We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Park New Delhi
Ranked #55 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

Hotel is waaaaaay overpriced for what you get. The Park Hotel was a minor step-up from a hostel. I will say that I think this is the case with many of the supposedly 'nice' hotels in Delhi. There are just very few (if any) mid-range hotels. I paid approx 250 USD, for a room that in the US would have cost less than 100 USD. For what I had come to expect in Asia, this place should have cost less than 50 USD.

Decorations are simple and pretty, and the hotel looks clean and fresh, but the room is tiny, and the water quality is bad! Water did not seem clean, and after showering, I always had a satly residue film on my entire body. Towels were dingy, and floor was not sparkling clean.

Again, this was not a bad place, but for what I paid, I wish I had just gone to the Taj. The hotel seems to be in a safe area. I am a female, and I was traveling alone. There are a lot ot men that loiter around the hotel, just not on the property per se. There was a bank/ATM next to the hotel, I was able to go there with minor harassment. I was also able to walk over to the mini-shopping center, again with some harassment, but not too much.

Breakfast buffet was nice and flat screen tv had a nice picture, but too few channels. Hotel charges ridiculous fees to use their internet. At these prices, at least 1 free hour should be available to all hotel guests.

  • Liked — breakfast buffet, bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — dirty water and much, much too expensive
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lirecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    801
    549
    251
    160
See reviews for
401
521
283
1,041
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

At checkout - all guests find out that there has been a 12.5% luxury tax applied to their bill which is standard in India. The SCAM is that The Park applies the 12.5% tax to the RACK RATE not the room rate that we were charged. Our nightly rate was $168, but the luxury tax applied was based on a $300 room rate. For two nights, this was more than $75. This tax situation is never mentioned when you book your room or when you check in, you find out when you check out.

We also stayed at The Imperial Hotel in Delhi - and they are doing the same SCAM to their customers, but in their case we were charged 12.5% of a $450 rack rate (over $100 for two nites), when our room rate was $189.

This proves that the RACK RATES are randomly assigned and have no basis in reality. The hotel staffs say that everyone who checks out has the same bad reaction. Who wouldn't? This is unacceptable from any hotel, especially on this level.

We will be reporting this unacceptable situatiuon to New York Times, Conde Nast Traveler and Travel & Leisure magazines.


  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CPelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

We began and ended our trip in India at The Park. So, we stayed in two separate rooms. Both rooms had a funky, 60's feel to them. There was fresh fruit provided in the rooms - we ate the oranges --- dry and inedible. But, since it was an unexpected bonus, I wasn't really disappointed.

The bathroom "walls" were frosted glass. So, modest people might be somewhat uncomfortable "doing their business." Also, the light from the bathroom can be seen through the walls disturbing other sleepers.

The lobby is small and was frequently crowded with tour groups.

The breakfast buffet was included with our room - it was large and designed to appealed to international tastes.

The lobby bathrooms, as with many in India, have attendants that expect baksheesh.

Dinner was very good. But, smoking in restaurants is still the norm in India - and non-smoking areas were not available. With closely spaced tables, smoking was disruptive to our evening meal.

Drinks were also unchanged since the '60's. Manhattans and Rob Roys are available. Requests for more recent concoctions such as Cosmopolitans or Mojitos are greeted with blank faces. But the staff also expressed a desire to try new things and was more than willing to make something that they never had before.

  • Liked — Funky '60's vibe
  • Disliked — Smoking allowed in dining room
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2007

Park Hotel had a cool swimming pool area, which is lively on Sunday's. The rooms are contemporary, small but filled with all mod cons. The two restaurants are excellent - we went to Fire three times and were treated like royalty by the staff - the chef even came out with a complementary specially made desert for us on our last night. Staff go out of their way to help you have a great holiday.

  • Liked — the restaurant 'Fire'
  • Disliked — the price of wine
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ANNA77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROHITARORA1, General Manager at The Park New Delhi, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at The Park New Delhi and appreciating us through your delightful comments

I have just taken over and saw your wonderful feedback about the hotel. Thought of just thanking you

I look forward to meet you on your visit to The Park, New Delhi

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

The Park is a very modern and trendy hotel. It does have a far eastern feel to it. the rooms are small, but comfortable. The staff attentive and very helpful. The only negative is the bathrooms which are v v small ,with a sliding door = with zero privacy. No bath tub pl note.
The breakfast buffet was very good and its a good place to stay for a single corporate traveller.Definitely not for families .

  • Liked — Very clean.Helpful staff.and modern.
  • Disliked — Size of bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallika21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

The Park Hotel in Delhi must look great in some magazine. It must have won some design awards for its hip and trendy interior.

Which is reason enough for normal people to STAY THE HECK AWAY FROM THIS MESS. Now, obviously as a luxury hotel, this is better than staying in a van by the river. and, truth be told, the rooms are quite good (we had a luxury suite or whatever). And, it's not exactly the hotel's fault if nouveau riche indian cybertreneurs insist on advertising their coolness by making a habit of standing in the hallway and talking loudly on their mobile phones.

however, some things are the hotel's fault. For one, the lobby is an unmitigated disaster. it's loud as hell. it's chaotic. when i asked to schedule a trip with the concierge, i was taken into a smoky and junky back-office. the front desk staff is overworked and lacks a good communication system - they needed many things repeated (our check-out date) several times. people are standing around with luggage everywhere - it's cramped. it's just a bloody mess. fair enough - the 'new' park was built inside the concrete carcarss of an older hotel. but, it should have been done with people, not design awards, in mind.

the restaurants are overpriced. I was charged US $150 for a bottle of wine that would cost MAYBE $15 at a wine shop - though the service was indifferent at best. the food at the outdoor restaurant was hardly worth the price - $15 cold pizza. Other food (room service) was better. The pool is made for looking good in some magazine - not for actually swimming. Considering that our bill with food was over $2000 for 3 days, I'd say you can do much, much better. A good hotel at this price would have us enjoying all of its amenities comfortably. Instead, we found ourselves hiding in our room from the rest of the hotel.

Next time i'm in Delhi, I will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeathBeforeBreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

The website shows a really cool modern hotel with neat restaurant and bar. The truth - It's a run down old hotel with a modern lobby. We ate in a converted banquet room that felt like "The Shining". Our room was darker and dirtier than a 1906's Howard Johnson. After complaining relentlessly about the false advertising, the manager let us stay in the 1 and only room that was "designed" as the prototype and used on the website. Granted, that room was cool, but the whole experience was a joke.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsnob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#76 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#105 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park New Delhi

Property: The Park New Delhi
Address: 15 Parliament Street | Opposite - Jantar Mantar, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park New Delhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park New Delhi is located in the heart of the city’s business and leisure hub – Connaught Place. Designed by the globally renowned Gurus, Conran and Partners, UK,The PARK, New Delhi is inspired by the five elements of nature (water, fire, air, earth and space) from the Hindu science of Vastu Shastra.The property has a hip and contemporary look to it and is known for its popularity amongst young business and leisure travelers. You can find an array of exciting after-hours entertainment options including the highly acclaimed alfresco experience at Aqua – the poolside restaurant and Agni - the ultimate experience for party-goers, which was recently rated as the ‘Hottest place to visit’ by Wall Paper magazine. For those looking to relax and take a break from the daily grind the Hotel’s spa, Aura is the perfect way to indulge in a little self-pampering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Park Hotel New Delhi
Park New Delhi
Park Hotel India
Hotel The Park Delhi
The Park Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing