We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Railway Journey”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #12 of 714 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Railway Journey”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for two nights in this wonderful colonial hotel
Ask for room 410 Amazing!
Food very good
Happy hour is fine for bar prices otherwise very expensive for drinks
Very good swimming pool
Staff excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scientistatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    415
    88
    21
    6
See reviews for
196
500
66
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Actually, the north Delhi area, in which the Maidens Oberoi is located, is not THAT squalid, by many Delhi or Indian standards, but it does suffer from the frenetic traffic chaos which is endemic to that country. Perhaps that's what makes it the oasis of calm that it most certainly is and very welcome after a cramped and uncomfortable 9 hour Virgin flight that came close to making cattle class an unattainable luxury. Bad Branson, you greedy, grinning loon. What shall it profit a billionaire, if he steals another couple of inches on an Airbus 330, but loses a hitherto frequent flyer forever? Still and in reluctant fairness, all those flying pirates are at it these days and at least his stewardesses are pretty and smiley.
Still, it all helped to induce a sigh of relief when we pitched up at the Maidens, a Delhi institution since 1905, abandoned by the eponymous owner post independence, but beautifully maintained by the Oberoi group since then. The room was enormous, as was the second bedroom (two large beds in separate, connected chambers: the too-late discovered secret of a happy marriage); the bathroom (had to be shared with 'er next door, regrettably) ditto and everything worked. Pure bliss.
The surrounding, immaculately maintained grounds were a stroller's joy and the pool area positively decadent in luxury terms. Add to all of that excellent cooking & waiting by attentive staff, a stiff salute on departure and entry from the door sentinel and hotel satisfaction was complete. Look no further for your next visit to India's capital and tell them Gerry sent you.
PS Two further nb's: first, the Maidens is almost adjacent to the excellent Delhi Metro, which whisks you into the city centre, avoiding frantic, homicidal traffic at ludicrously low cost; second, awaiting our return was an email from the manager commenting on the grumbly suggestion that the memsahib had left regarding a full length mirror requirement in her sleeping area. Blimey, hotel management that read their guests' comment forms. Are you learning, Richard?? Hope so.

Room Tip: There is a rumbling extractor on the west side that's best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2hod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night at the start of our holiday. Arrived very late and were given an upgrade to a huge two room suite room; deluxe bed with crispy white sheets which we all gratefully crashed into. Super quiet, spacious, colonial style hotel with lovely garden. Service excellent during our short stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NaddyLaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service. Please accept our apologies for the delay in providing you space for dinner.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Spent a lovely two nights in this hotel, really takes you away from the craziness that is Delhi. Old style, like it hasn't been changed much since it opened. Oldest hotel in Delhi according to the staff. Nice food- expensive by India standards, quiet little bar for a drink. Wasn't very busy when we stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigeaterdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service. Please accept our apologies for the delay in providing you space for dinner.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice in ten days at the start and end of our Golden Triangle Tour. Having flown overnight from London and survived the morning traffic in crazy Delhi we arrived at Maidens. A beautiful colonial style building both inside and out with very friendly pleasant staff. We were given an upgrade and the room was excellent. Large room with sofa table and chairs, writing desk and large bed. Attached was a dressing room and off that a very pleasant bathroom. Very clean and tidy and a beautiful oasis of calm from the hurly burly outside. Very close to Civil Lines metro and two nice Restaurants, Embassy and Café Mocha (see reviews) We found that the menu wasn't particularly exciting and also thought was a little expensive so ate out. The breakfast was quite good and the porridge was excellent. Service was very good throughout.
On our return visit we didn't get an upgrade and were given room 110 by the pool. A tiny in comparison to our previous room, feeling a little damp and smelling a bit musty. Not quite the same but as we were flying home next morning early and had barely 17 hours there accepted it. The gardens are quite pleasant and the pool was very nice but a little chilly. Overall not a bad hotel

Room Tip: Don't accept room 110 it is the pits in comparison to others there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay during your first visit to our property

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your second visit to our hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.


IKind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely heritage hotel. Quiet and calm oasis in a bustling metropolis. Splendid rooms. Excellent service, in the bar and the restaurant where the food was really good. Nice base for exploring this wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiRoMo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service. Please accept our apologies for the delay in providing you space for dinner.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here on two occasions during a tour of India both for one night.
The rooms we had were both very different which was a nice touch when a lot of hotels all seem to be stamped out of the same mould.
Both rooms were massive, immaculately clean and were both effectively mini suites with a separate lounge as well as bedroom and massive bathrooms. The second room even had a walk-in wardrobe / dressing room. The beds too were large with crisp, clean white linen and wonderful pillows.
The hotel itself is a lovely building built in the colonial style and just walking into it makes you feel a little bit special, it is a little tired and could do with some renovation and updating but impressive all the same.
The staff were friendly and attentive and always helpful.
Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice and the options to eat inside or outside on the terrace by the pool.
The only a couple of slight criticisms of this hote. Firstly, that we had were that in neither of the rooms that we had did the air conditioning seem effective which meant that it was had to sleep until the temperature cooled down after midnight, Secondly the bar is very very small, just a room which was around half the size of one of their bedrooms. As this hotel seemed very popular with tour groups we found it to be very difficult to get in there to order a drink and impossible to sit in there with a drink.
Overall though a pleasant and enjoyable stay, would happily go back and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneNWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service. Please accept our apologies for the delay in providing you space for dinner.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 714 in New Delhi
2,838 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 714 in New Delhi
2,939 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 714 in New Delhi
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 714 in New Delhi
3,825 reviews
6.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 714 in New Delhi
2,801 reviews
10.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 714 in New Delhi
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing