We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but slightly out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #10 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but slightly out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked a one night stay enroute from our trip around the Golden Triangle and back to the UK on a flight the next morning. We arrived at the airport in Friday rush hour and the journey from the airport took almost two hours. Our welcome was very hospitable and the receptionist kindly upgraded our room. We dashed straight down to the restaurant (it was getting late) and the buffet Indian/European meal was good, the service excellent if perhaps a little intrusive but the room was extremely well lit. In fact it was probably the brightest room I've ever eaten dinner in. Slightly dimmer may have improved the ambience but the colonial feel of the hotel was delightful. We wanted to retire to the bar next door for a nightcap but again, a brightly lit room with not much ambience so we returned to our room instead. The location would be good for Old Delhi, the railway station and the fort, but not for a transit stop via the airport. A little time and money spent on interior design would round this building off nicely as it has the structure but not much of the content to deliver it's past very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Noted your comments regarding lights in the resturant and the bar.

Thanks

Punnet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    404
    87
    20
    5
See reviews for
184
475
61
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Maidens hotel is tucked away amid all the hustle and bustle of Delhi. It is a beautiful property and is reasonably well maintained though a little rough around the edges which wasn't necessarily a bad thing as it gave us a bit of the heritage feel we had been wanting on this trip. The room we stayed in was large and well decorated and the reception and service staff were excellent. The highlight of the trip for us was the breakfast. It was delicious and the service was excellent. I would definitely consider this hotel on a return trip to Delhi.

Room Tip: When we stayed at this hotel there were some ongoing renovations and the hallway outside the room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.
We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a great place to stay in Delhi. The quiet bedrooms are vaulting in their proportions and the beds wonderfully comfortable. The bathrooms may feel and look a little tired, but the hot water is plentiful and just the trick for washing away the Delhi dust. We found the service to be excellent. The breakfast bar was very good and overlooked a lush terrace garden. There's a beautiful looking swimming pool set amongst perfectly manicured lawns. Overall, the hotel is a weeny tired around the edges, but for my money, the faded majesty is sort of what you want in India. Our party (10 friends traveling together) liked this hotel a good deal. I happily recommend it as a lovely retreat and one well worth booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,


It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.
We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was surprised that this classy yet affordable 4-star hotel is not higher up on the tripadvisor rating. It is a hidden gem for those of us who prefer not to face the filth, the rodents, the traffic and chaos of New Delhi after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. It is also for those who do not wish to pay inflated 5-star prices for characterless international brand name hotels situated way out of the action.

I do not need to make further comments about the lovely building or the pleasant staff. However, I can give some useful tips:

1. Location: As the hotel website stated, it is 200 metres from a metro station called - Civil Lines Metro. It is 4 stops north of New Delhi Metro on the Yellow Line (cost 12 INR). Take Exit 3 and walk down the road. The hotel is just after the white walled police compound. Keep your eye out for the tall metal gate staffed by very friendly security staff.

From New Delhi Metro, you can change onto the efficient and safe Airport Express Line (150INRpp).

We took an auto-rickshaw from New Delhi Metro as there was a rally in the area and the station was jam packed with people. We bargained with the driver just saying Civil Lines Metro (150INR per car). It is quite far by road. Even if the rickshaw driver do not understand, someone will gather around and eventually have this sorted out. Have the hotel name and metro name written and hand to the driver so he can ask someone else along the way if necessary. We had no problems the 3, 4 times we use the auto-rickshaw to go back to the hotel.

From the metro station to the hotel, there is a mini-supermarket called The Exchange Stores with bakery goods and other sundries. We did not see many such western style grocery shops in New Delhi. There is a" fancish" restaurant call Embassy next door which we did not try. There is also a hip café called Mocha with free and fast wifi. The all-day breakfast of sweet bun and chai was only 100INR but they do open until 11 am. Guests apparently come for sheesha from late afternoon to late in the evening. On our last day, we left the hotel and walked to the metro at 10 pm and did not feel unsafe at all. It is not a quiet road but traffic is not noisy by any stretch.

2. We booked the hotel via an online booking site and is slightly cheaper than the walk-in rate. The hotel offered a similar rate on our extended night.

3. Rooms do not really have a window which is a shame as the hotel is in such pretty ground. Our window however opens out to the corridor with outside view. This is good enough for us. The room was spacious and quiet, the bed comfortable, the shower hot and we only paid 7000 INR plus tax. We consider it is well worth the splurge in expensive New Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabrinaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,


It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.
We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed at Maidens in late November 2013. This is definitely an interesting experience and a nice break from the faceless modern hotels, same all over the World. The hotel is comfortable and clean, the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.
We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kritou Tera, Cyprus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A lovely old hotel lovingly restored and maintained. Being the Oberoi flagship, it has been carefully kept in its original state with no ugly additions or expansions tacked on. It is one of the very few large hotels in Delhi to have a magnificent 7-acre garden with mature banyan trees, and a peaceful ambience in the middle of the old Civil Lines. It used to be frightful getting back and forth to New Delhi, but the Ring Road and the metro now make it much easier. We have stayed here regularly the past 40 years and it has never disappointed. Once a few years ago, our flight landed very late, and when we reached the hotel our room had been allocated to someone else. The management quickly fixed the problem by giving us the incredible family suite, which is about 200 meters of space. The food in the Curzon Room is very good, and the mural of the tiger has become something of a landmark on its own.

Room Tip: The large rooms in the front upstairs are the best, with large sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJCardinalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
01/02/2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.
We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were there for 3 nights in december, we got a nice corner room with a window facing the front of the hotel, the room was good size with a separate walk in and à big and modern bathroom.the service was excellent everywere.the breakfast was very good.we ate one night in the curzon room,the dinner was good but a little bit expensive .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeach2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
01/02/2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.
We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
6.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maiden Hotel
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Hotel Maidens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing