We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Oberoi in New Delhi can not compare to any other property they have. Its got a business hotel feel and lack the charm that their other hotels have. The rooms are small and needs renovation.

The food was good, dinner at 360 was very good and breakfast buffet was extensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrasipBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our food and beverage offer.

I have taken note of your comment regarding our rooms and do apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel has few renovated rooms and we will be more than happy to reserve them for you on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future


Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
243
472
129
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at 6 Oberoi hotels thru out India during January,2012 . I am a very seasoned traveler and I must tell you how overwhelmed I was at all the facilities. From the greetings as we entered to the continuous excellent service from the very caring staff and on to the restaurants with excellent food and service, the Spa facilities, the large rooms with every convenience ,Etc.
it was a fantastic experience which served to enhance the pleasure of travel to India.
Bravo to the entire Oberoi Group for teaching their staff the right way to entertain their guests.I was told there is a Mr. Oberoi. You , Sir , ARE A GENIUS.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotels and services. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff.


We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

warm regards
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Concierge staff was very helpful with tour suggestions and helping us get our delayed luggage.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalcruisegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our Concierge services.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

warm regards
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Oberoi, name is enough more than 100 words to explain about luxury fecilities. Speciality is security arrange ment in hotel. I stayed there 12 nts from Jan 2 to Jan 13 2012. It was almost too posh.My room was perfect,the breakfeast buffet was fabulous. The restaurants are excellent - for both dinner and breakfast. The room was super clean and comfortable. Ample storage to unpack and set yourself up. Nice TV and great pressure in the shower head! But the breakfast was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pramodlohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

warm regards
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

THE OBEROI DELHI.Is a classic 5*hotel,set in a posh suburb of Delhi.I stayed 3 nts jan "12,whilst attending a trade fair.Despite impeccable staff and surroundings,something was missing.There was no atmosphere.It was almost too posh.My room was perfect,the breakfeast buffet was fabulous.The area missing was a feeling of fun.There was a wine bar but it felt like being in a modern art gallery or museum.The Oberoi is a bit isolated for those who like to ramble or shop/eat nearby.Also security at the gates is a bit"Whitehouse".All in all a bit "stuffy"

Room Tip: Check the wifi charge on your bill.i used my plug in yet spent some time@ checkout hauing the charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

I have taken careful note of your comments regarding no entertainment in the hotel and feeling overwhelmed because of the security. I will like to inform you that we now have a pianist playing in the bar every evening from Monday to Saturday. Also we do try and provide all our hotel guests a secure environment. I do apologize if you would have faced any inconvenience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi New Delhi once again in the not too distant future.

warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was our first stop in India and this hotel does it right! The hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. It has every amenity one could want - and more. The restaurants are excellent - for both dinner and breakfast. In addition, the concierge was extremely helpful in recommending a restaurant outside the hotel - which we loved! We will definitely look to stay here next time we are in New Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug_mkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

warm regards
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Yes, this place is pricey but we got a pretty good deal through hotels.com and ended up spending two glorious nights here over Xmas 2011.

The service from the check-in to the personal butler service to the breakfast to the check out to the welcome greeting at the door was amazing. Flawless smiles, friendly conversation without you feeling encroached upon.

The room was super clean and comfortable. Ample storage to unpack and set yourself up. Nice TV and great pressure in the shower head!

But the breakfast was the icing on the cake. Delicious made to order omelets and a buffet to die for.

Would come back here in a second!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenPark2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,765 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,706 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,004 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#22 of 716 in New Delhi
2,664 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing