We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but quirky”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #9 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2008

Older, typically British-style property. As noted by others, no exterior windows, but this didn't bother us. If you're used to the 4 Seasons, then this not for you. If you like older hotels with different types of rooms, and willing to put up with poor a/c and noisy wedding party (on weekends only) then try it. You might like it - we did.

If you don't like the first room assigned go look at others. You eventually (with persistence) will find an acceptable one.

Buffet breakfast above average.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

Our first stop on our first holiday to India. Had a lovely room but all the windows of all the rooms seem to look out onto the coridoor which makes them rather dark.
Didn't really have much time to explore as our two days were taken up with guided tours but the swimming pool looked very nice!
The drinks and the restaurant food were double the price we paid at other 5 star hotels in India so suggest you get a taxi to dine out. Chor Bazaar in New Delhi is excellent and great fun!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

This hotel was a disappointment as the rooms were very dated. We had a TV in an old cabinet from the 70's. The room was large to the point of being too large for the amount of furniture in it. There was a room for our suitcases with metal cabinets like we had in high school. The bathroom was nice. We had a room with a window to the hallway. The restaurant was very expensive. Breakfast was pretty good. There was nothing near the hotel in walking distance so we took a tuk tuk. The outside and hotel lobby were nicer than the rest of the hotel. I would probably look for a different hotel if I was coming back to Delhi. We asked to break some money and the hotel could not change a 500 rupee for smaller money.

Stayed: November 2008
2  Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I stayed at the Maidens in Old Delhi at the start of an escorted tour of Northern India. Having read the guide books and reviews, I was keenly looking forward to this particular hotel.

I must say that the hotel did not come up to expectations. Although the hotel is clean enough, the plumbing is quite out of date and is in need of renovations. Many of the rooms are small and have no windows. The Garden Terrace restaurant offered poor food and breakfast in the same restaurant was not up to Indian standards.

The reception staff I found off-hand and unhelpful. I appreciate that there is an atmosphere at the hotel that puts it above the 'cold' comforts of the international chain hotels, but I had hoped for a better experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed here for the last two nights of a two week holiday in India - and maybe that was the problem. We'd stayed in such amazing hotels, full of colour and life along the way, that the Maidens seemed a little characterless. It's a lovely looking building , and the suite we had was, large, well equipped and comfortable - though it had no outside windows which made it feel a bit oppressive - and it lacked any homely touches or decoration. And we never did master the air conditioning so were a bit chilly at night! We ate in the restaurant both nights as there didn't seem to be a handy alternative. Again the food was OK , the service pleasant if slightly chaotic - but we had much better elsewhere. Breakfast was fine - though again a bit chaotic with lots of toast burning going on! The pool and pool area were pleasant and peaceful

So absolutely fine as a first or last night hotel. If you're staying longer in Delhi you may want somewhere with a bit more soul.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Welburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

This was an extremely disappointing end to our holiday in India. Whilst this looks like an impressive hotel from the outside we were very unhappy with our room. Anyone staying here should note that their so called 'superior rooms' on the first floor are all internal (we were in room 207) with a frosted glass window into the corridor that lets in very little light. This may not bother some people but I found it extremely claustrophobic. The room was also badly in need of a coat of paint and the bathroom was a litle dingy. I think what really made me angry however was the disinterested and apathetic response from staff at the front desk. They were less than helpful when asked to do anything and when we enquired about changing the room we were told that "most of our rooms have no windows". That was that. I would have expected a higher level of customer service from a hotel in the Oberoi group and to have at least been offered an upgrade which we would have considered. The breakfast buffet was very poor compared to previous hotels we stayed in and the hotel itself was located far away from the centre of the city/shops etc.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ElleGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

The pool area is lovely & relaxing with friendly staff. Could be doing with controls for air conditioning in bedrooms as we were cold at night in them. Found the food expensive -e.g..575 r. for a room service toastie ^ for my son & dinners were more expensive than everywhere else we went.As this was our first stop in India, we felt we'd no choice because no alternative within walking distance locally.
There were no real windows in the bedrooms as just frosty overlooking the corridor.
On the whole, the pool & little cafe area made this a good place to stay for 3 nights whilst travelling around Delhi area & we wished we were back there when we ended up in the City Park Hotel later in the tour.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Scotwimmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,075 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,113 reviews
10.4 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#8 of 779 in New Delhi
547 reviews
3 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,307 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 779 in New Delhi
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £78 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maiden Hotel
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Hotel Maidens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing