We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel experience”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed at the Oberoi a couple of nights in November and December 2013. Seemed like a decent hotel, but not great on luxury - stuffy rooms, not great spread on breakfast and service is also not so great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kulkarniaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

With regards to the room, I regret that it did not meet your approval. While all our rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, we also have a small inventory of more contemporary styled rooms and I will be happy to personally show them to you on your next visit.

Also I have taken your feedback regarding breakfast and service to the team. I apologise if it did not meet your expectations. We do serve a wide variety of food – Indian, western and Japanese food on the buffet and also certain specialities like egg royale, egg benedict, pancakes and waffles are part of the offering.

I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our stay in Delhi was made perfect because of the staff, the care and helpfulness they all showed to us. They went out of their way to make suggestions and planned evenings out for us.
The hotel car was made available to us, at a small cost, and was a great way to get around as the drivers knew their city well. The rooms were very nice and very comfortable with good views over the golf course or the city. A hidden gem is downstairs where you can have a nice cup of tea or coffee with wonderful cakes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janicedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services, especially The Oberoi Patisserie and Delicatessen

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was treated like royalty; all were thoughtful, courteous, caring, considerate on every level. My room was always beautifully made up, the food was delicious and my gluten-free diet was addressed by the dining room staff. Whether it was suggesting places to visit, calling a taxi for me, or making sure I had the phone number of the concierge when I went out on my own; the attention to detail and making sure I was well taken care of and safe were incomparable. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel very nice with a dress commercial centre inside with zara burberry etc.
A rich hall facing on the great pool. There is also a gym, a sauna and internal swimming pool, massage center. Too cold as a habitat with white marble around.
Good the business centre with someone all present and available. There are private business rooms, conference rooms and a common business center. Wi fi is not fruible. I needed but they had to activate me 15 mins per time notwithstanding I had my payd wifi in the room.
The service was very high level, they passed and phoned me in order to check if all was fine and to welcome me.
There is international television, wide room with a nice desk, also a DVD is present and a list of films from bolliwood and holliwood.
Elegant belle époque style room and bathroom in red marble.
There are two restaurant, One for Dinner was very rich with many international and Asian too breakfast. Also a la carte is available.
There is an Italian restaurant. Service was very kind and the cook Italian. Very good the meal, except for the dimension of the portions but high quality. Oil was Italian and vinegar too. Many association particular and tasteful.
Cost very high expecially for the wine 60 euro for an Italian wine that in Italy costs less than 6 euro.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre1DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the health and wellness facilities, business centre and dining facilities at the hotel especially the Italian restaurant, Travertino. Our Italian restaurant operates in collaboration with Hotel Hassler in Rome and we proud ourselves in serving the authentic Italian fare.

With regards to your comment regarding wine prices, the government taxes on the procurement and service of wines does make it expensive. However, we have reviewed our prices and even compared with similar hotels and have found us to be in fact lower than the most. Also we do have beverages priced in different price bracket.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a magnificent tour of Northern Inaia, organised with the charming Amrita at the Oberoi head office. We stayed at 6 Oberoi hotels, used an Oberoi car and driver plus local guides as required. We have had a wonderful holiday. I am listing each review with the same heading, changing only the part number in case it helps anyone contemplating a similar trip.
The Oberoi New Delhi has the most fantastic staff, they are friendly, efficient and helpful. In truth the rooms are a bit dated and the bathrooms rather small, (a major refurbishment is in tne pipe line), but this just doesn't matter because the staff are just so good.
We ate in both the 360 restaurant, which was great, and the Oriental which was ok but not very romantic. I would reccomend using just the 360.
The loccation is very good for the major tourist sights but not good if you want to walk to local retaurants etc.
All in all a very good start to our trip.
Two further points which apply to all Oberoi properties. First and an excellent idea, Oberoi do not encourage individual tipping, only a sealed envelope at the end of the stay. This does stop the tip tension for the guest and encourages genuine staff service. ALL staff share the combined tip box revenue. Second Oberoi charge for wifi, this unusual in my experience and poor for such top grade hotels. We negotiated free wifi as part of our package.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisborough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

I am glad that you found the overall customer service excellent. With regards to the room, I regret that it did not meet your expectations. While all our rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, we also have a small inventory of more contemporary styled rooms and I will be happy to personally show them to you on your next visit.

Thank you for your complimets regarding our tipping policy.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent inner environment, nice floors, nice food, nice services for business meetings, stay and venue for conferences. peaceful environment. The staff are couteous and ready to help. The hotel is preferable and enjoyable for group meetings.

Room Tip: Rooms on northern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELGFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the quality of stay, food and business services.

We have a dedicated team looking after meetings and conventions and I am glad that you and your colleagues enjoyed the Oberoi hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Exemplary service and the staff always make you feel at home and have a solution any problem you have during your stay. Food and Breakfast is very good at 360. Would any day go back to stay at The Oberoi, Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services; we are glad that you felt at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,073 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 779 in New Delhi
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,113 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 779 in New Delhi
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £204 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oberoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi, New Delhi is ready to welcome you back with the same genuine warm, sincere and personalised service from January 1, 2018. The Oberoi, New Delhi is an iconic luxury 5 star hotel in New Delhi. It is located in the centre of India's cosmopolitan capital city. It is 30 minutes from the Domestic Airport and 45 minutes from the International Airport. The interiors are a contemporary interpretation of Sir Edwin Lutyens' New Delhi architecture. The hotel is also equipped with state of the art clean air technology which promises air quality on par with global standards. The hotel has 220 rooms and suites inspired by Lutyens' New Delhi design, with authentic furnishings and handpicked artwork. All rooms and suites feature large picture windows which frame unmatched views of Delhi Golf Course on one side and the UNESCO World Heritage site of Humayun's Tomb on the other. All accommodation radiates luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing