We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colonial charm”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #11 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Erpingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Colonial charm”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at as part of a Golden Triangle tour. We also stayed there for our last night of the tour. For a capital city hotel, used by a tour company, it was a lovely surprise. It is light, airy and spacious and the bedrooms are either massive or gigantic. They are not overly furnished but are decorated in dark wood and cream furnishings and look a lot more expensive than they are. The evening meal and breakfast buffets were plentiful and good quality and the staff very attentive.
There is a nice swimming pool in the gardens but we never had time to use it.
The location is in a quiet road but there is little else around it so you would probably need to go out to a restaurant by taxi - but at indian prices, who cares?

Room Tip: They were will excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandD681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    413
    89
    21
    5
See reviews for
189
492
62
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Super place in all it's old colonial style glory. Room was clean and very spacious. Huge comfy bed. Smashing dressing room and fab bathroom. Staff were all excellent, courteous and professional throughout the hotel. Food was excellent too. Would definitely recommend it and we would return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A great hotel to start or finish your visit to India. A building steeped in history and restored to retain its charm whilst utilising all modern conveniences. The staff were helpful and courteous, the rooms were clean spacious and well maintained and the food was of high quality and reasonably priced. Its location was most convenient and yet it was set in tranquil surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on three separate nights as part of the Kuoni tour.

The rooms and hotel was very clean. Our room was huge and the bathroom was oddly nearly the same size as the bedroom! The rooms have English plug sockets so you don't need an adaptor.

The hotel us set in Old Delhi which is less affluencial than New Delhi, but is very grand from outside, the hotel us set behind security gates and you feel very safe.

The staff were friendly and could not do enough for you, my husband stupidly left our car key in the safe, but they check the rooms as soon as you check out, and they caught up with us before we left!

There is a buffet breakfast included in room price, and is basic but all you need.

The election results were on one day we stayed, so the hotel was not serving alcohol and the bar was closed.

You can change up money at reception, we done this at same rate at airport, but airport give you 1,000 notes, the reception are happy to change up to smaller notes for tipping when out and about.

The hotel policy is not to tip staff directly, if you want to tip you can do this at reception and name staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Hallams_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights in mid-April at the start of a golden triangle tour with GRJ. The staff were friendly and helpful and the reception staff that booked us in were also there to bid us farewell at 5am on our departure. We received a complementary upgrade to a suite, this was due to me celebrating a special Birthday and thanks goes to the management. The room was at the front of the hotel with windows to the left which made it nice and bright, the bed must have been super king size and the pillows the best I have come across in a hotel. The bathroom had a walk in shower, a bath and plenty of hot water. The living area was well furnished with a small sofa, TV, mini bar and tea and coffee making facility. There is a huge walk-in wardrobe with enough space for cases and clothes and also contained a good sized safe. The air-conditioning was very quiet and efficient. In the bedroom was a plugin mosquito repellent, wish we`d never taken our own. There was a bit of road noise as the drivers in India love to use their horns. If you like extra space I would recommend spending the little extra and booking a suite. Other members of our group were on the same floor (4th) and the rooms they had were of a good standard.
We had lunch in the garden bar on our first day, a veggie club sandwich and mushroom soup, both very good if a little pricey. The evening meals were taken in the Curzon room which was for the sole use of our group, the starter was soup followed by a self-service buffet on both nights it was hot good quality food, with a selection of desserts. Breakfast was also self-service apart from tea and coffee served at the table. We would have been happy to stay longer and if we ever get back to the crazy city of Delhi I`d definitely stay here. If you are booked into this hotel on a group tour you will be fine, if you are an independent traveller looking for good quality accommodation give this hotel a try if the location is good for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rightplanewrongseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

It was an absolute pleasure to have your all stay with us.

Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to all team members and these serve as a great source of inspiration.

Once again, thank you for your precious time to share your feedback with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

Puneet Narula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Maidens Hotel is a very good base for those who have first arrived in India. It is situated in the old part of town, near the Red Fort, and is an old colonial building.

We were upgraded to a suite and had a very comfortable room - far bigger than we needed, with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom with a large bath and large separate shower.

We ate three times in the hotel - we had breakfast on the terrace - which was satisfactory, we had lunch outside on the terrace, and the buffet dinner - we thought that the food was adequate, but quite expensive, and we wished we had tried one of the other restaurants recommended by other people on this page.

The hotel is very near the metro, which is easy to find, and easy to use, cheap and clean - certainly to be recommended. We also went to the hotel by taxi and tuc tuc, but sometimes drivers were not familiar with the hotel and found it difficult to find their way there.

Our only disappointment was that when we went to the hotel to leave a bag while we went to Udaipur, which they very kindly agreed to do, they let us eat in the restaurant, but not use the pool, which we would have loved to do, as we had a booking to stay there after a few days.

Overall we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

General Manager
Puneet Narula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Maidens a few days ago on our tour with Total Holiday Options and could not fault it. Best hotel so far.Our room, we got upgraded to a suite, was huge and had everything. Big comfy bed, fridge ,tea making, big tv, lovely bathroom. The reception people were friendly and efficient as was all the staff.. The food was the best so far..very good. The gardens and pool gorgeous. Could walk to shopping. We are travelling with another couple (family).The Total Holiday people have organized the driver and hotels and all has been great so far. The restsurant was smaller than some of the others so much more personal.

Room Tip: We were upstairs,( has a lift, )looking out over front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realnervousnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens Hotel, Delhi. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our product and services.

We are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our hotel was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you,
Kind regards,

General Manager
Puneet Narula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
6.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing