We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Wonderful service and although it is not known to be a fancy and luxurious as the other oberoi's in India we thought it was still way above most over city hotels. The staff is attentive, management and restaurant staff greeted you by name. They even helped us arrange taxi for outings and plan our daily activities.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lp10065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
242
473
129
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

This is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed at. Service was great and the grounds are an oasis from the grime of New Delhi.

Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nnnSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

The service matches the best hotels in the middle east and far east. Restaurants are very good and so is the pool and spa area. The rooms are 5 star but could be a little better - they are a touch tired and the bathroom could be bigger and better appointed. However, I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

I have been fortunate to stay in a few hotels in Delhi, including the Taj Mahal and Oberoi New Delhi. I don't have any hesitation in saying that the Oberoi is the winner in that battle, hands down. I am a seasoned traveller and I have never felt so passionately about reviewing hotels before, but feel the need to rave about the Oberoi experience. The rooms were lovely, the service was unparalleled, the food/drink establishments were excellent and leisure facilities fantastic. Stay here... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

I have been coming to Delhi for five years now, and I always stay at the Oberoi. The staff is so attentive and courteous, and the condition of the hotel is impeccable. In my mind, there is no question that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robotmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Spent 3 nights here with my family and we were more than happy with the luxury rooms and the facilties. The hotel had a great buzz with many locals visiting the restaurants and cafe for lunch and dinner. The restaurants are excellent but very expensive. We avoided the Japanese restaurant for that reason. The staff are quite helpful but obviously tip driven. Check in and paying the bills were slow. Overall this hotel lacked the superb high standards of the Oberois in Agra, Jaipur and Ranthambore.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

I have stayed a few times now at this Oberoi (on Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg) in New Delhi. The most recent being May 25-28, 2009. They were there to pick me up at the Airport (DEL) in a car and driver provided by Avis. Driver was courteous and a very careful driver. My room was ready, clean, internet ready and complimentary, with roses, fruits, chocolates in a room that overlooked the Delhi Golf Course (8th Floor). Food was great at the 360. Security was impressive with luggage and body scanners.
Staff bent out of their way to be helpful. In particular, the concierge, despite the lack of support from the local Lufthansa (LH) office, was able to help me redo my booking with a marathon series of phone calls. Net result was that I was able to leave DEL a day early albeit on Austrian (OS) as opposed to LH, which proved to be a blessing in disguise anyway.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilot31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#16 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing