We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #8 of 733 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was the first hotel I visited on my week long trip to the Golden Triangle and was here for just 2 night. After passing through a metal detector and car security (which is now standard in most of India's decent hotels), I was greeted by a nice staff. Check in was quick and I was in my room in no time.

The room was spacious, TV had a huge variety of channels, the sleep comfortable and amenities just fine (i.e. tea, coffee, minibar, alarm, etc.). My king size bed was comprised of 2 smaller beds, which is quite normal abroad. In the morning before I met my tour group, I saw the grounds were well kept and pretty.

The only strange part of this stay was not being able to see out of my windows as they are all frosted. This is not a deal breaker by any stretch as I had traveled 20hrs to visit the country and not just look out the window. I think the truth is there is nothing to look outside as the hotel in located in a suburbia type of area..

Overall, I would rank this as a nice place to stay. I especially liked that the hotel staff was not hounding me for tips like other places during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelGuyToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens and we thank you for your valuable time in evaluating our product and services.
We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you, were to your satisfaction.
We thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. As indicated by you, we have conveyed your compliments to all staff member.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel is in a typical colonial style, right from the entrance of the building to the exterior, high ceiling, massive room & bathroom size. The rooms were big but with very basis amenities. The hotel is bit off and located in relative quite road, its a perfect getaway for people looking to escape hustle-bustle of big city (but pl note that the nearest metro is 5-10 mins walk).

Unfortunately tasted the (Terrace) restaurent only once during my 3N stay and food was just about okay.

Staffs/ reception experience was good. Overall the stay was good and would look to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banchetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Maidens Hotel. Your kind words about the staff and services have been shared with all team members.
Look forward to welcome you once agian at Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We always stay here when in Delhi, it is a bit out of the way being near Kashmir Gate but gives a real flavour of the Raj. The staff are lovely and a gin and tonic in the Cavalry Bar goes down a treat after a hot day in the city.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, I have lived in flats smaller than this, not sure why trip advisor is insisting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NessySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your experience at Trip Advisor and offering few tips to the other travellers. Your appreciation of the product and services are inspirational and this will help us to improve it further.
Look forward to welcome you once gain at Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel is set up in a colonial building which looked great from the outside. The rooms are not fantastically done up, very basic. It has high ceiling but you don't feel the grandness when you enter. Rooms are clean and spacious.
The rooms had no windows, except one behind a curtain that looks out to the corridor-way, of which the glass was already made opaque, making you feel more confined.
Reception area is professional, in fact, too professional that they appear arrogant.
Hotel is location is a little isolated, quiet at night with a small restaurant nearby. It is also located near the Civil Lines metro station, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, very convenient if you're planning to use the metro to get to other attractions. It is a quick 4-5 stops from New Delhi Metro which will bring you to the airport on another line.
The food here is expensive, double the usual prices of other hotels F&B, we didn't eat here so no comments on the quality of food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tan-jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. This is our endeavour to serve the guests with personal touch and we have taken note of your remarks in this conecction . All concerned staff members have been briefed about the same.

Look forward to your next visit to Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Firstly, as previous reviewers have correctly stated, the Maidens Hotel is in the heart of Old Delhi, not New Delhi. However, don't be put off by its seemingly 'out of the way' location. Just 200 metres away is the Civil Lines metro station and in 10 minutes you can be in Connaught Place for just 12 rupees. The hotel itself is charming with a great atmosphere and wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are large but it is definitely worth upgrading from the basic rooms. Breakfast is included and very good - western and Indian food supplied and espresso coffee freely available. Wi-fi internet is available but at a price - 190 rupees for half an hour. However, it is available free at the nearby excellent Mocha cafe (turn left out of the hotel and it is 150 metres on the right hand side.) A hugely enjoyable stay and recommended.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying the extra for a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your experience at Trip Advisor and we are pleased to know that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.Your appreciation of the staff members have been shared with all.

look forward to welcome you once again at Maidens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

In a colonial building. Beautiful.from outside. Really old inside. I thinks some rooms are renovated but we paid for cheaper ones Huge rooms with separate dressing room. Small Window looks out to hallway. So no direct sun or view. Turn u learn why, since it is so hot the design keeps rooms very cool. Restaurant bland flavors for foreign palates. Breakfast was good but expensive. Very close to metro. Go straight when come out about three blocks. Metro quick to get to new Delhi attractions. And perfect for old delhi. Area feels isolated especially at night with no one walking around. Took metro straight from airport.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you at Maidens Hotel in one of our renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Maidens Hotel is fantastic.
The hotel is one of Delhi's oldest hotels, which is apparent with its colonial style and charm.
The rooms were Big and spacious, exceptionally clean and after flying from the UK I had no trouble sleeping. The rooms are very quiet, we didn't hear any other guests while in our room.
The room, comprised of 3 rooms actually.
A lounge - with a "large" LCD TV sofa, desk and chair.
The bedroom - with another Large LCD TV, a walk-in wardrobe, 2 chairs, coffee table, two bed-side tables and twin beds (as we had booked the twin).
The Bathroom/Toilet - BIG spacious bathroom, with a separate bath and shower glass cubical, marble floor and walls.

The Entire hotel is very clean, and all staff bowed and said "good morning" when walking past them.
The pool was great, very deep (although they say no diving), and the water was warm/hot.
Basically this hotel is Value for money, clean.
Ideal for the Old Delhi Railway Station too!!! it about 2km away

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a view of the Gardens, if thats possible. Our room, while amazing had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to share your feedback with our team members.
We sincerely thank you for liking and appreciating our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you at Maidens Hotel in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 733 in New Delhi
2,989 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 733 in New Delhi
2,974 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 733 in New Delhi
4,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roseate House New Delhi
#5 of 733 in New Delhi
432 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 733 in New Delhi
3,065 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £93 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing