had our first and last meals in India in this restaurants, and on the last night they made it incredibly special. I would definitely recommend a stay here. One person deserves special mention, but I'm gutted I cannot remember his name. One of the security guards stands at the lift and gave us such warm welcomes every time we went up in the lift. He was also the only who welcomed us back to the Taj Mahal Hotel. He remembered which floor we were staying in and always had the correct button in the elevator pressed by the time we went in.....a truly lovely guy. Great pool also.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi. We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Regards

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Great food and rooms. Try out Varq and their contemporary Indian delicacies.....

Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
Thank Rohit_Anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for business and had a good opportunity to try it out. We were VIP guest so the welcome at the hotel was exquisite. We given flowers, and escorted to the room, receive welcome drink by order (good mint tee, served perfectly). Rooms are very very nice, with everything one needs (pillow menu - 10 different kinds of pillows, soaps, conditioners and all needed bathroom stuff, laundry bags, complementary shoe shine, twice a day room cleaning, 2 different daily newspapers, good night rug service, slippers, complementary water twice a day,... and much more -- seriously everything one can even dream of.) Oh, one more thing: my scale was broken, so I called guest services to repair it... it was taken care of in less than 10 minutes.

Reception, very good, kind receptionists, also concierge. Only: for check out they make you go to a different desk to pay and then go back to reception desk,... a little bit confusing.

I did not try their pool or spa, but my colleagues told me it is very nice.

Restaurants:

1) Machan (open 24/7): simply one of the best breakfasts that I have ever had. Of course with Indian flavor, but all continental things to choose from, omelets, corrosions of several different kinds, yogurt, and the best: fresh fuit, especially MANGO. Only missing thing for a 5-star hotel: a glass of champaign for breakfast, but I can live without that. Oh, and coffee was better than in many hotels in europe. Seriously good!

3) Ricks: good mood lighting, good selection, a bit overprices and all staff was competing who will serve a fancy VIP group that came, while forgetting the there were other guest there too... but it happens.

4) House of Ming: Good food, nicely furnished restaurant, but service could be more Chinese... not so european. Still: good food.

5) The Grill Room: we had a private dinner there, Indian Food: simply one word: THE BEST EVER. Congrats guys, this is really good food up there on the top floor. And the view is amazing.

Only one negative thing:
In a 5-star hotel, I expected to have unlimited access to Fee High Speed Internet at all times, not that I have to sign in all the time and pay 12 EUR per day. Come on, you are 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIMaroungtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMDNewDelhi, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

We thank you for your positive feedback on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We have also noted your keen observations on your experience at our various restaurants and your suggestion for complimentary internet access which we have shared with the entire team at the hotel.

We value your patronage and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Nayan Seth
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 727 in New Delhi
2,952 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 727 in New Delhi
2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 727 in New Delhi
2,851 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 727 in New Delhi
4,083 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 727 in New Delhi
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £162 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing