We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest hospitality”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finest hospitality”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. However, def not cheap. The rooftop restaurant is very good, the spa was very good. Excellent massages. Comfortable rooms. Decent location. Very good service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
Thank you and kind regards
Team, The Oberoi, New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
243
472
129
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

marvellous place to relax and enjoy, location is nice, rooms very clean and beautifully decorated, cleanliness awesome, really a splendid place to spend time and relax in luxury while on a trip
The experience was amazing, infact scintillating, enjoyed a lot
The staff and all others were very polite, gentle and extremely hospitable
The restaurant is also very good, with a wide variety to choose from, food so delicious!!!
Overall a truly luxurious hotel, cheers!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank syedatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

warm regards
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great hotel with all the amenities for business or leisure. Very good staff, clean and stylish. Food is fantastic. Spa and pool amazing. Management always looking for feedback... Really a perfect deal. Only issue was about the "free access" internet, but a little talk and it got resolve right away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry-Gva-New-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

warm regards

The Team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the first night of our holiday in India and returned to it for a few nights during our stay. Although the building itself is slightly old fashioned (1960ish therefore not old nor modern), we loved our stay there. Our room was on the 8th floor with a great view, overlooking the pool, New Delhi and the golf club. It was very comfortable and well equipped. The restaurant was great as was the pool refreshment cafe. However, the overriding high point of the stay was the discreet, friendly, courteous and impeccable service from every single member of staff. We felt so at home and comfortable in this hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Delhi.

Room Tip: 8th floor, overlooking the pool have fantastic views over India Gate and Lutyens Delhi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

warm regards

The Team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was very much looking forward to our stay at the Oberoi following our travels in India. Due a an accident, my Mother had fallen and hurt her ankle so we arrived two days earlier than expected and accordingly I had two reservations. I was very disappointed on arrival to be advised by a rather haughty Duty Manger that I would have to pay an additional R1,000 because my second reservation allegedly did not include breakfast and I would not be able to utilise the 'free' one way airport transfer. What a disappointment to experience this immediately on arrival. I am not sure whether her manner was due to are shabby appearance ( we had spent 7 hours in the car from Haridwar) or her poor people skills. I was also advised by the same Duty Manager that we may need to change rooms because of the separate reservation booking. Again, given the circumstances I was disappointed that a five star hotel could not simply offer three weary travellers one of which had a swollen ankle, the comfort that they would be in the same room for the duration of their stay notwithstanding the seperate booking. That said the the reception staff booking us in did subsquently advise us that we would be in the same room. I also showed my email confirmation from the UK which set out that my breakfast was included. We heard nothing further from that particular Duty Manager.

Other than the above disappointing experience the hotel was clean and just lovely and apart from the Duty Manager referred to above the staff were extremely helpful.

The hotel restaurants did not have an extensive vegetarian indian menu which was a shame given that the hotel was in India and it would have been a nice touch to have eaten at a 5* quality indian restaurant within the Oberoi. Perhaps this should be reviewed.

The breakfast was fantsastic and the spa and salon just perfect for relaxation. I would recommend this hotel for a couple of days of luxury in Delhi.

The rooms are not hugley spacious and a twin room does not comprise two doubles beds which is what I would expect of a 5* hotel. We were given a view of the flyover so, a top tip would be to ask for a view of the pool or gardens.

There is no complementary wi-fi even in the lounge area which was very suprising given the prices and the fact it is a 5* business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool and gardens otherwise you will be dumped with a room with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken careful note of your comments.

Please be assured your experience was certainly not reflective of our usual standard of service and I do apologise for the inconvenience. It was most kind of you to have brought the matter to our attention through the Trip advisor forum since it is only through valuable feedback like this that we can continue monitoring and improving our service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi New Delhi once again in the not too distant future.

warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff are amazingly helpful. Ask for a room on the top floors overlooking the pools, (the other side can be a little noisy with the occasional beep from the road). If you are lucky you can see eagles flying!!

Room Tip: High floor facing the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squirreltail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

warm regards

The Team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My first Oberoi stay was such a great experience! Highlights: Dim sum @ Taipan (better than most places in NYC, San Fran & Philly Chinatowns!!), luxurious spa, free welcome tray @ pool with juice sunscreen lotion cooling spray bottle, 360 bar offered free sushi, room service full American breakfast for $15, did I mention awesome 24hr butler service! Pls don't waste your money on Ritz Carlton, 4 Seasons, etc! For real service, stay at an Oberoi when you get the chance!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

warm regards

Reuben Kataria
The Team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,765 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,706 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#22 of 716 in New Delhi
2,664 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing