We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lap of luxury and comfort!”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Leon, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The lap of luxury and comfort!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a wonderful hotel! It is subtly elegant, very quiet and well located for easy access to the many historic sites of New and Old Delhi. The hotel employees are very well trained and go out of their way to attend to your every need and to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The people at the concierge's desk are friendly, welcoming, and helpful whether arranging taxis, making reservations for you at restaurants outside the hotel or arranging a barber's appointment for you at the hotel's salon and then taking you there when it is time for you to go. The barber who cut my hair at the beginning of November and then again in early December was an older (and very experienced) man who was able to take one look at my hair and know what to do.

The food in the highly regarded 360 restaurant was some of the best on my month-long trip to India. The Maitre D' always welcomed me by name after my first visit and took me to the area of the restaurant where I preferred to sit (wish I had gotten his name). The waiters were very solicitous and tended to everything that was desired. Deepak and Ashish checked in with me frequently and even brought me freshly-cooked, scrambled eggs after they learned that those on the buffet line had become cold by the time I got back to my table. They even remembered me between my two visits at the beginning and end of November. All the waiters were very professional and well-educated and spoke excellent English, thankfully. From my experience the personnel at the Oberoi were some of the most highly-educated hospitality/service people in India.

Delhi was much more beautiful than I had imagined and the Oberoi New Delhi was the perfect base from which to fully enjoy this wonderful city with its rich history.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the concierge services, the food and service at threesixty and our committed team. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
243
472
130
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I am often reluctant to stay at upscale hotels, not because I am put off by the price, but because the hotels can be pretentious and the staff snooty. But the Oberoi New Delhi was the opposite -- comfortable, warm, friendly -- while being completely professional and efficient. We moved on to other Oberoi facilities (in Agra and in Mumbai). Those were very good too -- but honestly New Delhi was my favorite. Three standouts:

* The people. All the staff were great but I will mention Saurabh, Dharam, Deepak and Parkishit in particular.
* The food. Omigosh it was all good. The meal we had at the Chinese restaurant was exceptional. We loved learning about Indian food, and were grateful to the staff for exposing us to things we might not have know to try.
* The little details. Thanks for having the universal adapter in the room to accommodate all my US/Australian gadgets. Thanks for that day when nuts and olives spontaneously arrived for an afternoon snack.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkTalkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially for the warm and caring service from Saurabh, Deepak and Parikshit and the food at Taipan, the Chinese specialty restaurant.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel.
.
Kind regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,067 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I last stayed at The Oberoi New Delhi ten years ago. Ten years later, the public places (restaurants, gym, spa) now look quite modern. However, the rooms haven't changed at all, which means they look terribly dated, and you can SMELL the humidity. Compared to the rooms at the top hotel brands (eg. Four Seasons, Mandarin-O, St Regis, etc), the rooms here are really rustic! Service is extremely professional and friendly, but when it fails, it could be extraordinary! For instance, we had booked a family holiday at several Oberois via their group HQ. Apparently, the Delhi staff was never notified of the need for an extra bed in one room; after waiting for 45 minutes late at night for the extra bed, we called; a lady at Reception said "we have no extra bed in the entire hotel", only to be contradicted 10 minutes later by a colleague, who rushed in a bed. Then, there was confusion about the provision of tour guides, billing errors, etc - all probably due to a lack of coordination. Oberoi is a superior brand in the hospitality industry. But lack of re-investment, a corporate culture that allows such poor coordination to happen - is management resting on its laurels?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad that we were able to make up to you.

I sincerely regret the inconvenience you faced. I look forward to welcoming you to The Oberoi, New Delhi in the very near future.

Sincere regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

All my colleagues usually stay here when in Delhi. Oberoi has always been a great experience, this property seems to be little old but not bad. Can definitely improve the ambiance in the lobby and the pathway to the rooms has to change. Though it's not bad but comparing the other oberoi properties this place can be much better. Food here was better. Service is always a delight when in oberoi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TarunG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit.

I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our food in the restaurant and the hotel services

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here the weekend of Diwali, which was an unexpected bonus, as the Oberoi staff had many extra flower displays, including elaborate patterns made up on flower petals, as well as beautiful candles lighting up the pool area.

Our room (536) had a view of the golf course and the hotel's main pool. Accordingly there were no issues with traffic noise. The room was a reasonable size with a nice spotlessly clean bathroom. There is plenty of complimentary bottled water in the room, which is replenished daily.

Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were so helpful. You could order breakfast dishes from a menu (e.g. eggs benedict, omlette's etc,) and also help yourself to the extensive buffet which includes lots of fruit, more hot options and a large variety of pastries. Freshly squeezed orange juice was offered by our waiter.

The concierge was really helpful, changing large notes to smaller ones, and providing advice on sites and transport. They orgnaised a taxi for our use over the course of the day, and we had no hassles at all.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course behind the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinks93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the elaborate breakfast spread, the concierge and housekeeping services and the decorations during Diwali festival.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moradabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times and eyery time it exceeds my expectations.Stayed here again last weekend with wife and five year young daughter.While checking-in received hearty welcome with refreshing drinks at Threesixty.Pool facing room elegantly appointed gives a soothing view of lush greenery of Delhi Golf Club.Woody scent coming out of room furniture is treat for senses.
Butler service is outstanding and staff is friendly and extremely courteous.
Macroons,chocolate truffles and cookies from famed pastry shop are superb.
Indoor swimming pool is pool of Zen-like calm and serenity.
I frequently stay at various super luxe hotels but in my very careful observation I feel that The Oberoi distinguishes itself being at the apex of cutting edge hospitality.
The Oberoi is elegant and exotic...and grand...

Room Tip: pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dranuragbansall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the view from the room, the health and wellness facilities and the treats from The Oberoi Patisserie and Delicatessen.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed here for one week while on a business then pleasure trip to New Delhi. It is an oasis of calm and luxury in a bustling and noisy city. Everything was perfect - I had a nice view of the adjacent golf course, park and hotel pool from my room. The service was excellent and personalised. The only negative is that the hotel is not really within walking distance of anything noteworthy- but taxis and tuk tusk are cheap and an easy way to get around this huge city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,801 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 716 in New Delhi
2,750 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#11 of 716 in New Delhi
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing