We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mario”
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #2 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, location great for downtown and peripherals of New Delhi.
Safe, clean , efficient with a high standard of staff and service.Attentive but not intrusive.
Prices good for accommodation and facilities.
Restaurant for breakfast good, high choice of local and international foods.Bar in reception good for drinks and snacks.
Pool and spa looked nice , didn't use them on this trip.
Business centre and meeting rooms very good and efficient .
Rooms and decor a little dates and could do with a bit of refurb.
Wifi and technology good.
All in all to be recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank 187069Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. We have also taken note of your comment regarding rooms and decor. We have spent a considerable amount of time and money continuously upgrading our rooms, the comfort of our guests being our sole focus.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Arriving in the late evening at New Delhi for our 2 weeks travel to North India, we were staying at this classic hotel.

For its age, this hotel is amazingly well maintained and upgraded the interior here and there with the latest design.

We were greeted with an Indian ceremony and they upgraded our room into suite. Since the construction is old, the suite has 2 standard rooms and convert one room into living and dining room, the bathroom is not as spacious but very clean and everything went very well. Cleanliness is great.

I must say about the hospitality and service. The staffs are very well trained and they are constantly good. Top notch.

One staff who was outstanding is Arjun at front office. He was extremely nice and helpful.

The food at the restaurant was really good. The breakfast has so many selections and my eggs benedict were always done perfectly. We were addicted to their waffles during breakfast and cant have enough of it. Excellent.

It was a great start to explore India.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the hotel food, the arrival experience and warm and caring service from Arjun at Front Office.
At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.


Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had two short stays in this hotel, at the beginning and end of a "Golden Triangle" tour. It was wonderful! The staff could not do enough for us, the food was terrific, we felt cared for and special. The rooms were excellent, with beautiful views over the treetops across Delhi; the pool was beautiful with great gym facilities. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and encouragement. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed only for 2 nights, but loved the hospitality.
Good rooms, excellent staff, very centrally located, good food.
My daughter left her Apple headphones behind while checking out - housekeeping actually sent an email saying they have found it and would like to know how I wanted it back. Impressive!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mschats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, team and services especially our housekeeping team. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services and we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent one night at the hotel. First of all the staff is outstanding. The service is perfect . Both our rooms had a wonderful view at a the "green" Delhi. Rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Great Spa ! Did not get the chance to experience their restaurants (but they look fantastic.) One more reason to come back !

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the "green" Delhi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddhrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, team and services especially the hotel rooms and the Spa. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are glad that you left with a positive impression of our product and services and we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have always wanted to stay at an Oberoi hotel because I have heard of the excellent service from others. This hotel experience did not disappoint. The receptionist checked me in in my room and showed me all the amenities and features in the room. The gym and daily breakfast buffet were also excellent. Every staff member was helpful and friendly. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jello0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words of appreciation. We are glad that you had a memorable stay.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services especially the check-in experience, the fitness centre and the breakfast at threesixty.

At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.


We look forward to welcoming you again shortly

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife & I stayed at The Oberoi Delhi for 4 days in July, 2014. This was our second trip to India after 10 years. We were very pleased with the way we are greeted when we reached the hotel. The hotel staff not only welcome us with the warmth smile but the way the handle our check in are very professional and all the paper work are done in our room. It was so convenient as we have time to talk to the staff not only on the hotel services but also the place of interest around the hotel and Delhi. We do not think we can do that through the normal conventional check in process.

On the second day in Delhi, my wife slipped and fell while walking at the Chandi Chowk. We sent her to the hospital and was on a wheel chair for a couple of days and eventually she could walk using a walking stick for the rest of our trip in India. The hotel staff was very concerned about her and gave her a wheel chair which we can use not only at the hotel but everywhere we go in Delhi.

When we reached the hotel from the hospital at 11.30pm, we went to the hotel 360 degree restaurant since we haven't had anything to eat since she fell at around 5.30pm. The restaurant staff was very nice and try to cheer her up by making her a "Get Well" piece of cake and a special Thai chicken dish prepared by the chef. My wife was very pleased and happy with the treatment that she received from the hotel staff that night.

There was not a single day after that incident that the staff failed to ask about my wife condition and health. We would like to express our special thanks to the 360degree restaurant staff that work on 17th July, 2014 and Mr Ashun who has been assisting us through out our stay at The Oberoi New Delhi.

Excellent service!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor for better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlwiSabtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, General Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, New Delhi on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially the arrival experience and warm and caring service from Anshum and team at threesixty. At The Oberoi, New Delhi, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back.


Sincere regards,

Jay Rathore
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,032 reviews
7.7 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 777 in New Delhi
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,055 reviews
7.9 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#7 of 777 in New Delhi
505 reviews
7.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £257 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oberoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi, New Delhi is ready to welcome you back with the same genuine warm, sincere and personalised service from January 1, 2018. The Oberoi, New Delhi is an iconic luxury 5 star hotel in New Delhi. It is located in the centre of India's cosmopolitan capital city. It is 30 minutes from the Domestic Airport and 45 minutes from the International Airport. The interiors are a contemporary interpretation of Sir Edwin Lutyens' New Delhi architecture. The hotel is also equipped with state of the art clean air technology which promises air quality on par with global standards. The hotel has 220 rooms and suites inspired by Lutyens' New Delhi design, with authentic furnishings and handpicked artwork. All rooms and suites feature large picture windows which frame unmatched views of Delhi Golf Course on one side and the UNESCO World Heritage site of Humayun's Tomb on the other. All accommodation radiates luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing