We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Convenient and Comfortable”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Oberoi for two nights while in India. This hotel looks imposing and cold from the outside but is actually very warm and inviting once inside. The lobby and public spaces are beautiful and staff efficient and kind. Our room was what you'd expect from an Oberoi, extremely comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Our breakfast buffet in the restaurant was incredible with a great selection. The staff in the restaurant was wonderful and will bring you nearly anything you want. For a hotel this size, the pool seating was rather small and service there was lacking. We had many problems trying to get food and cocktails delivered to the pool but luckily, after speaking to the manager, we were not charged for our pool expenses. The pool area is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for complimenting our services. It would be our pleasure to further make your stay comfortable should you have any particular preferences that we could take care of.

Looking forward to meeting you when you visit next,

Sincerely,

Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

I rate the hotel very highly. The staff are well trained and handle any "issues" promptly and professionally - particular credit to Adin Jaisinghani and Akanki Tyagi. As a base for business, it was ideal with a comfortable, quiet room and good restaurant/business facilities. Strong personal preference for Oberoi over the Taj in terms of service and overall accommodation. Next trip in October will be to the Oberoi again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel
Thank you and regards
Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel can only be described as generally good, however, a bit too much staff to my liking who keep on asking if I'm enjoying the hotel / the view / the breakfast / the beer.
However :
1. When paying 180 Euro a night I expect free internet in the room - and not an add-on to the bill
2. For this rate, you will be on the lowest floor of the hotel with a view over the restaurant roof. Any room higher will be higher priced.
3. I was quoted 9.500 INR a night inclusive of breakfast + "applicable government taxes". I ended up paying 11.841,45 INR a night. Under "applicable government taxes" the hotel seems to understand an additional 1.800 INR luxury tax, a 5.15 % service tax, 12.5 % VAT, and then AGAIN a 3.09 % Service tax.
Honestly, how difficult can it be to let people know what they'll actually pay instead of adding 25 % to the bill without letting us know in advance ? This is a practice that has to change.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments on your stay at The Oberoi New Delhi.

With regard to internet pricing, we do have special room rates and packages which are inclusive of internet services. I will be delighted to explain the various options to you over the telephone or email, as per your convenience.

We have also taken a very serious note on how prices are quoted to our guests. We will review our process.

My team and I assure you of our best services and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel has a charming atmosphere, although not the newest building on earth, it has a welcoming spirit definitely. The lobby is impressive as you enter, rooms are functional and comfortable, more on the traditional side than with the latest trends.
I have to highlight two service that I have never seen anywhere else so far. Once your driver picks you up the airport you have a personal assistant walking you to the car briefly explaining the hotel facilities and giving you the option to order your dinner right from the hotel car on the way to the hotel, so you don;t need to wait for your food once you get there.

Also at check-in, I had done the check-in basically from my room with all the paperwork being done from there remotely.

Congratulations for these 5* ideas, that really show appreciation towards the traveler's valuable time.

Location is good as well, nevertheless check where business or leisure is taking you, because of course some parts of NewDelhi can be also far away :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkerekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel
Warm regards
Team, The Oberoi, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

It was definitely a 5* experience - right from the time you enter the lobby and get to the concierge. The staff at the reception was more than helpful with a smiling face - eager to help. Rooms are well done and cozy. Location is excellent for a business traveler. Best part is the food at 360 which is very tastefully done and served.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmitKishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel
Kind regards
Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Truly five star hotel with a good scenery. The location of the hotel is very good with a very good connectivity. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well ventilated. The taste of the food is good and the chefs are world class. I had visited this hotel for business conference and the conference room facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting New Delhi for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danieldesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for complimenting our services. It would be our pleasure to further make your stay comfortable should you have any particular preferences that we could take care of.

Looking forward to meeting you when you visit next,

Sincerely,

Amit Sachdeva
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Right in the heart of South delhi , central location and Just 20 mins from most major business location in New Delhi. ultra Smooth check in to best in class rooms. Al tough the hotel ambiance can be peped up. Business center experience was extremely good , got all my work done in a jiffy

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank varun_vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel

Team, The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 712 in New Delhi
2,871 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
7.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 712 in New Delhi
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 712 in New Delhi
2,095 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 712 in New Delhi
2,845 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 712 in New Delhi
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £169 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing