We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to Vacation”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgis, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect start to Vacation”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We started our 11 days vacation at New Delhi Oberoi and it was a perfect start. During our 11 days vacation we stayed 5 oberoi hotel but this one has most specious room. We had royal suite, it was 2 story suite and very nicely organized. My daughter loved extra space for play time. As a welcome package they left toys and children's book for my daughter and she enjoys them as of today. Staff is very friendly and always exceeding your expectations. Mona Singh did excellent job organizing our sight seeing and making most out our 2 days in new Delhi. After long day warm water pool was blessing. This hotel is popular as hotel for business people but they are very much kids friendly. For sure we will visit them soon.
Ashish, Rajvi & Prisha

Room Tip: Luxury Suite gives you excellent view and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshDett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services especially for Mona. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and your daughter had a good time.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back..

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
243
472
130
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having stayed in several hotels in New Delhi, and indeed India over recent years, I can easily describe the Oberoi New Delhi as the finest hotel I have stayed in. Whilst New Dehli has its issues with traffic and ease of movement around the city, the Oberoi's location is convenient to the International Airport, the convention and exhibition centre Pragati Maidan as well Feroz Shah Kotla Cricket Ground, and of course the popular Hauz Khas Village.
The Oberoi's level of service and care for their guests is evident when you arrive with a warm and traditional welcome, smooth and efficient check in, and incredibly polite staff who seem to know you by name within just hours of being their guest. The rooms are comfortable, and whilst it's obvious the hotel has been in existence for many years, the décor is neat and well maintained, and has a classy feel about it. I did not visit all of the restaurants in the hotel, however I can describe the breakfast as superb with an array of western fare, as well as traditional local dishes, which were in fact popular with many western guests. The staff in the bar were welcoming, attentive and experienced, and made efforts to be personable and engaged in conversation as they worked. The hotel is within secure gates to the compound with professional yet friendly security, and meticulously kept gardens and surrounds. My visit was in winter, so I did not use the pool and had little time to use the gym, however both seemed well kept and managed. I did not make use of the spa, and if I was to find any point for criticism, it would be that the spa menu was all very expensive, however this is typical of this level of hotel who's accommodation rates are quite high.
My selection of the Oberoi was by chance, as it suited my need of proximity to Pragati Maidan for an exhibition, however, I would make the Oberoi my deliberate first choice hotel in New Delhi, and recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the comfortable hotel rooms, food in the restaurants and attentive staff.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Starting with a small negativity: I took a Taxi from a well known Vendor from Airport and told him to go to Oberoi Hotel in Dr Zakir Hussain Marg. The address of the hotel mentioned this road, but my driver was sure there is no Oberoi or its branch on this road stretch. At last we found the hotel with entrance opening on Lala Rajpath Rai Rd.

The welcome in the reception was quite good, and as in all hotels of this reputation, the explanation was nice. Quite strange, reaching the reception over phone from the hotel room is not seamless. There is a button named 'guest relations', but that never rings. I tried pressing 9 / 0 and so on, and luckily got the operator who transferred the call to the reception. No one bothered to actually explain how to reach the reception in one-dial. You cant expect a hair saloon after 9pm, and that was a shock to know that.
The 24hr in-room food service was amazing. The person who took a tailored order was patient enough to take a detailed one, and an excellent chef who prepared an excellent food -the way I wanted, using very less oil as I wanted. The complimentary breakfast was also quite nice - having a spread of Western Europe & Indian.

Room Tip: Rooms having a view of the swimming pool to be considered - the landscape is small but quite pleasin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandipanBhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and service, especially the welcome at the hotel, the food in the restaurants and the inroom dining service.

I have also taken note of your comment regarding the telephone. I apologize and regret the inconvenience.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Four days at the oberoi in new delhi weren't nearly enough.
excellent hotel, service and value.
This hotel was our first on our 2 week journey in India—a wonderful introduction to this great countrly.
We'll be back!
Jacqueline and Barry Panter

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is my favourite hotel now. Frequent visitors are still treated well and not routinely. Its service standards are really good and I hold them as the standard to measure hotels worldwide.
The rooms though not large are well furnished and very comfortable and practical.
The breakfast is one of the best and the table service to augment the buffet makes your day start very well.
Keep it up!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the room comfort and the wholesome breakfast buffet at threesixty.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a work meeting here on the top floor meeting room last week---including breaks, lunch and dinner at 360o restaurant that evening. The hotel is magnificent, and their service extends to the meeting rooms. All was well organized, efficient, and very helpful. The snacks/drinks were well done, good quality, nice diversity of choice, and well displayed. A great location for a business meeting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services especially the meeting room facilities and the variety of food and beverage served. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back..

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Regulars love it , new money finds it old glory only. One stay made me realise what this hotel is all about. It's Hospitality with a big H , no , what it should ought to be, No,what every hotel needs to do, NO not even this , then What? It's Oberoi Hospitality which is not in the face , and it's there. You have yo experience it only. Hotel has a central location in Delhi , near India Gate, President 's House, Old Fort , etc . Markets like Khan market, south ex , CP all are near. Bar is well stocked, 360 the restaurant has very good food. Gym excellent , business center beyond expectation and the indoor warm pool was just enough to relax you with Delhi temperature's dipping to 4 degrees . New rooms are very good, though the old ones a bit disappointing . If you want night life it's not here. This place is quiet and upmarket type, not young and bustling. Over all brickes and mortar apart this place is about the staff... They indulge you, but don't show it, they make u feel comfortable as home yet don't let you feel as if you are not in a 5 Star. They are courteous yet professional. That's the beauty of this place.

Room Tip: New decor ones, avoid old floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team. and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back..

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,801 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 716 in New Delhi
2,750 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#11 of 716 in New Delhi
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing