We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Mahal Hotel(New Delhi)
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,871)
Filter reviews
1,871 results
Traveller rating
1,379
383
79
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,379
383
79
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelhi golf clubindoor poolbutler servicechinese restaurantbusiness hotelwonderful hotelan oasisfive star hotelmonaspaindiathreesixtyluxuryconciergedriveragratomb
Filter
Updating list...
1,209 - 1,214 of 1,871 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

As you would expect from an Oberoi property, the service is excellent. Great city centre business hotel but made so pleasant with excellent attention to detail. Their fine dining Italian restaurant Travertino was probably the best meal of our trip with outstanding food, wines and service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our hotel and services, particularly the meal at the Italian restaurant Travertino

We pride ourselves in serving authentic Italian fare and our chef Davide Rebecatto would be delighted to hear this feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is a 5 star hotel in New Delhi and well worth the stars. Check in is very friendly and in room. The rooms felt a bit outdated but were comfortable. The butler service is incredible - fresh icetea when you just come in is a treat. Highly efficient and good quality laundry.

The reason for my very good rating is the looks of the building and the somewhat outdated room. However, staff is extremely helpful and attentive. The club room bar is nothing special, but has a good selection of drinks and comfortable seating.

All in all a good place to stay for a couple of days when in Delhi - provided you are willing to spend the money on the rooms that is.

Relatively close to city center and India gate. We also went to Khan Market but felt that was a bit of a so-so area. Must say though that this was very soon after landing in India, so not yet used to the country.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement for our team.

I am delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Located near all major sites, this hotel is a great place for tourists to stay. Old world charm but not stuffy. More importantly, the staff are friendly and very helpful. Food in 360 Restaurant is good. We used spa & workout facility. Had a very good massage. Swimming pool is so-so. Good place for short stay. We will definitely stay here next time we travel to Delhi.

Room Tip: The suites are nice if you are there for any length of time.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location, quality of food, service and our spa facilities.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the pool not having met your expectations. What I think you are referring to, is the water body visible from the lobby and restaurants. That used to be a pool at one time but now we have 2 new temperature controlled pools - One indoor and another outdoor. The indoor pool fulfils the need for swimmers who wish to swim after dark.

I shall be delighted to show you around the facilities in your next visit

We look forward to welcoming you back

Warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This used to be my second favourite hotel in Delhi after the Imperial. I would alternate the hotels on different visits. However, I almost always visit the 360 restaurant for a dinner even if i am not staying. The hotel is somewhat tired now, although they have added a new pool and have a lovely spa there. The staff are excellent, and very friendly. If staying in a high end room or suite, a butler is included and in my experience they are very knowledgeable and kindness itself.
Delhi now has much newer, more glamorous hotels and these may well have poached a lot of the top staff, but the name Oberoi in India is synonymous with luxury and superb service. There is also a small shopping mall with names like Louis Vuitton and other luxury brands. Do not miss the well stocked bookshop by the front door, with a wonderful range of coffee table books. Worth a visit if you want a beautifully photographed large book on india, that you are unlikely to find anywhere else. I have a soft spot for this hotel, even tho it has been surpassed by the newer hotel chains in Delhi. If you can, book a dinner and make sure you order the ice cream for pudding. Superb!

Room Tip: The exterior of this hotel is not good on arrival, as very modern block, but a lovely view from the higher up rooms, and book a view of the pool if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugslawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and an encouraging review.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi New Delhi

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Perhaps I had expected something more before my first stay at this hotel...and it could be a case of expectations exceeding what was available. My stay was after the stay at Oberoi Gurgaon and the two are not comparable.

From the outside, it gives the look of a compact five star rather than a luxury hotel more associated with Oberoi name, but leave that aside and the everything else is good or better. Its at a good central location so most Delhi locations would be easily accessible.

The service is super, I liked the way restaurants are placed, the food available, morning breakfast spead and variety...all of that. Even the in-room dining food is customized to suite one's taste and preference..

The fitness centre could have ben more spacious. They apparently have two pools of which only one was available for use, and I quite did not get the reason for that, also the pool area becomes too dark for use post 6 in the evening and can do with better lighting.

To summarize, a good compact place to relax while on a business tour...but for a lucury vacation you can look at alternates

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if you dont want to keep yourself away from looking at the City..
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThoughtFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments regarding the product and services.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding one of the pool not being utilised. What I think you are referring to, is the water body visible from the lobby and restaurants. That used to be a pool at one time but now we have 2 new temperature controlled pools - One indoor and another outdoor. The indoor pool fulfils the need for swimmers who wish to swim after dark.

I shall be delighted to show you around the facilities in your next visit

We look forward to welcoming you back

Warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews