We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Our 25th anniversary trip to India”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We began our trip to India at the Oberoi, New Delhi. Form the moment we walked in the front door we were treated like royalty. The service was excellent, hotel beautiful and food was delicious. Mona was particularly helpful in giving us recommendations for places to shop and must see spots. I highly recommend this amazing hotel! Thank you to all at the Oberoi for making our anniversary SO special!
Very Best,
Jill G

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillgilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially for the warm and caring service from Mona, our Luxury Experience Manager

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were visiting The Oberoi New Delhi as part of a trip of Northern India and this hotel has a perfect location for seeing the sights of New Delhi. The hotel has found a great way of managing the different expectations of those people staying on business and those visiting the city as part of a holiday and this started with a warm welcome when we arrived...and the same hospitality continued throughout our stay. Our room was modern and very comfortable (we had a Premier Room) and had a great view over New Delhi. Since we had arrived following an overnight flight, we spent time at the pool-side to relax following the journey and it was hard to believe that we were in a large city. We visited the 'Taipan' and '360' restaurants and both were fabulous. For those people who like birds, the Kites around the hotel are fabulous, as they are throughout New Delhi. An exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room on a high floor that overlooks the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially taipan and 360 restaurant.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

the oberoi hotels know how to take care of their guests. what i love about them is their attention to detail. whatever you need has already been thought of .... pleasant and friendly staff, and a nice bar to relax in after a long hot day (38C)!! the breakfast buffet has lots of choice, and the chinese restaurant has very nice food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, team and services especially the hotel food.

We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services and we were able to exceed your expectations.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived at the Oberoi after an overnight flight from London and were greeted with a flower garland and a glass of sparkling wine while check in was sorted out by staff. A lovely, relaxing way to start our holiday - and it set the standard for our stay.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - each one of whom were charming.
Our room was extremely comfortable, with great views across the golf course and woods above which birds of prey swooped all day.
Breakfast buffet was a great spread of Indian, American and European cuisine, with a good range of a la carte options too. Our waiter made sure we were adequately fed with a range of Indian staples he thought we should try (all included in the price) including what we think was the world's largest dosa.
The pool and spa area were well maintained and a lovely place to unwind.
The hotel has a staff of in-house drivers (along with being able to find you a taxi at a moment's notice) who are available to drive you around all day - very useful in Delhi!
Security is reassuringly tight around the entrance gates and doors.

But back to the service - we intended to stay at the Oberoi on our last night and emailed ahead to say we'd arrive at 7am from an overnight train so could we drop off bags and have a wash somewhere? Better than that, our room was ready and we were invited for a complimentary breakfast before enjoying our last day in Delhi.

Looking forward to our next trip to Delhi - and the Oberoi - already.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed at the Oberoi in Bangalore and most recently the Oberoi in New Delhi. The hotel experience at the Oberoi is fantastic. The service and accommodations are excellent and the restaurants exceptional. The Oberoi is always my first choice when I travel to India.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel has exquisite suites, very spacious. Beds you can sink into, wonderfully comfortable. Breakfast and meals were well done. Our meeting conference well catered for, and service very good. Unfortunately I could not enjoy the fitness center or spa as I was just on a quick business trip. It's hard, however, when you're used to being a platinum marriott member, to not have the same service level and catering to here at this hotel. Late checkout is difficult to get, and an argument. Service level is a bit stuffier. The cost is quite a notch higher. It's a toss up, to stay at the marriott where service is literally over the top, versus this property where the quality of the rooms and amenities are very high quality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, team and services. We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services and we were able to exceed your expectations.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the service level and the check-out. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in sharing your feedback. It has been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is well situated in New Delhi and getting around with our own driver and car was the best idea. The Suite enjoyed great views and the inclusions in our package with bfasts, transfers, wifi and driver will have us back for sure. The restaurants from chinese to main lobby alacarte were all wonderful and ask for a view in the lobby restaurant and watch the chefs - great joy. But the service was something you could only read about - they put it all into a wonderful stay for us. Thank you to the management and team at the Oberoi New Delhi.

Room Tip: top floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARIAN136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,908 reviews
7.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 715 in New Delhi
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,119 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
2.5 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £207 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oberoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked amongst the best city hotels in Asia by the readers of Travel + Leisure, USA in 2011, The Oberoi, New Delhi is an iconic luxury 5 star hotel located in the heart of India's cosmopolitan capital. The interiors of the hotel have been designed in a contemporary interpretation of Sir Edwin Lutyens New Delhi architecture. The Oberoi New Delhi is situated close to the business and shopping districts of the city and is just a 30 minute drive from the airport Equipped with new, clean air technology, the hotel promises its guests the cleanest air in the city at par with global standards. All rooms and suites feature large picture windows which frame unmatched views of the Delhi Golf Course on one side and the historical Humayun's Tomb on the other.Business Centre, Butler service and in room dining will be available 24 hours a day, apart from an array of restaurant options. Wellness facilities include temperature controlled indoor and outdoor swimming pools,The Oberoi Spa and a 24 h ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing