We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR Comfort”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

It was definitely a 5* experience - right from the time you enter the lobby and get to the concierge. The staff at the reception was more than helpful with a smiling face - eager to help. Rooms are well done and cozy. Location is excellent for a business traveler. Best part is the food at 360 which is very tastefully done and served.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmitKishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel
Kind regards
Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Truly five star hotel with a good scenery. The location of the hotel is very good with a very good connectivity. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well ventilated. The taste of the food is good and the chefs are world class. I had visited this hotel for business conference and the conference room facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting New Delhi for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danieldesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for complimenting our services. It would be our pleasure to further make your stay comfortable should you have any particular preferences that we could take care of.

Looking forward to meeting you when you visit next,

Sincerely,

Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Right in the heart of South delhi , central location and Just 20 mins from most major business location in New Delhi. ultra Smooth check in to best in class rooms. Al tough the hotel ambiance can be peped up. Business center experience was extremely good , got all my work done in a jiffy

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank varun_vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel

Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Was here recently and must say that, aside from the coffee shop, 360, this hotel is long overdue for refurbishment. The rooms appear well-worn and small things were broken and remained broken even when the engineer was supposed to have fixed them. In a 5 star hotel!. Service continues to be slow. The best part of the hotel is the lush, green grounds surrounding the back of the hotel. The gym is quite good for an Indian hotel.

The most disturbing thing about this visit is that hotel staff must have been instructed to call you by your name everywhere. When housekeeping takes 20 minutes to show up at your room when you are rushing to breakfast in the morning, whether the waiter calls you by your name really doesn't matter.

For some time now, my colleagues have been saying I should stay in Gurgaon since more clients are there these days. After this last stay, no reason not to give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest

I sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Let me assure you that it is our constant endeavor to provide the best of services to all our guests. We train our teams very hard so that every guest of the hotel is treated with utmost professional care and hospitality.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our product and services and assure you that we will live up to our usual high standards.

Warm regards

Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel has been and icon in Delhi and continues to be so. With it's great views of the Delhi golf club and the great service and food it's still one of the best places to stay in the city. Don't miss out travetino the Italian restaurant. It expensive but exquisite...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback of our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi New Delhi

Warm regards

Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

From the minute I checked in the hotel did everything to make me feel comfortable. The staff are very attentive without getting in the way.

I had breakfast and dinner in the restaurants which were spot on. In fact, the breakfast staff were not the same each day but somehow knew that I like a strong latte coffee --- maybe they checked my previous day's order, I don't know but very impressed. I am not usually a big fan of room service, but I arrived in at 1am and ordered pizza and a glass of wine, the sommelier even came my room to describe the wine and allow me to try the wine

Concierge was great --- gave me his mobile number in case of problems getting about, which I did use. And arranged the repair of my laptop cord which shorted out.

The rooms are more traditional, maybe not for everyone, but clean and very comfortable beds. It had the feeling of India and not just in a bland modern room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you can see the Delhi skyline over the canopy of trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel
Kind regards
Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Although the hotel was generally ok, except for the room service, which was expensive and inferior to the food outside, when we came to pay our bill of more than 100,000 rupees they scammed me by distracting me by asking me to fill out a questionnaire about our stay while they converted the bill the pounds sterling at a very inferior rate.

I did not notice the switch and they did not inform me that they were changing the currency, we were out around $200 as a result. I noticed the scam in the car on the way to the airport when I checked the bill, I was fuming all the way to our next destination.

This scam is standard Oberoi practice as they repeated it on as at Jaipur and then tried to deny that they had done so. Not acceptable.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank somewhereinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Guest

I sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. At The Oberoi, we are known for our service and would never ever think of cheating our guests.

I would be grateful if we could discuss and close the misunderstanding.

Kind regards

Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,082 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 779 in New Delhi
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,982 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 779 in New Delhi
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £204 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oberoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi, New Delhi is ready to welcome you back with the same genuine warm, sincere and personalised service from January 1, 2018. The Oberoi, New Delhi is an iconic luxury 5 star hotel in New Delhi. It is located in the centre of India's cosmopolitan capital city. It is 30 minutes from the Domestic Airport and 45 minutes from the International Airport. The interiors are a contemporary interpretation of Sir Edwin Lutyens' New Delhi architecture. The hotel is also equipped with state of the art clean air technology which promises air quality on par with global standards. The hotel has 220 rooms and suites inspired by Lutyens' New Delhi design, with authentic furnishings and handpicked artwork. All rooms and suites feature large picture windows which frame unmatched views of Delhi Golf Course on one side and the UNESCO World Heritage site of Humayun's Tomb on the other. All accommodation radiates luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing