We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Haven in a Chaotic City”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #10 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our tour of Delhi, Agra and parts of Rajasthan. We were strangely both reassured and worried by the armed guard at the front gate inspecting the underside of our taxi with a large mirror! We had a two roomed air conditioned suite. Our bedroom had natural light but there was no view through the window. However, the beds were large and comfortable and the ensuite facilities included a very nice shower as well as a large bath. The outer sitting room was well appointed and the door out of the suite opened onto a wide corridor with windows looking out over the hotel drive and gardens. With such a grand and large building, we had expected that the bar and restaurant would be of a matching standard. However, the indoors bar was somewhat disappointing both in size, atmosphere and comforts. The restaurant and breakfast room were one and the same and like the bar, was fairly small and lacking in atmosphere. That said, we always warmly welcomed and very well served by all the hotel staff who were helpful and friendly, even providing us with boxed breakfasts when we left at 5am to catch a train to Agra! All in all, this is a very comfortable hotel which provides great starting point for anyone on a tour of this part of the world even though it is a little way out from the centre of Delhi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinnerLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for one night as a starting point of a "Golden Triangle" tour. It is a building which speaks of the days of the British Raj and is colonial in style. Our first impression was excellent, as we arrived from a long overnight flight, feeling tired and thirsty. We were welcomed warmly and were shown to the dining room to be plied with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits while our room was prepared. The room itself was luxuriously decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the hotel were friendly and courteous and gave us a wonderful first impression of India.
The food quality for both dinner and breakfast was very good. I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone planning a stay in Delhi. First class!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,


It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The overall stay at the Maidens hotel was lovely but we felt that the vast contrast in our rooms (a stay of 2 nights) from the first night to the last was slightly bizarre! Our first night's stay after an overnight flight of 9 hours was a musty smelling, out of the way room and then at the end on the last night of our tour we arrived back at the Maidens to be upgraded to a luxury suite. So we started of average and ended in luxury! The food was okay but not much choice, but the location of the hotel was great for the underground Metro which is a short 5 minute walk and then you have access to the centre of Dehli which we took full advantage of. The Metro was easy and safe to use. The hotel had a nice atmosphere but lacking in any entertainment. The pool is small and in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TottenhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Arriving at this hotel from the throng of New Delhi is like arriving at an oasis! Pristine and classic, it welcomes and rejuvenates. The rooms are like miniature suites and high comfy beds ensure a very good nights sleep. Fantastic bathroom and lovely lounge area for pre-dinner drinks all add to the experience of this hotel which makes one feel like they are experiencing an old colonial India.
The pool area (where we spent most of our time) is perfect to slowly shrug off the jet lag and we watched peacocks and chipmunks whilst sipping Perrier and enjoying the occasional dip in the very nice pool. We didn't eat here but we did try the tiny bar for cocktails.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leelondon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel, Delhi on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the start of our GRJ Tour and was not disappointed , maybe the fact we were upgraded to a suite helped. The staff were very attentive and anxious to ensure that you were happy ,and the hotel facilities were excellent. Food was great ,both at breakfast and dinner where we ate outside in a small secluded courtyard.We arrived at the start of Divali when all the buildings and house were festooned with lights and fireworks from every direction. We watched from a balcony at front of Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kensan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,


It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were really looking forward to staying in this hotel at the end of our tour. We arrived around 11pm after a long road/train trip from Shimla. The reception staff were friendly, but were seemingly confused as to why we would want to have a drink after our journey! We were eventually shown to a small restaurant? area, where we waited some time to get a cup of coffee. wish we had simply all gone to our rooms and made it ourselves! (6 of us on tour together).
First impressions were of a bit run down hotel,bedrooms ok, but need some TLC! But, we had just come from a 3 night stay at the Oberoi Cecil in Shimla - an absolute highlight of our holiday, sadly no comparison between the two hotels, even though in the same group.
The next morning was an improvement, the (small) dining room was again open with very friendly and efficient staff, and breakfast was very good.
We never did see a lounge area (apart from the lobby), as all appeared to be shut to residents! And strangely, none of the rooms seem to have windows, so felt rather claustrophobic.
Overall, an ok hotel, fantastic exterior sadly belies the interior, and disappointing for an Oberoi hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for posting your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

I noted from your comments that your arrival experience at Maidens Hotel was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. This has been addressed with the concerned department to avoid recurrence in the future.

Thank you for your appreciation of our breakfast and service staff.

It is feedback such as yours that helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

Once again, thank you for your time. We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My Husband I stayed at this excellent hotel at the beginning of our India tour. We found the staff very helpful, check in was very swift. We were upgraded to a Deluxe room which was well appointed and roomy. We appreciated the lounge and two TV's as at times were unable to sleep so were able to go and read without disturbing each other. We looked forward to returning to our comfortable room after the dirty busy streets of Delhi. Breakfast was good until our tour started then we were moved into an adjoining room. Buffet breakfast was luke warm and not the same quality as the previous mornings.

Did not eat at the restaurant in the evening so can't comment on the food. Did enjoy the happy hour in the hotel bar. Pool looked as if it needed a revamp but gardens very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triangle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Maidens Hotel, Delhi on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team were to your satisfaction. Your invaluable feedback helps and inspires us to strive harder for excellence.

I once again thank you for your kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Delhi and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Maidens Hotel becomes your home when visiting this city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,916 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,979 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#11 of 715 in New Delhi
3,007 reviews
10.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
377 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £98 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maidens Delhi
Maiden Hotel
Hotel Maidens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing