We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Macarons!”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I was at the patisserie yesterday to pick up few desserts, and as suggested by the chef (abhimanyu) i bought macarons...and they were excellent!!!! My entire family relished them...and for sure we will be back soon to purchase every flavour of it!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Agaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the Macarons from The Oberoi Patisserie and Delicatessen. I will be happy to share your generous compliments with Chef Abhimanyu.

We look forward to seeing you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I recently had the chance of staying at the Oberoi Hotel in New Delhi. Hospitality at its very best could be the motto of this Hotel. Of all the hotels I've stayed at, the Oberoi showed an unmistakably higher level of sincerity and genuineness in its warmth and hospitality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to go to Delhi on a long or short stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I loved my stay at this grand old hotel. She's jaded and needs upgrading, but the staff are exceptional and the service fabulous. In particular, the young Restaurant Manager in ThreeSixty during breakfast service was exceptional, and even remembered my name and what I liked to order on the second morning.

I think free WiFi is a must in any business hotel, especially in a country like India.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feezeeweezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

I am truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services, especially for our Restaurant Manager Abhishek. I am glad that you felt pampered.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I went to the Oberoi for an international conference and it was a very pleasant experience - both the conference which was excellently catered for and the rooms and stay in the hotel. The hotel is famous for the service attitude of staff and it shows. I felt treated like a VIP, whereas many hotels provide more anonymous service. Everything was well taken care of, perhaps with the exception of the air conditioning system, which seemed insufficient to battle the somewhat musty atmosphere in the room.
Of the older hotels in Delhi the Oberoi no doubt is one of the grand old dames, and it should be recommended for the great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services and we are glad that you felt pampered,

I have also taken note of your comment on the room. We do have an exhaustive dehumidification programme and facilities; however it seems that your stay was adversely affected on that particular day. We sincerely regret the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Oberoi in Delhi used to be one of the great hotels in India for many years after it was opened in the mid 1960s. While the service is exemplary, and the inside is world class, the structure is looking shoddy. And it is the structure that one sees, which helps make one's mind, all before setting foot inside. The hotel needs a major uplift, both in and out, to regain its former glory.

Room Tip: Just dont come to your conclusion by seeing the outside. (Unfortunately, even some of the inside is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepaksji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services

I have also taken a careful note of your comment regarding the exteriors of the hotel and wish to inform you that we will be fixing the same at our very earliest. We regret the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel was old-fashioned and outdated in a bad way. Even the superior rooms were small and desperately in need of renovation. The entire feel of the hotel was dingy, especially with the musty, mildewy odor that permeated the rooms. I have been informed that renovation is on the cards. I hope this is true. Until that happens however, the price is not worth what you get, especially since other 5 star hotels in the vicinity offer better. I give 1 star for the attentiveness of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tivolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are grateful for your kind words and high rating for our staff and service.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding rooms being old. We regret the inconvenience. We have spent a considerable amount of time and money continuously upgrading our rooms and facilities and have an exhaustive dehumidification programme to counter the seasonal mustiness, the comfort of our guests being our sole focus. I regret they did not meet your approval. We also have a few contemporary rooms and a large variety of suites. Should your travel bring you back to Delhi, I will be happy to personally make all your arrangements.

I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It was amazing, we stayed in the Suite and which has a very good view. very nice food, and nice hospitality overall... i rate it 10/10 .. definitely recommended to all... from check in to check out, everything was up to our expectations...

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravB940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,043 reviews
7.7 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,058 reviews
7.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#7 of 777 in New Delhi
511 reviews
7.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £258 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oberoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi, New Delhi is ready to welcome you back with the same genuine warm, sincere and personalised service from January 1, 2018. The Oberoi, New Delhi is an iconic luxury 5 star hotel in New Delhi. It is located in the centre of India's cosmopolitan capital city. It is 30 minutes from the Domestic Airport and 45 minutes from the International Airport. The interiors are a contemporary interpretation of Sir Edwin Lutyens' New Delhi architecture. The hotel is also equipped with state of the art clean air technology which promises air quality on par with global standards. The hotel has 220 rooms and suites inspired by Lutyens' New Delhi design, with authentic furnishings and handpicked artwork. All rooms and suites feature large picture windows which frame unmatched views of Delhi Golf Course on one side and the UNESCO World Heritage site of Humayun's Tomb on the other. All accommodation radiates luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing